We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A bit dated”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Things I liked:
Friendly, helpful staff;
A bit out of the city (but not too far), so no noisy drunks;
Just a short walk to a tram stop into the city (the hotel sells tickets at a slight mark up - but don't bother as you can buy tickets on the tram)
The hotel rents bicycles at reasonable rates

Things I didn't like so much:
Breakfast ridiculously priced - so we self-catered, but..;
The fridge is full of junk food and drinks and if you move them to make space for your stuff, it racks up on your bill. The hotel was good about correcting this, but its a darned nuisance - feels like the hotel is more interested in $$ than the convenience of guests.
The decor in our room was tired and dated.
Wireless internet in the rooms is charged at extortionate rates. I still can't believe there are places that do this. Wireless in the foyer is free.

Overall, it's an adequate hotel, but not quite the style one normally associates with the Hilton brand name. This seems to have escaped management, who try a bit of the price gouging one more usually associates with classier places.

John Lennon fans can go to the 9th floor and gawk at the door of the Presidential suite (902) where he had his bed-in with Yoko Ono in 1969.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel overlooking the canal would probably be better than the front (where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear rabbit83,

Thank you very much for your extensive review of Hilton Amsterdam.

It is a delight to read that you liked our friendly, helpful staff.

Your comment regarding pricing is one that we take seriously. I would like to inform you that Our range of different breakfast offers are available as of €20,-. ISSIMO coffee bar, open on weekdays as of 7 AM, offers a variety of breakfast items but also a breakfast menu which includes coffee, croissant and fresh fruit juice or fruit salad for only €8,-.
Our minibar indeed register the products used to increase efficiency upon checkout. For the inconvenience this has caused you, we would like to offer our apologies.

I wish you are well and hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,502
    855
    268
    97
    43
See reviews for
384
1,108
143
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel over Easter weekend and loved my time there! I have stayed at this hotel before and always find the staff friendly and welcoming. I received an upgrade on check in, it was gratefully appreciated :) the staff at Reception were warm and offered advice on how to get to see the city’s main sites and in the Executive Lounge they even welcomed us even though we were a little late for breakfast and kept the food out a little longer for us.

Great hotel, lovely quiet location backing onto a canal and we enjoyed coffee the following morning on the terrace!

Would definitely recommend this property!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Sally,

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hilton Amsterdam!

I really appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge the team and their services. We strive for the best personal and attentive service and I am happy you perceived it that way. Indeed the Executive Lounge has a stunning 360⁰ panoramic view of the City of Amsterdam; A very nice place to enjoy canapés and drinks whilst looking over the city.

I hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

what I like about this hotel is that it is in a more quiet area but it's still easy to get downtown..at the same time the rooms are spacious (especially according to Amsterdam standard), you have all the amenities you look for in a hotel of this type, the service is discreet but attentive, the bar and the restaurant are expensive but very good quality and the wonderful garden alongside one of the canals compensates for the building itself (which is an architectonic disaster from nowadays perspective)...overall another pleasant experience

Room Tip: ask for a room with canal view on a higher floor...the view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enama2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Enema2014,

Thank you for writing a review about Hilton Amsterdam!

I am glad to hear to you enjoyed your last stay with us. The distinctive V-shape of the hotel is centred on the apex of the Apollolaan and the Minervalaan, the two main roads of the South area of Amsterdam, designed by Berlage. Berlage’s axis runs through the lobby of the hotel and ends at the canal. The used architecture in this area is the so-called “Amsterdam School”. Clearly we fully respect your opinion and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel itself was beautiful , very clean elegant nice rooms , there is a bar that looks out over the canal that although slightly expensive is worth having a few drinks in or some food. The service was excellent as in all Hilton Hotels. It was the nicest Hotel that I saw in Amsterdam. My only complaint in regards to this hotel was the executive services , the room was not nice at all, very small no where to plug your lap top in and work just dining tables . It also wasnt clean I had to go to the middle of the pile to find a clean plate , the glasses were dirty and had a smell to them and the service was poor . It is a real shame as have always used the executive rooms before at Hilton and they are usually well worth the money.I would recommend a stay at the Hilton but don’t bother paying the extra for the executive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieH5971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for your review of Hilton Amsterdam.

It is very good to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. Our Garden Terrace with a theatre view over the canal and the garden is an ideal location to relax, enjoy the sun and recover from the day! I thank you for the precise feedback given about the executive lounge. I have immediately taken action to ensure that the level of service remains of high standards. I am sorry we did not explain that the plugs are integrated in the desk.

I hope to have the chance to meet you personally during your next visit.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at The Hilton for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. I found the hotel to be very nice overall. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, we received a very warm welcome by the reception staff. They also provided us with a map of the city and explained how to get to the attractions we wanted to visit. The hotel is located a little way out from the centre of Amsterdam but its close to tram stops for a short ride to the centre or about a 30 min walk in. We did not eat at the hotel so I can't comment on whether the food is nice but I would imagine it is as the hotel is of a very high standard. The rooms were clean and spacious. My only criticism would be that I found the bed to be very uncomfortable, but other than that everything was great. The museum area is only a short walk away and also Vondel Park is close by too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe-Trotter200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Globbe-Trotter200,

Thank you for your great review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

I am happy that you enjoyed your Easter weekend with us. I have shared you positive comment with the team and they were proud that their hard work is acknowledged. Thanks to your feedback we can constantly improve our services and facilities.

I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great place to stay. Hotel is located very nice, staff is very friendly! We really enjoed the stay for a long weekend. All attractions of the city could be reached quite easily. The rooms are very nice, ask for a room with view to the canal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Mr. Thomas R,

What a great review here on TripAdvisor!

It is a delight to read that you enjoyed your long weekend stay and your kind words about our Team Members are highly appreciated.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Having stayed there several times already this was just as good a stay as always. Convenient parking, quiet location yet easily connected by tram or bicycles (!), lovely staff, nice upgrade to the executive floor and my favourite the Half Moon Bar, a cozy reminder of the original bar from 1962 complete with fire place and the original chairs. The GM, Roberto Payer, has managed to put together a great team and makes sure that the hotel retains its unique character just like when it was the place for the bed-in by John Lennon and Yoko Ono.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor and canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnookie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Schnookie19,

Thank you for regularly staying at Hilton Amsterdam. Valuable guests like you are highly appreciated.

It is a delight to read that you like the unique character of the hotel and that the Half Moon Lounge is your favorite.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing