We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilton As You Expect It To Be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Hilton As You Expect It To Be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

No queue at check-in. Always good for me after a long journey. Having my details already printed on the registration form - good. Being asked if I need the free internet codes - good. Access to the Executive Lounge - always very nice (primarily for the free beer, I'm sorry to say). About one minute from start to finish for the whole check-in process - works every time.

A nice big room on the 8th floor - everything as it should be, modern, attractive, clean. The same in the bathroom.

Dinner in Roberto's restaurant - again, excellent throughout. Very polite and friendly staff, good value set menu which didn't seem to stint on quality or portion size.

I opted (as I normally do, when I can) for express checkout, request the final invoice to be sent to my email address. This arrived while I was in my taxi to the office. Why then, does it take the Hilton Metropole over a week (if I'm lucky) to do the same?

Overall - a flawless night's stay, which I enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorganmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Jorganmeister,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your kind words regarding our hotel rooms, executive lounge and our services.

We are pleased to read that you experienced our hotel staff to be friendly and attentive as our Team Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

I would like to inform you that Roberto’s Restaurant is awarded by Bib Gourmand and Gault Millau. On top of that, Roberto’s Chef Franz Conde won the international competition ‘Chef of Champions’.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to give you a warm welcome again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    834
    259
    92
    41
See reviews for
365
1,068
140
723
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have stayed here over 10 times in last few years. Always dxcellent service, food, rooms etc. exec lounge on roof top is best place to have breakfast with the rising sun. I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stalisfield28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Stalisfield28,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your kind words regarding our services, hotelrooms and the Executive lounge. The panoramic view of Amsterdam from the Executive Lounge is indeed very impressive.

I would like to inform you that Roberto’s Restaurant, which is the signature restaurant of the Hilton Amsterdam, is awarded by Bib Gourmand and Gault Millau 2012.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Our first trip to Amsterdam and we stumbled across this hotel via hotwire and as per we got an amazing rate for our three night stay.


I most say as other people have mentioned in their reviews, the outside of this hotel does NOT do it any justice. That said, once inside you'll be amazed. The Lobby is very grand and well yeah, very nice indeed. The staff on reception were very welcoming and polite & check in was very swift.

Our room was 724, a standard room but very nice. Larger than expected, it had a decent view over the city. The bed was large and comfy, the bathroom was large and had various shampoos, shower gels and an ample supply of towels & bathrobes.


Other people mentioned that this hotel is out of the city. For us it wasn't a big deal and we were glad to be away from the craziness of the city. It is only a short tram ride from the city, maybe 10 mins tops. There are plenty of little restaurants in the surrounding area and the neighbourhood is peaceful, clean & safe.

Overall, this hotel was perfect for what we needed.



Well done Hilton Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank repb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear repb9,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

It gives us great pleasure to read your compliments regarding the location of the Hilton Amsterdam, our hotelrooms and the amenities.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in a residential area in the ‘Oud Zuid’ area of Amsterdam. The neighbourhood has plenty of small shops and local restaurants, which are outside the bustle of the city centre.

The Hilton Amsterdam provides a splendid view over the city and is close to the renowned Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum. Travelling from the hotel to the city centre will indeed take approximately 10 minutes by public transport.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is a very nice hotel. I don't know if it should be a 5 star, but definitely a 4.5. The staff was very accomodating as they kept offering their help. The lobby is very nice and spacious and there is parking right out in front. It sits on one of the canals, and I think you can take canal cruises from there (I couldn't tell if they were doing them, but there were a couple docked right outside the hotel). It is very close to 3 different tram lines so it makes it easy to get to the center. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. The rooms are rich in wood decour and the shower is great. It is pretty quiet so you shouldn't have a problem getting a good night's sleep. It is also in a very safe area, a rather upscale residential area (it actually kind of sticks out from the rest of the buildings around it).

Now for some of the negatives: if you are looking to walk to only thing, the only thing that is really within walking distance is Vondel Park. You have to take a tram to everything, but you do therefore save something ($) than if this was in the city center. Another negative is that a person from the housekeeping staff came in about 10 minutes after we arrived to drop off another bath robe (I had a friend who was also staying there that happened to him and she came in when he was taking a shower - maybe we just had bad luck). Our room was also very hot when we got in, and we turned down the heat all the way before we left for the evening. When we got back (relatively late) turning down the heat didn't do a lot, but was bearable. We didn't contact the front desk because it was so late. I'm guessing that this isn't standard for all rooms.

Here is my recommendation: stay here if the price is right for you, you don't care if you are not in walking distance, and you are looking for a nice hotel in amsterdam. Do not stay here if you are looking for an affordable hotel close to the old area of amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal (the other side just faces the sky scrapers in southern Amst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Sean F,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind words about the rooms, the area and our team.

We offer guests the possibility to enjoy a catered boat tour from the marina at the back of the hotel.

I would like to inform you that the Museum Square with the concert building and the world famous museums the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum are in the same walking distance as the “Vondelpark”.

Regarding your bathrobe, thank you for your feedback. We will discuss within our team how we can improve this.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
405 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, its about 25 minute walk to Dam Square but if you use the Tram 16, 5, or 24 not too bad at all. Rooms large we upgraded to a canal view. Being a five star hotel the breakfast is expensive at 27 Euro's but just walk to a nearby bakery of cafe.
One tip its probably cheaper by taxi from the airport to the hotel, than train to the center and then taxi. Cheaper still train to central station and then tram.

Room Tip: Canal Views are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Whadders,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and photos of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked your upgraded room with canal view.

I would like to inform you that when traveling via public transport, you could also travel via train station ‘Amsterdam Zuid’ (South). This is only 15 minutes walking from the hotel and easy accessible by tram number 5.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Clean and comfortable hotel, very good restaurant. The food was the highlight for me. The room was as expected at a Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazrat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Bazrat92,

Thank you for leaving a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your compliments regarding our hotel services and Roberto’s Restaurant. It is a pleasure to read that you experienced the food to be a highlight. I would like to inform you that Roberto’s Restaurant is awarded by Bib Gourmand and Gault Millau 2012.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

A brilliant trip for my sisters birthday to truly one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. It's a little bit out of the way from all of the mayhem of the city which I liked because it allowed escape after a days sightseeing. The trams were easily negotiated and several stops were around the hotel with just a short walk to the main entrance. As my husband is a Hilton honours holder we were entitled to visit to the onsite health centre and had a great morning chilling out and using the sauna and steam room. The bar area was very welcoming although €40 for 3 x Gin and Tonics was a little on the steep side!! My friend lost her purse in a cab on the way back from a restaurant (she is now banned from having pink daiquiri drinks!!) and the concierge guys located the cab driver and got her purse back untouched!!! just before we had to leave for the airport. Gio was fantastic and he got several hugs and kisses for helping us out. A absolute credit to the Hilton group and would return again

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear JoanneHagger,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a room tip and a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your compliments regarding the location and the services of our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the birthday trip and that our porters assisted you in finding your sister’s purse back.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in a peaceful and residential area and is close to the city centre. The city centre is indeed easily accessible with public transport. The Hilton Amsterdam features a bike rental service, which is a good and a fun alternative for public transport. Especially during spring and summer this is a great experience to discover Amsterdam.

We would like to thank you for praising our Team Members. We do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times. Please rest assured I will share your compliments with them and with our porter ‘Gio’ in particular.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing