We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel outside of city center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel outside of city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam while attending a trade show in Amsterdam. All in all, I was happy with stay. The hotel is outside of the city center but very close (10 Euro cab ride) to the RAI convention center. The hotel is along side a canal which makes for a nice view and pleasant place to have an after-dinner drink. The area around the hotel appears to be quasi-residential with small cafes nearby.

The rooms were excellent as one would expect from a Hilton property. In-room WiFi was fine but I unfortunately can not say the same for the lobby and conference room areas. Connectivity was inconsistent with the connections being constantly dropped.

Meals at the hotel restaurant, Robertos, were excellent overall. Taste and presentation were exquisite with the portion sizes a bit small (for an American).

We used the conference facilities for some meetings and I was impressed by the facilities and service. Everything was arranged beforehand via email and I did not need to follow-up once or have anything corrected. The price of the conference room rentals (with accessories) was expensive however.

In summary, it was a good stay and I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back (canal). It has a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shikhar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Shikhar B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval, especially our conference centre and Roberto’s Restaurant, and that the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

Whatever the occasion, Hilton Amsterdam has the expertise and range of venues to bring your event to life. Choose from 21 flexible function rooms, all equipped with wireless internet which is complimentary in all public areas. Each room features individual air-conditioning, ergonomic chairs and modern conference equipment.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    833
    259
    92
    41
See reviews for
364
1,068
140
723
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and had a nice room with a nice view of the canal. It is a bit aways from the city center but still well within walking distance, if you don't mind walking which we did and loved it because you can see so much more of the city that way. If walking is not your thing, they have a great tram system to get around on.The hotel is also close to the beautiful Vondelpark and museums.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieW94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear LaurieW94,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are also happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. All these attractions are at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here between 13th and 18th of October for business. It's was quite good overall experience at the Hilton. Food is great at Roberto's and at breakfast. the only drawback of this hotel is location, it's a bit far from the center of Amsterdam. I had to stay there due to the proximity of distance to RAI. Rooms are quite, clean and service is great. Would recommend it. WIFI could be free in the rooms for a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Regarding the internet policy of the Hilton Amsterdam please be aware that Wi-Fi internet is free of charge in all public areas.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a beautiful property within walking distance of the tram. The rooms are clean and spacious. They also had a great breakfast. We stayed at this hotel with Trafalgar travel group.
Would highly recommend it. Very American like if you like the comforts of home.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewey4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Dewey 4321,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms nice and beds comfortable and that we were able to cater to all your needs.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed two nights in this very good hotel, which is reasonably close to the city centre. Count on EUR 14 for a taxi to the Rijksmuseum and 18 to the Dam. The staff were efficient, professional and pleasant. Special kudos to housekeeping! All was spotless, breakfast was exceptionally varied and good. The infrastructure is beginning to show its age, with some of the furniture and plumbing a bit shaky.
I would have given it 5 dots, were it not for the very high cost of parking and wi-fi. Check before clicking! However, free wi-fi is available in the lobby, ask the front desk for a code.
Thanks to TripAdvisor, we got a very good price on easytobook.com (prepaid, no change or cancellation).

Room Tip: At check-in, ask for the price of an upgrade to an executive floor. You may get it for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mojave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Mojave,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs. It is our pleasure to know that you had a lovely stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and all our facilities and services met your approval.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant from 7.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Hilton is iconic - its's design is clean, modern, yet timeless. The hotel is welcoming and an oasis of tranquility in the bustle of Amsterdam. Set not 10 minutes' walk from the Concertgebouw and 15 minutes' walk from the Rijksmuseum in the peaceful Appollolaan, the hotel offers good-sized and well-appointed rooms. We stayed in an Executive room, which was very comfortable: modern elegance combined with comfortable beds and a good bathroom. The Executive lounge has decent snacks: it is perhaps on the small side (compared with the Swisshôtel in Istanbul, for example), but there was enough room for the clients who were there. We booked via booking.com, and chose the hotel because of the competitive price for the comfort offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnifico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Magnifico M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval and you found our rooms comfortable and catering to all your needs.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locust grove
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a lovely hotel in a wonderful location. The hotel is in a semi residential area with terrific restaurants and shops and beautiful homes. It is only a short tram ride into the center of Amsterdam. We met many local people while walking around the area and they suggested restaurants where they ate and we enjoyed each restaurant. Our room was very nice. If given a chance to visit Amsterdam again, this is where we would want to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itscarolyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Itscarolyns,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#83 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#109 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing