We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Amsterdam
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$434
US$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel V Nesplein(Amsterdam)
US$348
US$314
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sir Albert Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
US$372
US$352
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aalders(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Toren(Amsterdam)
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$556
US$447
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,164)
Filter reviews
3,164 results
Traveller rating
1,750
958
301
108
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,750
958
301
108
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungejohn lennonhalf moon loungediamond memberonocanal viewcity centreresidential areaminute walkquiet locationjunior suitetop floorwonderful hotelvan gogh museumtram stopmuseum quarterpublic transport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,733 - 1,738 of 3,164 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Each time... words fail fail me. the rooms are ethereal, especially if you have a canal view. You can reserve one upon reservation, like I did, or you can request one upon check in.... the extra cost is worth every penny.
Let's talk service: front desk... Helena...you're a goddess.

24 hour room service... no judgement from these folks. Sometimes you just need a pizza at 5 am, and will do a second run for more arugula.

Breakfast:
Jose, you were a delight to the senses in the morning with the perfect Prosecco with strawberries and OJ served con gusto y amor. Te quiero mucho guapo.

Honors Lounge:
Gregory- I thought he was going to cry when we left. Until next time....you are a darling.
Robertos: The lamb saddle will leave me wanting for one year. Perfection. I cant believe I have to wait a year to close down your restaurant again.


And then we have the half moon lounge....
Paul and Evert- Every cocktail made with love. I closed deals and turned jerks into friends thanks to your service.



Details: This is a small hotel in a residential area of Amsterdam, you can walk, if you're not like me (American), to Vondelpark, Museumplien, Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh etc....so easily.

Amsterdam is flat. it's made for walking.

Subtract the essence of John and Yoko, the breakfast buffet is unmatched in AMS, and the service is genius.

Room Tip: Ask for canal view. Tip the staff. They care less about the tip than they do about the respect for their service.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Jimmy C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. We are glad to see that you found our rooms comfortable and we were able to cater to all your needs.

Mostly thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the Front Office, Room Service, Executive Lounge, Breakfast, the Half Moon Lounge and Roberto’s team, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them. The whole team takes great pride in service delivery and they will be more than delighted to hear that they were able to make you feel special.

The Half Moon Lounge offers you a perfect place to enjoy a chilled local beer or feast on local specialties in this nautical-style Amsterdam bar, based on designs by Ralph Lauren. During the summer months we also operate our garden terrace overlooking the Noorder Amstel canal.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel. It is a little way out of the centre but 10-15 minutes will walk you in and the location is so nice and peaceful it is well worth it. It sits at the edge of a canal which means you can walk outside by the canalside. Breakfast is very good with a wide range of items. We upgraded to an executive room. Not cheap but the executive lounge has great staff. They do nice drinks and canapés. I was very impressed how well the staff responded to requests from the guests.

Room Tip: pick a room overlooking the canal if you can
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Fiona229,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the Executive Lounge team, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

When we travel to Europe I always book a good hotel 'just in case" something happens and you can count on good service - this time I pulled my Achilles tendon at the airport - we had booked a bus trip to see the windmills, etc - when I limped in to the lobby (beautiful) Neeco (sp?) ,the assistant concierge, came right over and asked what happened - he offered to call a dr but I said that wasn't necessary - then appeared with an ace bandage - asked where we were going and I said a bus trip for 5 hours but didn't think I could do that now - he grabbed a map and sat with us and showed us the small towns and windmills we should see - offered to arrange a limo and chauffer to take us out for the afternoon to these places and even got a wheelchair for me and put it in the car - by the way the limo and incredible chauffer were only slightly more expensive than a cab would have been !!!!! I was so impressed with his caring - also our MasterCard wouldn't process for some reason - still don't know why but the front desk staff were so helpful - our room was large, well appointed and overlooked a canal - the hotel itself is lovely - we ate at the hotel restaurant - very upscale Italian - pasta with shaved truffles - yum - we also did the candlelight dinner canal cruise - so surprised how good the dinner was - 4 courses with wine and a 2 hour cruise for approx. $5 per person

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 501Marj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear 501Marj,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and that our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Concierge Nico, we will definitely share your compliments with him. All our team takes great pride in service delivery and they will be very happy to hear your positive comments.

We hope that your Achilles tendon is better now and wish you a fast recovery.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is an amazing hotel. We had just left the rudeness of Berlin and were not expecting this. Every aspect of this hotel and the stay in Amsterdam was amazing. The staff of this hotel was great. Check in/out, breakfast, location, room, and view was the best. All of the ppl in this town are so friendly and helpful. This trip to Amsterdam was one of the best trips we have taken. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reanna84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Reanna84,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. We are glad to see that you found our rooms comfortable and we were able to cater to all your needs. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members as well, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options. Dinner is served every day from 18:00 - 22:30 hrs and offers you a classic but modern and inspirational Italian cuisine using the highest quality products as well as wines from Italy.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We chose the Amsterdam Hilton, because is was the location of the John and Yoko Bed-In for Peace. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel itself, the great staff, the great location, and the beautiful property. I highly recommend the Van Gogh Suite, it is like living in The Starry Night and The Bedroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Brooks T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Brooks T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews