We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find”
Review of B & B Alexander

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B & B Alexander
Ranked #136 of 341 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have just arrived back from Janneke's beautiful b&b in the Museumplein district of Amsterdam. What a beautiful house with the original stained windows from 1870s when the house was built. We were made to feel very welcome by Janneke and shown to beautiful, large room on the first floor. Janneke's attention to detail is second to none, an endless supply of tea and coffee (even an espresso maker!!) and a bottle of complimentary wine.... The room was very very clean, large comfortable bed and even room for a third bed for our son. Large private bathroom and toilet with complimentary toiletries, lovely fluffy white towels and bath robes. Janneke is very proud of her home and her city and is a fountain of knowledge and speaks such wonderful English. Now for the breakfasts.... WOW, they are fabulous, juices, endless teas or coffees, fresh croissants, rolls, meats, cheeses, stollen, yoghurts fruit and the list could go on all eaten in her dining room. I would recommend Janneke's B&B to anyone and would stay there again without any hesitation.It is only a short walk to the centre of Amsterdam and a 2 minute walk to the Van Gogh museum. Once again Janneke, thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nvq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

A fantastic place to stay... Janekke was so fantastic and spoiled us rotten... Very central only walking distance to the center.. Next to an amazing park.. I would reccommend Alexander B & B if you are looking for a relaxing perfect stay in amsterdam.. Also breakfast is fantastic!! You will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Im sure all the rooms are great.. But we had the Blue room and it has a lovely balcony and a comfy b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend, it was our first stay and what a find! The landlady, Janneke is a lovely person , very interesting to talk to, very attentive and is very proud ( and rightly so!) of her beautiful house. Our room was on the first floor, it was large, airy and had a huge bed. We also had exclusive use of a kitchen area and shower room.
Breakfast was fantastic and served with other guests in the living area, We had a big night one night and said we would not make breakfast, Janneke would have non of it and when we woke she had left our breakfast waiting in the kitchen.
The B & B is in the Museum area, very Central and easy walking to the heart of Amsterdam.

A Tip - When leaving the airport catch the 197 bus to the Museum Plein.

I cannot speak to highly of this B& B, We have already tried to book again but it was full so book early - I guarantee you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: Janneke only has 3 rooms, we stayed on the first floor but I imagine they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Manchesterguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Escolha a suíte pois está reformada.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayfarers R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank alexcopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Stanza 2 all'ultimo piano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank serespezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Stanza con bagno all'ultimo piano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hostelle
#34 of 249 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,004 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#66 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Alexander

Address: Alexander Boersstraat 15, 1071 KT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 341 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Alexander is located in a beautiful street in the Amsterdam museum district, next to the Concertgebouw, Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing