We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - canal view room a must”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #43 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Brilliant - canal view room a must”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I have just stayed here for a long weekend , I can honestly say I wouldn't change a thing , I was dubious about location but if your willing to hop on the tram and see abit of Amsterdam rather than just the cafés and red light area it's perfect .
Its located in a vey subdued, leafy , romantic location.Its also on the banks of the canal , nice bars and restaurants within walking distance and the tram stop is 10mins walk , the hotel inside is nice and all the staff very friendly , as it was my girlfriends birthday they put a little gift in our room on the day of her birthday which was a very nice touch , breakfast was fantastic in Roberto's a must if your staying , next time we go I'd stay here again no doubt, thank you for making our stay perfect :-))) 10/10

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Dave W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and our services and facilities were up to your liking. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall, exclusive shopping streets and many more beautiful city sights. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,571
    885
    278
    102
    45
See reviews for
411
1,165
146
760
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for a conference recently. The room was comfortable and a good size, with a huge window overlooking the boats in the canal, it must be fab in the summer. Usual amenities in the room but wifi was €25 - seriously thought they were having a laugh there, considering it's likely most people staying there would be on business and need the wifi. Decor fresh and bed very comfortable (though pillows were really too soft). Had a nice sleep here, the room seemed well insulated and it's a nice quite neighbourhood.

Bathroom modern and clean, bathrobes and slippers provided. The only thing I didn't like was the shower over bath, I would prefer a walk in shower cabinet. Shower was ok water pressure and not too complex to operate, though my colleagues complained the next morning that there was no hot water after 8am, I'd been up earlier and it was hot enough for me.

I had dinner with my colleagues in the bar area of the hotel, by NL standards it was fine ie under flavoured but edible, main courses around the €30 mark which is normal for big hotels. If you were inclined there are plenty of restaurants in easy walking distance towards Museumplein.

Breakfast was the usual hotel fare, like most places I've stayed at in the Netherlands the bread and pastries weren't particularly nice I just had fruit and cereal which was €19, if you added the hot option it was around €30 which is standard for business hotels. There's a coffee shop which I would've just went to had I not been having breakfast with colleagues. One tip they won't tell you - you can ask for a nice coffee a latte or something in the restaurant rather than the yucky filter stuff - they won't offer it though.

The catered lunch at the conference wasn't that great, all the sandwiches had rocket in them except for the fish ones so with limited time I had to choke down salmon sandwiches, this may be a cultural difference as they seem to be obsessed with rocket in the NL. I'm not sure if the salmon was okay as I felt dodgy later.

Service was fine, there was a mixup with my booking when I checked in that they wanted me to pay for a "no show" the night before when I'd never planned to stay more than 1 night (I was a last minute speaker) - the guy on reception must've sorted it out as there was only 1 night on my bill. The rest of the staff were obliging the concierge in particular friendly and helpful.

Overall it was quite nice despite the hassles, and I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusansBackInScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear SusansBackInScotland,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Regarding the internet policy, please be informed that Wi-Fi Internet is free of charge in all public areas in the hotel.

The Half Moon Lounge offers you a perfect place to enjoy a chilled local beer or feast on local specialties. This nautical-style Amsterdam bar, based on designs by Ralph Lauren, will make a great place for a business meeting as well as for a friendly reunion. During the summer months we also operate our garden terrace overlooking the Noorder Amstel canal.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Hotel is upscale; rooms are large by European standards and very adequate.
Staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel is kept especially clean inside and
out. Would not recommend the restaurant at the hotel, as it was very expensive.
Room service prices are way out of line. There are a couple of good restaurants with
good food and reasonable prices. Public transportation is close and very efficient to
take one to all locations in Amsterdam at very reasonable prices. Hotel is in a very
quite location and water taxi is available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desfwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear DewTexas,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

We would like to point out that our prices are conform prices of similar properties in Amsterdam, however, do take your comments very seriously and have discussed them within our team for future pricing decisions.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. All these attractions are at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The rooms are very comfortable (ask for a room looking towards the canal). Safe in the room, mini bar in room, shower/bath tub combination with hand held shower, magnifying mirror and standard Peter Roth Thomas hotel necessities (lotion, shower gel) etc. Crisp white linen and towels (the things that matter most by experienced travelers like myself :). average size bathroom. Good-average lighting in the room. Flat screen television with some american channels in English, desk and chair with a single seating chair - this is your standard room. Clean hotel and great service from front desk staff and porters. Quick taxi availability for travel. Age at 1 restaurant on property (Italian) and it was great food and service.

Room Tip: looking towards the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Intwah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and that our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members. The team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your comments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. All these attractions are at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

From the outside the hotel looks quite dated, but it must have been in its prime when Lennon and Ono spent their Honeymoon sitting in their presidential suite. Sadly we did not get upgraded to the presidential suite, but our room was fine. It faced the canal, had a comfortable queen bed, and was very clean and comfortable. We took the train into Central Station and took a taxi to the hotel, which was about 10-15 min ride.

What I liked about the hotel is the staff are so friendly and outgoing. Our breakfast was included and we had access to the Executive lounge. The executive lounge is small and not the greatest compared to most other executive lounges but it was still a nice small space to enjoy a glass of wine in the evenings. The breakfast has the usual Hilton breakfast offerings but what made breakfast a sheer joy was the bright, cheery service of the staff. One morning, the chef walked around offering Prosecco to us. That was an unexpected and welcome surprise, and a great way to start the day.

The hotel is located next to a health club. If you are gold/diamond member, it is free, but I think you may have to pay to use it otherwise. The gym was larger than most hotel gyms and had the usual free weights, machines and bikes/treadmills. Their Finnish spa and sauna were very relaxing and a great way to end a workout.

It is about a five-minute walk to several different trams and buses that go into town. I ended up taking the tram once. The rest of my five day stay, I just walked everywhere - 15 min walk to Van Gogh Museum, 5 min walk to the nearest street full of cute cafes, stores, restaurants, etc. If I go back to Amsterdam, I would definitely stay here again. It is a more quiet location than anything near Central or in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear 2travelandeat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a lovely stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and you fully enjoyed all our services and facilities. We are also happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members, especially the Roberto’s breakfast team; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

The Hilton Hotel was built in 1962 and was designed by the architect Hugh Aart Maaskant, it was the first hotel in the Netherlands brought by an international hotel chain. One side of the hotel is facing a canal and the old Amsterdam. In 1969 John Lennon and Yoko Ono spent their honeymoon in one of the Hilton Amsterdam rooms that has stayed in the same design since and our guests can book their stay or even get married in this historical suite.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were so glad we chose this Hilton! The staff was the best ever and we are diamond members so this says a lot.
Emily at the front desk was just amazing and so helpful.She always made sure we had anything we needed.
Now if you want the best breakfast in all of Europe you have to try Johnny's blueberry pancakes. His breakfast was the best we had in 5 weeks of travel absolutely amazing!
The executive lounge was always a great place to relax and unwind we really loved our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Pat E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially our Front Desk agent Emily and our Breakfast Chef Johnny; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hotel room was OK. Staff was friendly and most helpful. Enjoyed nightcaps at the Half Moon Lounge. Business Center computers were available for guest use. Location close to public transport and walking distance to several quaint restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear George S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

The Half Moon Lounge offers you a perfect place to enjoy a chilled local beer or feast on local specialties. This nautical-style Amsterdam bar, based on designs by Ralph Lauren, will make a great place for a business meeting as well as for a friendly reunion. During the summer months we also operate our garden terrace overlooking the Noorder Amstel canal.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,477 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,874 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing