We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amsterdam Hilton”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amsterdam Hilton”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We chose the Amsterdam Hilton, because is was the location of the John and Yoko Bed-In for Peace. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel itself, the great staff, the great location, and the beautiful property. I highly recommend the Van Gogh Suite, it is like living in The Starry Night and The Bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Brooks T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Brooks T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    855
    268
    97
    43
See reviews for
384
1,108
143
740
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Where upgraded to a Suite at a 9:00 AM check in. Room had a great view of the water and the city. The staff where very professional and courteous.The hotel was immaculate and the spa next store was great and free to Honors gold and diamond. It was only a 10 minute walk to the three big museums and high end shopping.Several great restaurants are close by including Blaus and De Kas. The executive lounge is in a glass observatory and has a nice selection for Breakfast or you can eat at Roberto's if you choose, for gold and Diamond Honors guest There is plenty to eat and drink in the evening.Roberto's is an excellent Italian Restaurant in the hotel. Had the pasta with Brow Buffalo butter and truffle simple but so delicious. Prices ar e what you expect to pay at a high end hotel restaurant.My one small complaint was that our bed was very squeaky and rather hard by Hilton Heavenly standards

Room Tip: try the corner rooms on the high floors facing the watwer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Jack C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options. Dinner is served every day from 18:00 till 22:30 and offers you a classic but modern and inspirational Italian cuisine using the highest quality products as well as wines from Italy.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The staff are attentive and the food is fine -its Hilton standard- and you pay Hilton prices (65 euro for an ok bottle of Italian red). There's absolutely nothing I could complain about but there was something a little soulless about the place. Everyone smiled, brought us what we asked for, wished us a ‘nice day’ and kept the place clean. Somehow, though, by day three I was dying for someone who could give a wee bit of banter, provide something authentic or even just be slightly less afraid giving a few pointers or of getting things wrong. I could see why it’s a great business venue, but for tourists, it was about as Dutch as their Italian restaurant.
On the plus side the views are spectacular; the hotel is only a 5 minute walk and short tram ride (No. 16) to the main museums, galleries, red light district, old quarter, shopping centres and the Palace so we saw plenty. We’d thankfully booked for the Anne Frank House (essential if you don’t want to queue for hours) and wish we’d booked for the Van Gough Museum (1/2 hour queue). We weren’t afraid just to wander. The Dutch are incredibly friendly and helpful if one does get lost.
There’s a great wee fitness centre in the hotel with a brilliant masseuse, named Gabrielle, who sorted out tired legs and a back problem aggravated by all the walking around. Gabrielle was well worth 60 odd euros but we though 17 euros a bit steep for a sauna particularly since we were guests.
There’s a well-stocked bar particularly if you like whisky, although, interestingly, no Dutch Advocatt. We enjoyed a few well mixed cocktails and the bar snacks, particularly the glace strawberries. Wee Penny was a poppet and although only a trainee seemed more than expert to me. Special thanks to the member of staff who brought me a complimentary fleece when it got a bit chilly on the terrace it was very much appreciated. I really enjoyed watching the boats go by in the twilight and only got bitten once by the mossies.
Great for business, very short break or as a base -just don’t expect to absorb any of the wonderful Dutch character or culture from inside the hotel.

Room Tip: A canal view side is advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Jane W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval and you especially enjoyed the Garden Terrace.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members, particularly the bar team, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

Our Garden Terrace with its wonderful view to the Noorder Amstel canal is the ideal place to quietly relax, have a business meeting or a reunion with a friend. An extensive appetizer and beverage menu ensures that there is something for everyone.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and mostly thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great hotel with customer focussed staff and a good Executive Lounge with superb views over the city. The hotel is located in a peaceful part of the city with easy access to the city centre via trams and also to the airport via Amsterdam Zuid station. The building is an iconic one from the early 60s with architectural features and design still intact throughout. Stayed in a spacious Junior Suite with balcony overlooking the neighbourhood and canal. Another great stay, now my First choice for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Marky London,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great location, out of town, but within easy reach, either on foot or public transport. We'd been a bit concerned that this was too far out, but it was actually very well connected. Room very comfortable indeed, as is usually the case with Hiltons.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Panonia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad to read that you found our rooms comfortable and that they catered to all your needs.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

hotel, good location in just 30 min walk to the city center. The view from the room was amazing - the Amsterdam on a hand. Nicely clean, very good breakfast and they offer an early breakfast also if asked in advance in the room or as a package to take with. The only thing I didn't like was loud conditioner, but finally got used to it. The possibility to rent a bike and feel yourself as a local one, but the rent price is from morning to evening, there's no point to rent for couple of hours if can't for a whole day. Overall I liked it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aino H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Aino H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with Hilton Amsterdam and that our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our breakfast, our team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your comments with them.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hats off to the hilton Amsterdam. My partner and I stayed here for two days awaiting a cruise. This hotel is out of the main city but the transportation is fantastic. Got a tran pass for two days for 12E. I am a Hilton Diamond member and was able to upgrade to a water view for free. They also had free breakfast everyday for Diamond members and an Executive lounge for drinks and happy hour. The rooms were nice, clean with spa brand ammentities. The front desk was very helpful with travel, trading in money and setting up reservations. We had a wonderful time

Room Tip: Ask for a water view with a high floor. Very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear travelguy1907,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you and your partner had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing