We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Great location within walking distance to many attractions. Clean and modern facilities. A bit small but not overly so. Very helpful staff who happily answered all our questions Free breakfast was a definite plus, came with toast, cereal, coffee, meats and hard boiled eggs. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

620 - 626 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I visited this hostel twice, both I was glad to see how helpful the staff was.
My friends and I got a four bedroom, which was in very good condition, very clean, and easy to access(via the elevator), also had free wifi.
in comparison to what I've seen in other hostels throughout Amsterdam, this hostel had very high standards, and was in about the same price range of other lower quality hostels.

Two things were a let down in my eyes -
One the bathroom and toilet were in separate rooms, and you had to leave the room in order to get to them.
Also the hostel was 5-10 minutes walk from main attractions which isn't that much of a big deal.. but still was a bit frustrating getting back after a long day.

Room Tip: If I remember correctly, there were rooms with windows without a view to the city, Ask for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location of this hotel is OK, but there are several things which I think that the hostel needs to improve.

-First of all, I booked this hostel through hostelworld.com. I have booked this way many times while travelling, and in the past have simply paid a 10% deposit and then settled up upon arrival. What BTI failed to tell me was that they were going to try and take a 'pre-authorization' sum and hold onto it until I checked in on my first night. I didn't mind, but really wish this had been made clear to me before I booked, which it wasn't.

-The dorm was very dark, with only a small window. It got very hot at night, and we could only open one side of the window. The beds themselves were nice, but the temp of the room made it quite uncomfortable.

- On our final night we stayed in a private room with an ensuite. The ensuite had mouldy walls, and was very poorly designed; when we tried to take showers, the entire room flooded.

-Finally, there isn't really a common area in the hostel, which is a real pity.

The staff were friendly, and the breakfast was OK. I just think that for the cost per night, this hostel needs to be a lot better. I have stayed in other places in Amsterdam that give you a lot more for your money. I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleanorS647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel is perfect located. Just 1 min walk from tram stations, about 15 mins walk from Amsterdam Central station. Staffs are quite friendly and kind. It's not expensive at all. The bed is comfortable, they also have lockers in your room to keep your personal belongings safe. Breakfast is noting special. I enjoyed visit Amsterdam and stay here. :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Rongtai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed on 23rd June for 3 nights! Great location, staff very helpful and available 24 hrs, rooms and toilets/showers were very clean too and beds were surprisingly very comfortable.
couldn't find a fault and definitely would return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeC2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As two first time travellers on an interrail pass, this hostel was very accomodating to our needs. Location was good, surrounded by lots of coffee shops, bars, clubs and a 5 minute walk to the station. Staff are friendly and knew the area well, the only downside is possibly a lack of a communal area which we find is good to meet new people! Despite having 2 crazy welsh boys in our slightly small room, we still had fun and it met all our needs!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The location of this hostel is great, 5 min walk from train station and dam square. The hostel was clean, and the free breakfast was good. The rooms weren't very big but there are free lockers to use to store luggage etc.

The hostel was quite and there was plenty of hot water.

For the price you can't go wrong

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 372 in Amsterdam
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 372 in Amsterdam
5,181 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Hotel Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Hotel Tourist Inn

Address: Spuistraat 52, 1012 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £70 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Hotel Tourist Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Budget Hotel Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing