We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt at home at the Hilton Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Felt at home at the Hilton Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is the first time I'm writing a review about a hotel while I'm still staying in it, so it speaks volume what kind of excellent experience I am getting at this hotel. Each and every staff member of this hotel is friendly, kind and very helpful. My wife and 15-month toddler especially felt at home. My lil' one (LO) is making many friends during her stay, from the folks at the concierge, those who works in the restaurant and the executive floor lounge. A lady at the exec lounge especially likes to play with my LO, and she had so much patience that she allowed my LO to play with a cup full of water, only to wipe dry the places she poured water! Certainly more paience than the parents :) You may say this is part of 5-star hotel experience but I must say that it is beyond that. The warmth and friendly behavior of the staffs are genuine and beyond just greeting you for the sake of it. They want to get to know you better in order to serve you better during your stay. A truely remarkable hotel. Many many thumbs up from my wife and little princess Charlize of course :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Faister,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are honored to read your praising words regarding our services and the hotel staff. It gives us great pleasure to read that you experience our service as beyond your expectation of a 5-star hotel. Please rest assured I will share your compliments with the team members.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to give you a warm welcome to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,478
    844
    263
    95
    42
See reviews for
377
1,086
141
731
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

On a recent trip to Europe, I stayed at a variety of four and five star hotels. The five star Hilton Amsterdam clearly distinguished itself from the four star hotel, and provided a truly special experience. The exterior pictures of the hotel really don't do it justice. Everything inside this Hilton is beautifully designed, modern and luxurious.

The executive room upgrade from my gold status provided me one of the nicest rooms I've ever stayed in. It even rivals the executive room I had at the Millenium Hilton in Bangkok. I had a 9th floor canal view room, and the views were remarkable. I could see almost all of Amsterdam. The bed was extremely comfortable, the TV was a brand new lcd LG 40", and the bathroom 100% marble. Everything had a recently renovated, modern and luxurious feel. Concierge provided a complimentary rental of a US power adapter for my laptop.

The executive lounge was one of the nicest I've ever been too. On the top 10th floor, it had panoramic views of the entire city. It was beautiful, and offered a wide array of food and drink options. From 6pm-10pm, there was not just basic beer and wine, but champagne, many varieties of wine, and six different kinds of liquor. A wealth of different kinds of food was served.

The fitness center had a very relaxing Turkish steam bath and sauna, that I had all to myself. With silver, gold or platinum honors status, it is free to use, and open late.

This Hilton provided me with some of the best service I've had the privilege of enjoying. Marian, of the executive lounge staff, was one of the nicest people I've ever met, and went above and beyond anything I could have expected to make sure I enjoyed my stay. The front desk manager also went the extra mile.

Between the modern, luxurious accommodations, numerous amenities, wonderful views, world class executive lounge, and service that went above anything I've ever experienced, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hilton Amsterdam, and would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear xpsoliver,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave an extended review and your pictures of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to thank you for you kind comments regarding the view, room amenities and staff. Our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times so that we can exceed guest expectations. Please rest assured that I will share your comments with them, especially with Marian and the front desk manager.

Our televisions have recently been replaced after guest comments also here on Tripadvisor to LCD televisions on all the rooms.

I would like to inform you that the Health club with fitness centre is complimentary for Gold and Diamond Hhonors members.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have recently just returned from a 4 day trip to Amsterdam where we stayed in the most pleasant and helpful hotel we've stayed in!

The rooms were big and clean with lovely views from the 9th floor over looking the canal to which we were able to see most of the city. We had bath robes and slippers which can in very useful on a morning :)

We had access to the executive lounge, your staff up there need to be commended for their helpfulness and kindness. They were very attentive and couldn't do more for you! My friend injured herself while we were in Amsterdam the staff organised extra pillows in our room so she cold rest her ankle, along with plenty of ice. Special thanks to Marion, a great smily face when your feeling bait delicate after the night before :) wiljam ( in training ) sorry I'm not sure how to spell his name! A pleasant young man who you would think had been working for the hotel for years! And steph who was able to give knowledge of the city and there for a friendly chat on an evening :)

We hired bikes from the hotel which we enjoyed throughout our whole stay! A great way to see the city, very safe, sometimes I think it's safer on the bike instead of walking!

overall a great city and great hotel, would definitely recommend and would stay again

Thanks for a lovely stay
Amy Kent and Michaela Moore room 905 xxx

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelaMoore1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear MichaelaMoore1987,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our Team Members and that they were all very attentive, helpful and friendly. Please rest assured that I will share your comments with them, especially with Marian, Wiljam and Stephan.

We would like to thank you for your kind comment regarding our room features. It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service and we are putting all our efforts to offer you an unforgettable stay with us.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We took our son and his girlfriend to Amsterdam for their join 40th birthdays weekend of 18th February. Situated in a quieter part of the City, the hotel is beautiful. The rooms were spacious and the staff probably the most helpful, attentive, well-mannered people we have every met. Breakfast at the sensible time - up to 11.00 - on Sunday was very welcome as we had sailed overnight on the Ferry Friday 17th, returning overnight on 19th so the Sunday was our only 'rest' morning. Breakfast was fantastic - and the chef asked if he could organise some extra, like Eggs Benedict and other specials.The garden at the back looked stunning (even at this time of year) and they can organise canal cruises from the jetty there. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and should we be in Amsterdam again, that would be our preference to stay in. One drawback - no swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rear views and 6th floor upwards. Corner suites looked massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizi090411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Lizi090411,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read your positive comments regarding our hotel rooms, the Hilton Breakfast and our staff. Our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay. The canal view rooms have indeed a magnificent view overlooking the city, the canal and museum square. Especially from the Executive Lounge, which provides a panoramic view. Guests staying in our Executive Rooms and suites have access to the Executive Lounge. Here you can enjoy a complimentary breakfast, cocktails, drinks and snacks.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed here last feburary over valentines weekend with my partner,
The front off the hotel doesnt look much but inside wow! beautiful decor
staff where really friendly and welcoming, extra items i had requested where in my room on arrival which was great. we had a beautiful spacious room on one off the top floors over looking the canal with amazing views over the city. The restaurant food is lovely if a little expencive. The hotel offered a turn down service each evening off our stay. The first morning valentines day we decided to have breakfast in bed which was lovely breakfast was served on a table with flowers in the room, It did cost little over 20 euro to have breakfast deliveried to the room so the next mornin we ate in the restaurant. The hotel is a bit out off the main city centre about 5 mins walk to the tram stop number 5 will bring you right into the city in 10-15mins staying in this fantastic hotel we did not mind the short travel into city.

Room Tip: request room over looking the canal they have beauitful view off the city which is also lovely at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamSamDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear SamSamDublin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and photos of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could meet your requests. Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Team Members.

Hilton Amsterdam is located in a peaceful and residential area and features magnificent views overlooking the canal, museum square and the city centre. The city centre is indeed easily accessible with public transport.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Hilton Amsterdam is one of my favorite hotels in Amsterdam - if not the world. The location is amazing (in Amsterdam Zuid, which is not touristy), the staff is nice, and the rooms luxurious. I love staying here whenever I am in Amsterdam. But if you want to be in the "center of the action." This is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GroteAppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Jen J,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are very grateful to read that Hilton Amsterdam is one of your favorite hotels and that you enjoy our rooms and services.

Hilton Amsterdam is famous for its John and Yoko suite, which has been created in memory of the world famous “Bed-in for peace” of John Lennon and Yoko Ono of 1969.

Hilton Amsterdam is located in a residential area near to exclusive shopping areas and close to the RAI and other main congress centres. Furthermore, it is only a short walk to the Vondelpark and the Museumplein with renowned museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

In December 2011, I stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam with my new company. We were there for one night and all of us had dinner in Roberto's restaurant.

Overall, the stay was a very enjoyable experience (and not only because I didn't have to pay!), with a swift check-in and very well appointed rooms.

Decor was very pleasant and the room was fresh and modern with a nice cosy feel to it. The bathroom was a good size and featured a powerful shower situated over the bath.

The view from our room was pretty outstanding, affording quite the vista looking out over (some of) the city. I suppose that really the only negative I could give the hotel is that it is quite far away from the city sights. We walked and it took us about 45 minutes to get into the main part of Amsterdam.

I would find it difficult to fault the Hilton Amsterdam in any way, and I certainly think it upholds the Hilton tradition extremely well. In the evening, my work colleagues and I ate dinner at Roberto's restaurant (in the hotel) which, as the name suggests, is an Italian affair. The food was very good, although I suspect it would have been even better had we not been eating en masse.

The following morning (after an excellent night's sleep) we enjoyed a real 5-star quality breakfast, with the chef coming around to each table individually to ask for your egg-based preferences - a nice touch!

And of course, for fans of The Beatles, the Hilton Amsterdam is the famous hotel in which John and Yoko staged their legendary 'bed in' back in 1969 (although I forgot to look for their room when I stayed there!).

Overall: a great hotel, but not so great if you want to be close to the city highlights.

Room Tip: Floor 6 is a good one. But actually, they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Beesyellow22,

We are very grateful for the extended review and the room tip that you posted on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that our chef’s personal attention was appreciated and that you enjoyed the bedroom and the restaurant. Did you know that Roberto’s Restaurant will again be featured in the restaurant guides Gault Millau and Bib Gourmand in 2012?

Indeed the Hilton Amsterdam is located in the south of the city centre in a quiet residential neighbourhood, a trip to the heart of the city centre will take about 15 minutes by public transport.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,330 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#85 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing