We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eatme - CLOSED

Eatme
Cuisines: European, Dutch, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had the EatMe burger and the Rumpsteak and both were phenomenal. The service was very good and accommodating (we had our packs with us and they did not mind). The menu is simple yet delicious. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vacationer155021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Expensive, poor service, but food was ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Went here with 3 friends and it was, unfortunately, not a visit we would repeat. It was a little busy, but little excuse for the little to no service we received. Staff don't speak Dutch and only a little English but that wasn't really a problem.

We were surprised by the bill, which was around 50 euros per person. Yes, we shared a plate of oysters and we had a dessert, but this seemed a bit extreme! The other starters we had, priced around 7-8 euros, were not too bad. The 4 pieces of carpaccio, wrapped around lettuce, were quite flavoursome but the 6 small pieces of green asparagus with molten cheese on top for 6 euros seemed a bit much.

Two of us ordered a burger for main. I quite enjoyed the burger, but there the number of fries that came with it could be counted on one hand - nothing else though!

Furthermore, 5 euros for a beer (prices not listed on the menu) and 6 for a bottle of water seemed a bit steep too, even for a cute little restaurant in Amsterdam.

Anyway, overall, we were relatively satisfied with the food but the lack of service (eventhough when they were there, they were very friendly) and very overpriced meals/drinks left a bit of a bad taste in the mouth.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun with great fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Eating with locals has its benefits, including knowing to go to Eatme, where we had a relaxed, delicious dinner with our friends from Amsterdam. The zeeduivel (monkfish) was terrific, and the shared appetizers were also very good, if a bit small. No ongoing pressure to purchase additional drinks, also pleasant. The kitchen is downstairs and you can see into it from plexiglass canals running along the floor, which was disorienting for a second when we entered. Menu in Dutch and English, servers speak great English.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balsall Common
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were lucky to speak to a local couple in the square by De Waag on the day before the Queen stepped down and her son became king. we asked if they would recommend somewhere to eat where "locals" go. Eatme was their recommendation. We found the choices on the menu to be interesting and varied, the beverages also were good. The food when it came was amazing, no complaints whatsoever.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Recnep5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

At first we thought how stuck up the waitresses were. It felt a little snooty in there. But the food made up for the ambiance. We ordered shrimp pasta dish and a steak dish. I was blown away by the pasta. Loved the taste. The steak was very tender and tons of flavor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eatme also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing