We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

A very good hotel in Amsterdam that I would return to!

Good
- Recently refurbished all rooms and common areas
- Lovely location on a canal
- Near public transport
- Staff most helpful all the time
- Lovely executive lounge on the top floor with lots of free food and drink
- Great gym
- Nice places to sit outside on the canal ad eat

Bad
- 35 Euros a night for parking
- 20 Euros for internet (free basic access on executive floor)
- 15 Euros for gym (free HH Gold and Platinum members)
- Lack information in the room on hotel facilities. For example, I want to know where the gym is and cost, where I can rent bikes, how I can connect to the internet, what numbers to call for help (the phone by the bed had no key to it at all), walking times to local sites etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 195binney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear 195binney,

Thank you for filling out a detailed review of your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are pleased to read your kind words and that your stay in our hotel was pleasant. The terrace is indeed the perfect venue for ending the evening or during the day with a drink or a nice meal.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our staff. We hope you have experienced that our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and guest satisfaction at all times.

Concerning the information brochure in your hotel room, we are currently reprinting our guest directory which includes all the information regarding the hotel, facilities and the surroundings; to make sure we provide the most ‘up-to-date’ information.

Regarding your comments on the prices, these will be taken into consideration for future developments.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,124 - 2,130 of 3,038 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Perfect location for Business and Tourist travellers. Close to everything, including walking areas, point of interest. With the tram you can get to the RAI Exhibition area in 25 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms towards rear of builing are more quiete, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747FAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Dear 747FAN,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and a Room Tip of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a nice experience during your stay with us and that you will be back.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the peaceful neighbourhood. Indeed, the RAI Exhibition Centre is close to the hotel and offers all kinds of business opportunities and activities.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

As a frequent Hilton user we expect similarities from hotel to hotel so to give this hotel four stars but almost down to three was primarily down to lack of information at check in & in hotel room. To explain: check in quick efficient & pleasant; room usual tidy standard & as expected, recommend paying extra for canal view; staff pleasant but give impression of being slow/laid back; food & drink prices usual for city hotel but reasonable quantity & quality. So far not a bad review but we expect some kind of information in the hotel room, you usualy get at least a brochure detailing info on the hotel. Nothing. We knew there was a leisure area from booking info but had to search for it. Knew it had restaurant & lounges somewhere. Found them & found the bar area/s (there is also a terrace for the sunny days used for food & drinks overlooking the canal) to be up to usual standard. I know this sounds picky but when you are used to hotels being similar then you spend less time in hotel lobby & more time on holiday. Expected better, but, on a good note, hotel is in a very nice area & only 15/20 min walk from Van Gogh museum area through good neighbourhood. Concierge in the hotel fine but sometimes not there and had to search for him on a couple of occasions, but helpful. So, as I said, nice hotel but just lacking that wee something. Would still go back though.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robeth_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Robeth_8,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the quiet and nice neighbourhood. The hotel is, in fact, very close to the Museumplein and VondelPark.

Concerning the information brochure in your hotel room, we are currently reprinting our guest directory which includes all the information regarding the hotel, facilities and the surroundings; to make sure we provide the most ‘up-to-date’ information.

We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you and hope to welcome you again soon.

Thank you for staying with us.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The room was nice, clean and you have a very nice on the city center. A tram station is near the hotel and you can also rent bike to go in 5 min in downtown. The staff at the reception was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supertopfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Supertopfit,

Thank you for writing a review of the Hilton Amsterdam. We are very pleased to read your kind words regarding our rooms, the view and the Team Members of the reception. We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay. The canal view rooms have indeed a very nice view over the city, garden and the canal.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

If you are driving be prepared for a shock at the parking prices, 34 euros per night. The tram system is so good it would be worth thinking about not driving.
The hotel is nice, pre book dinner before you go as the restaurant is quite dear, but well worth the money and pre booking can often give a much better price, . Very good service from all of the staff. Make sure you have breakfast great choice and really nice people in the restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wcwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear WcwLondon,

Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hilton Amsterdam. We are pleased to read your kind words regarding Roberto’s Restaurant, Hilton Breakfast and our Team Members.

We regret to read that our parking facilities were not to your satisfaction. I would like to inform you that our parking costs are based on the parking rates of Amsterdam city. These prices are comparable with surrounding hotels. Free parking is possible around the hotel on Sundays. The first 20 minutes of parking on the Hilton Amsterdam property are always free of charge. The tram system is indeed ‘good’ and the nearest tram stop from the Hilton Amsterdam is within 5 minutes walking. Travelling by tram is also recommended when visiting the attractions in the city.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,


Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Service, breakfast and location (although not really in the city centre) were good as expected from a Hilton. Only downside from my point of view was that Hilton offers on site parking for 34 euro's a day, but on a Sunday parking next to the hotel is free of charge and easily available. They could have mentioned that....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afcajax2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Afcajax2000,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are very pleased to read your kind words regarding our service, breakfast and location. We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay. Your comment regarding the information provided for parking on Sunday has been shared with our team.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very pleasant, helpful staff. A really good hotel conveniently located for the tram service into town. We stayed there as a family and we all really enjoyed it. The breakfast was outstanding and a great way to start the day. We have stayed before and we will certainly stay there again when we visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: A roomfacing the canal is worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCKeogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear JohnCKeogh,
Thank you very much for reviewing the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad to read your kind words and that your stay in our hotel was pleasant.
We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the quiet and nice neighbourhood.
It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#158 of 373 in Amsterdam
73 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#32 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,300 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £147 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing