We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not your ordinary hilton!”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“not your ordinary hilton!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Hilton Amsterdam is one of my favorite hotels in Amsterdam - if not the world. The location is amazing (in Amsterdam Zuid, which is not touristy), the staff is nice, and the rooms luxurious. I love staying here whenever I am in Amsterdam. But if you want to be in the "center of the action." This is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GroteAppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Jen J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are very grateful to read that Hilton Amsterdam is one of your favorite hotels and that you enjoy our rooms and services.

Hilton Amsterdam is famous for its John and Yoko suite, which has been created in memory of the world famous “Bed-in for peace” of John Lennon and Yoko Ono of 1969.

Hilton Amsterdam is located in a residential area near to exclusive shopping areas and close to the RAI and other main congress centres. Furthermore, it is only a short walk to the Vondelpark and the Museumplein with renowned museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    855
    268
    97
    43
See reviews for
384
1,108
143
740
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

In December 2011, I stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam with my new company. We were there for one night and all of us had dinner in Roberto's restaurant.

Overall, the stay was a very enjoyable experience (and not only because I didn't have to pay!), with a swift check-in and very well appointed rooms.

Decor was very pleasant and the room was fresh and modern with a nice cosy feel to it. The bathroom was a good size and featured a powerful shower situated over the bath.

The view from our room was pretty outstanding, affording quite the vista looking out over (some of) the city. I suppose that really the only negative I could give the hotel is that it is quite far away from the city sights. We walked and it took us about 45 minutes to get into the main part of Amsterdam.

I would find it difficult to fault the Hilton Amsterdam in any way, and I certainly think it upholds the Hilton tradition extremely well. In the evening, my work colleagues and I ate dinner at Roberto's restaurant (in the hotel) which, as the name suggests, is an Italian affair. The food was very good, although I suspect it would have been even better had we not been eating en masse.

The following morning (after an excellent night's sleep) we enjoyed a real 5-star quality breakfast, with the chef coming around to each table individually to ask for your egg-based preferences - a nice touch!

And of course, for fans of The Beatles, the Hilton Amsterdam is the famous hotel in which John and Yoko staged their legendary 'bed in' back in 1969 (although I forgot to look for their room when I stayed there!).

Overall: a great hotel, but not so great if you want to be close to the city highlights.

Room Tip: Floor 6 is a good one. But actually, they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Beesyellow22,

We are very grateful for the extended review and the room tip that you posted on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that our chef’s personal attention was appreciated and that you enjoyed the bedroom and the restaurant. Did you know that Roberto’s Restaurant will again be featured in the restaurant guides Gault Millau and Bib Gourmand in 2012?

Indeed the Hilton Amsterdam is located in the south of the city centre in a quiet residential neighbourhood, a trip to the heart of the city centre will take about 15 minutes by public transport.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I liked this hotel. It's located outside the city centre and main attraction areas in a nice and quite residential area, to get to the city centre you need to take a tram (kinda expensive) and it takes 15 minutes. So if it's your first Amsterdam visit i would recommend to find smth more centrally located, otherwise a high hotel is good. Rooms are nice, cozy in dark traditional Dutch colours and well equipped. The bed was really comfortable for sleep. The breakfast was amazing and from huge windows you can see taking off and approaching Schiphol planes. All services 9restaurant, boat cruise, the internet) are unbelievable expensive, like 17 eur for 1 hour of slow wifi. Crazy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cestovatel_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Cestovatel_W,

We are very grateful for the review and the nice photos you posted on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you liked your bedroom and the Hilton Breakfast.

I would like to inform you that you can also buy tickets for 1 or more days for the public transport in Amsterdam (tram, bus and metro), the price of these cards are € 7.00 for 24 hours, € 11.50 for 48 hours and € 15.50 for 72 hours.

Furthermore, Hilton Amsterdam will offer free WiFi in all public areas as of March.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Let me start by saying the staff was wonderfull. The manager should get a raise because everyone was helpful and went above and beyond. We were offered sparkling wine at breakfest, dinner recommendations in the executive lounge and turndown service in the room. From the outside the hotel is nothing special, but the rooms are well done. If you are gold member or stay on the executive level, the lounge is a bit small but very well supplied. The gym is very nice and large by Hilton standards again it is free for gold + members. Yes, this property is not downtown. However you can take the 16 tram that drops you off at Emmastraat station. When you get out of Central train station - follow 'tram' sign outside. All the trams stop here. You can buy a 1hr (2.6 Euro), 24hr (7 Euro), or 48hr ticket in the office just outside of the train station get in line or buy at the ticket machine (its easy). Or you can buy a 1hr ticket from the driver, not sure if you can buy 1-2 day passes from the driver. It takes 20 minutes to get from Central Train station to Emmastraat. When you get off the tram at Emmerstraat look in the direction the tram is traveling, now look left, you can see the hotel 2 blocks away on your left had side. I would recommend using the trams instead of a hop-on-hop off bus. The Hitlon has a map the lists all the sites and tram/metro routes. Restaurant at Hilton is fine for breakfast but for dinner take a 5 minute walk to Bella Vista - good Italian. Good value and great people - always a plus when going on vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gmta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Gmta,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It gives us great pleasure to read your positive comments regarding our staff. Our Team Members take pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We go to this hotel each summer because you can park your boat in the little harbour behind the hotel.
It isn´t cheap and the rooms are not very big, but you have that with all the better hotels in Amsterdam. The room is really wel appointed with a very nice bed and a very good bathroom with everything you need.
In the summer you can enjoy a drink on the terrace and in a few minutes by taxi you are in the center of Amsterdam. In the area of the hotel (Oud-Zuid) you have the PC Hooftstraat and the Museumplein.
The hotel has a really good breakfast buffet with everything you can think of.

Room Tip: ask for one at the back of the hotel so you have a view on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenbrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear wenbrug,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for adding a room tip for Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that the bed and bathroom suited you and that you enjoyed the Hilton Breakfast and the high-end residential area between the crowded city centre and the World Trade Centre where the Hilton Amsterdam is located.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Just returned from my stay at the Amsterdam Hilton (Jan 2012). I stayed for three nights and had a really great experience. This was the perfect jumping off point for my business in the Netherlands. I found the location outside of central downtown ideal for someone who needed to drive (as I did). I would never have wanted to try to navigate into the city center. Parking was a breeze and you were only steps from the main lobby doors.

I found the room to be extremely clean and comfortable. The use of wood and other materials provided the room with a very warm and comfortable feeling. This is definitely not the case with most business hotels. I had a room on the 5th floor looking over the canal in the back and was very pleased with the scenic view. Everything in my room was spotlessly clean. And the bedding and pillows looked brand new. I didn't want to check out and continue on my trip (it's rare to find a place that's so comfortable).

Breakfast in the morning was also a wonderful exception to the normal hotel meals. The waiter/waitress went out of their way to not only be friendly, but accommodating. The were extremely attentive. I was very impressed. Wonderful job!

I am definitely planning on returning to the Hilton Amsterdam the next time I'm in the city.

(A quick note on the trams and getting downtown. I found the walk over to the Apollolaan stop a quick 5 minutes walk. You could be downtown in 10-15m on the #5 Tram. It couldn't have been easier. Don't hesitate to stay out of the craziness of the city center, the Hilton is a great stop to relax after being out and exploring the city.)

Room Tip: Request a canal facing room on a high floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_S_Los_Altos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Phil_S_Los_Altos,

Thank you for taking the time to leave an extended review and for adding a room tip for Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted to read your kind words regarding our hotel rooms, Hilton breakfast and our services. Hilton hotel provides hotel rooms with views over the canal, museum square and Amsterdam city which are indeed very beautiful.

We are pleased to read that you experienced our hotel staff to be friendly and attentive as our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to give you a warm welcome again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have been there for a couple of nights business in October 2011
The Hotel is nice and rooms are clean and spacious.
Unfortunately is a bit far from the centre of town, there is not mauch to do in the sorroundings
Tram/bus was not working at night and taxy can take ages to arrive at the hotel to pick you up.
Internet in the room is very expensive

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 64robert64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear 64robert64,

Thank you for leaving a review of Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you experienced our hotel rooms to be clean and spacious. The Hilton Amsterdam is located in a high-end residential area between the crowded city centre and the World Trade Centre.

I would like to inform you that the Van Gogh museum, the Stedelijk museum and Rijksmuseum are within walking distance of the Hilton Amsterdam. In addition, I would like to inform you that there is a night bus transfer available at Apollolaan which is a 5 minute walk.

Furthermore, Hilton Amsterdam will offer free WiFi in all public areas as of February.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing