We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location away from frenzy of Dam Square.”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at the Hilton. The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood (near Vondelpark) little out of the busy core area, but easily reached by a very efficient tram nearby. The hotel has bikes should you be inclined. We found numerous decent restaurants in walking distance of the hotel.
Although on the small size, our room was quite comfortable with a modern, clean bathroom. The view of the city (on the canal side) is quite exquisite. The pillow and soap menus were a nice touch, as well as the turn down service. The buffet breakfast was a treat. The staff was very pleasant and always helpful.
On the negative side internet is rather expensive at 27Euro/day. But easily available at other locations for the price of a coffee.
Overall, we would happily return and certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Dear Wolobern,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your recommendation of the Hilton Amsterdam is very well appreciated as well.
We are pleased to read that you had a nice experience during your 6 nights stay with us.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the peaceful neighbourhood. Indeed the view over the canal is spectacular and our terrace is the perfect venue for ending the evening with a nice cocktail.

Thank you for praising our friendly Team Members as they take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.
We take your comment regarding the internet facilities very seriously and we will take it into consideration for future developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,938)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,033 - 2,039 of 2,939 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

A work trip brought me to this hotel and it was adequate for that need.
Not special like a romantic hotel but it is Ok for the need.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Dear Daniel F,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you generally had a nice experience during your stay with us.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst on a driving tour of Europe with our 1960s car. Safe parking in a good location was the main reason for choosing so we were delighted to find we'd been assigned a large, comfortable room with the most superb panoramic views of Amsterdam. The area is a pleasant 10 min stroll through an elegant neighbourhood to the busier (and slightly grottier) parts of town. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Good value at EU169 including delicious breakfast, however internet access was outrageously expensive so bear that in mind. Despite that we would return as the hotel is really stylish in a fabulous retro 60s way whilst being utterly contemporary and exceptionally comfortable.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a view of the canal
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BootieBoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Dear BootieBoot,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the peaceful neighbourhood. Oud Zuid is indeed a nice residential area.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Team Members. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

Regarding your comments on our Internet facilities, these will be taken into consideration for future developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Wow! What a great hotel! We traveled with our children ages 4 and 8 this summer and the Hilton made our experience amazing! From the most friendly breakfast restaurant staff who had plenty of suggestions for childrens activities in the city to making sure our kids had "special" cups to use at breakfast. We stated 3 nights and the staff really took the time to make our family feel at home, all the way down to making sure my daughter was greeted with a Birthday treat on her Birthday. Aside from the rooms being extremely comfortable, the Hotel has in house babysitters. The kids enjoyed the sitter so much, we had her come back a second night!
The Hotel is also well positioned in a quiet neighborhood, but with public transport a quick walk away. We would definitely choose this Hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2011

Dear TAT,

We are very grateful for the extended review you posted on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you had an "amazing" stay and thank you for your kind words.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Team Members and especially our Baby-sitting service. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

Moreover, we are glad to hear that we could make your daughter’s birthday a memorable one and that our Team Members paid particular attention to you during those special days.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon , this hotel is great , if u don't care bout the budget or u got a good deal , this place is a must ...& it won't fail to satisfy you .
the location was out of the centre which was OK with me , also taxis are plenty in amsterdam besides the tram stops infront of the hotel so no probs
the staff were great , honestly all the staff we met in europe during this trip were awesome & professional , the smile & greetings , also the will to assist makes u feel welcomed , unlike the staff in other hotels ..where they make u feel like your a heavy load on their chests
we found a bottle of champagne & strawberries in our room which was a very nice touch , the view was great as our room was a deluxe canal view , request a high floor to better enjoy the view
the breakfast was the best i've seen in my trip , honestly this doesn't surprise me as the hilton breakfast is famous worldwide
i recommend this hotel of course & i will be back , i thank the staff for making my honeymoon trip a great one .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear MIG21,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read your kind words and that your stay in our hotel was at your convenience.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our Hilton breakfast and that you have experienced the Team Members to be so helpful.

Our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

We are glad to hear that we could make your honeymoon trip a memorable one and that our Team Members paid particular attention to you during those special days.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Nice rooms. Beautiful garden next to the canal.Great breakfast on the topfloor with a fatastic view over Amsterdam.
Take the tram to Central Amsterdam (no.16)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christiane69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Christiane69,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you enjoyed the spectacular view from our Executive Lounge.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel is very comfortable and located in a quiet neighborhood next to a canal. The rooms are on the bigger side and the executive room is awesome. It's not in the city center but next to the efficient tram system so it's not an issue to get around. I personally enjoy being a little out of the city center which is more peaceful. Rates are on the pricey side and that's the only reason I'm giving it a 4 instead of a 5. It's definitely worth it if you go off season and get a good rate. The conceirge (he recognized us from our last visit) and staff are helpful and nice. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear SanDiegoTravelGirl,

We are very grateful for the extended review you posted on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the peaceful neighbourhood.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our Team Members. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them. It is always a pleasure to see a satisfied guest coming back to our hotel, we do our utmost to always offer unforgettable experience at our hotel.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,511 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £111 - £491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing