We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Have just spent four nights at the hotel on a business trip. The hotel is not cheap but I have to say the room, facilities and service were all faultless. The hotel is in a quiet suburb but a 15 minute tram ride takes you to Dam which is no problem at all.
The only bugbear, as with all Hlitons, is that they charge for using the internet (except for public areas) and it ain't cheap! I'm not prepared to pay so don't use it. Come on guys, don't spoil the experience for a h'aporth of tar!
Internet charges aside, a good place to stay.


Internet charges aside,

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AdrianSwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Adrian Swall,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Please be aware that free WiFi internet is available in all public areas in the hotel, but we will take your advice into consideration for future development.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. All these attractions are at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,449
    833
    259
    92
    41
See reviews for
364
1,068
140
723
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Had wonderful stay at Hilton. .room was great with wonderful view. Staff very helpful and I must call out lady running executive lounge and concierges. Loved the idea of being able to hire bikes..a perfect way to explore Amsterdam.
A nice quiet location and base. Perfect escape from the intensity of Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. It is our pleasure to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and fully enjoyed the view from the room.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the Executive Lounge and Concierge teams; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam offers rental bikes to explore the city as a local. Our rental services are available daily and upon availability. You can rent a bike at our Concierge desk at any time.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This was the first time that I had ever stayed at a hilton hotel and what a pleasure it was very smart, quick and simple to check in and out, nice views of the cannel. The location isn't the best for walking but the tram is easy to use. Would recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Woody1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Woody1994,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and glad that our facilities and services met your approval. It is our absolute pleasure to know that you found our rooms comfortable and enjoyed the beautiful canal views.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall, exclusive shopping streets and many more beautiful city sights. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

It was our pleasure to return to the Hilton on Appololian once again. We are always received with the same warm welcoming staff each time. Special mention to the staff in Roberto's for breakfast and brunch!! Chef Johnnie Wells' wonderful food and great staff, especially Taziana, couldn't do more for us. They made us feel so very welcome and went out of their way to insure we were completely satisfied with each element of our experience. Special mention to to Stephania, in the Executive Suite, who single handedly managed the suite each and every very busy night. She was truly amazing, always working, always smiling!! Hotel staff have gone above and beyond to make our stay memorable. We will be back soon! Thank you. Pat OB.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dera John O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and that our services and facilities met your approval. It is our absolute pleasure to welcome you again and we are delighted that the Hilton Amsterdam has become your “home away from home” in Amsterdam.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members. The team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for your loyalty and for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
228 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights for business. As mentioned the hotel is not very central and is in a quiet location. You can still get to the centre in about 10 mins by tram. It is close to the WTC offices. Overall the hotel is fine. I ate a snack in the bar and it was good. The only points of note is the prices of the extras €20 for breakfast, €20 for wifi in room (is is free in reception)and €8 for water from the mini bar. These are very expensive when paying around €300 per night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LuxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear LuxTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a nice stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

We would like to point out that our prices are conform prices of similar properties in Amsterdam, however, do take your comments very seriously and have discussed them within our team for future pricing decisions.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. All these attractions are at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Nothing to complain over about the rooms. However I experience a lot of waiting time at my stay at the hotel, at 16 the room was still not ready, so we had to wait one hour before it was done. And then again at check-out when we needed to pick up hour luggage at the courier, there was nobody around, so we were waiting for 15 min. before he was able to get our luggage, the reception was not able to help, only to tell he would soon be there. That is simply not good enough when having a tight time plan, since we had to hurry a lot afterwards in order to make our CNL train at the Central station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Morten N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and you found our rooms comfortable and catering to all your needs.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the long waiting times. We have taken your comment very seriously and have discussed it with our team in order not to let this happen again in the future.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Hilton Amsterdam! It is located in a very quaint and upscale neighborhood. We had a gorgeous corner room with a balcony that was much larger than what your normally find in many European hotels. The executive lounge is great, it is located on the top floor with a panoramic view of the city! We loved the location. In terms of transportation or getting around the city, it was under a 5 minute walk to the Tram, the hotel can coordinate cars/cabs if you need, or it is a gorgeous walk to local attractions. We walked everywhere, exploring the local neighborhoods and local attractions. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam! Next time we are there, we will book with the Hilton again.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are large, with a nice sitting area and balcony. Try to get a room with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill-geoff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Jill-geoff123,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing