We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend at the Amsterdam Hilton. The hotel was fantastic and the staff amongst the best I have ever encountered. They manage they balance between efficiency, formality and personal attention perfectly. Due to an overrun of a large conference, my room was upgraded. The promotional breakfast offer was excellent value. My request for a late check-out was immediately approved.
The Hilton is about 10 mins away from the museum area. Perfectly placed fro exploration. The concierge service is very helpful and saved us both money and long queues. Nothing was too much trouble. This is an unreserved recommendation.

Room Tip: Request a canal side room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Bridget E,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay for a long weekend at Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our Team Members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them. It is a delight to hear they found the balance between formality and personal attention.

Indeed you are correct about the location of Hilton Amsterdam, it is a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, and many more beautiful city sights.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your loyalty. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Season’s greetings.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,938)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,513 of 2,939 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

We keep on returning to this Hilton in Amsterdam, profesional reception, clean rooms, very cosy bar downstairs, recommend to upgrade to an executive room with lounge access, beautiful lounge on top floor with views over Amsterdam.

Pitty though that Hilton still maintains Wifi against payment, nowadays Internet access should be free everywhere.

Bit outside of Amsterdam city centre though but if you know Amsterdam and if weather allows you can have a nice walk via old south and Vondelpark to go to the centre.

Room Tip: Executive rooms with access to the lounge
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabienne1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Fabienne1504,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are so pleased that you choose the Hilton Amsterdam for all your Amsterdam visits and we hope you will continue visiting us on your future trips as well.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Please be aware that free WiFi internet is available in all public areas in the hotel, but we will take your advice into consideration for future development.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and for your loyalty. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is the famous Hilton where John Lennon and Yoko Ono spent their honeymoon (Pic attached of the room), Excellent location in upscale part of Amsterdam but its a tram ride from the walkable tram station (Emmstraat) to Centraal Station from where all the action begins i.e City tour etc. Breakfast if excellent spread and Hilton is thoughtful to provide umbrellas since it was raining in November. Great place to stay and will stay again.

Room Tip: Choose Canal Facing room but I could not get it though.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lssrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Issrinivas

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed the breakfast and the umbrellas.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall, exclusive shopping streets and many more beautiful city sights. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. We also offer bicycle rental so you can explore the city the traditional Dutch way.

Thank you for your loyalty and for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

They charged me twice after looking in my account and they should return the money back , can you take care of that please . Also on checking in there was only one room reserved although I asked for 2 rooms and the confirmation email stated that clearly but it was not on their system and 2nd room was charged more

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Mohamed E,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We regret that there has been a misunderstanding with your reservation and apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you.

We have looked into the matter and it seems that you have been correctly charged for the two rooms. One room appeared to have been charged more due to use of the minibar and both rooms were charged city tax as per the city policy of charging 5.5% city tax per room per night.

We hope this clarifies your query and that we may look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact the hotel on operations.amsterdam@hilton.com.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The room was clean and in great shape, the bed was comfortable and the view from the 8th floor absolutely amazing. The Full American Breakfast is just one of the many reasons I would stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christoph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Christoph G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel en route to a couple of other European cities. Pleasant setting - right on a canal and with it's own mini dock. The desk staff are terrific - super! The bar/cafe area enjoyable and the staff also very accommodating - arrived after a LONG travel day and they provided me with endless cups of tea - and smiles. A dinner meeting in the restaurant provided very good food and a relaxed, cozy atmosphere by the fire. Only comments to the management - make the print on the menus in the restaurant larger - even a 12 YO would have difficulty reading it. Another small comment - the outside is lovely - and I realize that the canal area has people that come and do the removal of floating garbage and debris - but a quick in house approach to it with a net would provide a better curb appeal - I ended up with "garbage" in all my pictures that was right next to the hotel dock walls. Minor items. Beyond that - great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Worldtraveler1300,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and glad that our facilities and services met your approval. It is our absolute pleasure to know that you found our rooms comfortable and enjoyed the beautiful canal views.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the Front Office and Half Moon Lounge teams; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

We apologize for any incontinence that may have been caused by the small letter size in our menus. We have taken your comments very seriously and our restaurant management team is discussing it as we speak.

The Half Moon Lounge offers you a perfect place to enjoy a chilled local beer or feast on local specialties. This nautical-style Amsterdam bar, based on designs by Ralph Lauren, will make a great place for a business meeting as well as for a friendly reunion. During the summer months we also operate our garden terrace overlooking the Noorder Amstel canal.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Arrived late on transit, and immediately welcomed into the hotel. Rooms are modern, mine a bit beaten up but quality touches elsewhere made up for it. Canal view rooms are a nice perk (ask for one). The health club closes a bit early (10pm) - Other chains afford their top-tier guests better access. Lovely bar, restaurant is pricey but exquisite.

You're out of A'dam central which is IMO a great thing. Vondelpark is a great place for a run (~2 mile circuit), and the neighbourhood to the north (towards the canal) is full of great cafés and shops.

Room Tip: Canal-side, high floor
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_and_jaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Sam_and_jaime,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

We would like to point out that our prices are conform prices of similar properties in Amsterdam, however, do take your comments very seriously and have discussed them within our team for future pricing decisions.

The Half Moon Lounge offers you a perfect place to enjoy a chilled local beer or feast on local specialties. This nautical-style Amsterdam bar, based on designs by Ralph Lauren, will make a great place for a business meeting as well as for a friendly reunion. During the summer months we also operate our garden terrace overlooking the Noorder Amstel canal.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,511 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £105 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing