We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I were guests at the Hilton Amsterdam from 19 – 22 April. This is an exceptionally busy weekend, due to Easter and the peak tulip season.

I am a Diamond Hilton Honors member and stay at Hilton properties all over the world. I'm rarely disappointed with Hilton properties, but this one "raised the bar"--we had a wonderful stay. Although the property is beautiful, it was the actions of the team members that made our time in the hotel so memorable.

From the front desk to the concierge to the Executive Lounge; the bar, Roberto’s at breakfast, and also the lady that does the turn-down service---everyone was cheerful, friendly, efficient, and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Live-On-The-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Live-on-the-Road,

Thank you for sharing your experience in the Hilton Amsterdam again, I was already happy to answer to you the first time and seeing that you are willing to share it with fellow travellers make me even more proud.

Do you already know that the Hilton Amsterdam has the John & Yoko honeymoon suite in which in 1969 John Lennon and Yoko Ono had their famous bed in peace moment or about our suite inspired by the ‘Sterrennacht’ by Vincent van Gogh?

We hope this reply finds you well and that we can welcome you and your wife again in the near future to experience everything else the Hilton Amsterdam and the City of Amsterdam have to offer.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 3,043 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

its all you would expect from a hotel chain like the hilton , we were given an excecutive suite which was a bonus . as a watch out the mini bar prices are riddiculas so its best to buy your own snacks . but overall staff were great and the room was lovely , however the shower was not very powerful . centrally located about a mile from the centre

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirley442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Ms. shirley442,

Your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated.

We’re delighted to learn that you enjoyed the upgrade to the Executive Suite.
Please rest assured, your feedback regarding the pressure in the shower has been communicated to our Engineering Team.

The kind words you have shared regarding our Team Members have been shared with the entire team.

We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent one night here before our Rhine river cruise began. The hotel is modern and comfortable. Everyone we dealt with on the staff was friendly and exceptionally helpful. We had room service bring dinner (which was delicious) and the buffet breakfast in the morning. We had many questions which were all fully answered to make our brief time in Amsterdam the best visit possible.

It's on a quiet canal and walking distance to several museums, including the Van Gogh museum.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purselady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Ms. purselady 1,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Amsterdam before your Rhine river cruise and for describing your experience here on TripAdvisor.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have found all our Team Members to be friendly and exceptionally helpful. They take great pride in providing excellent service.

We all hope to meet you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

From check in to check out everything was exceptional - concierge made great recommendations - canal view room is worth the extra expense - highly recommend the lounge with fireplace as a place to relax and have a nice drink. Not in the center of everything but a great escape from the chaos and easily accessible to tourist sites.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Triste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Triste B,

Thank you very much for describing your stay at Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

It is a true delight to read that everything was exceptional from check in to check out. Always feel free to ask our concierge for their recommendations, because they would be more than happy to assist you to make the best of your time in Amsterdam.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed two nights at this hotel. Though not in the center of Amsterdam, I would recommend this hotel. It is situated in a quiet part in the south of Amsterdam. A short ride on the tram gets you to Leidse square and the Dam.
Breakfast in the clubroom is okay. This is the less crowded clubroom I ever encountered in the Hilton group. Very relaxed, also for evening drinks and fingerfood.
The coffeeshop (no drugs!) in the lobby is excellent. Great coffee and barrista.
In the room we got a present every day on a nice display (fresh strawberries, macarons).
There is a great terrace by the waterside in the backyard.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_op_vakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Mr. john_op_vakantie,

What a wonderful review of Hilton Amsterdam!

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the daily refreshments. Our Garden Terrace is indeed beautifully located besides the Noorder Amstelkanaal.

Our barista and the rest of our Team Members are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. We were impressed by the great service, cleanliness and the convenient setting. They had a great restaurant, Roberto's, where we had a buffet breakfast each morning. We also had two Italian dinners and enjoyed the dinners both nights. Very polite service and friendly attitude, as well as delicious dinners.

This is not an inexpensive hotel but we appreciated the friendliness of the staff and their very helpful attitudes. We recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: View of the canal is wonderful and worth the price of the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Ms. corkiek,

It is a delight that you have taken the time to describe your experiences at Hilton Amsterdam.

Your kind words about our service, cleanliness and Roberto’s Restaurant fill us with pride and help us to spread the light and warmth of hospitality.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very good hotel and excellent staff. But spend the extra for a junior suite which we really enjoyed. It's not in the centre but tram is nearby and frequent. There is a garden terrace by the canal which is a great place for food and drinks if the sun shines; a nice feature for a city hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Stephen A,

Thank you very much for staying with us and describing your experience here on TripAdvisor.

It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your Junior Suite. The Garden Terrace is indeed a great place for food and drinks, especially during the summer months.

We hope to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#28 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#146 of 373 in Amsterdam
75 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#32 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,309 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £137 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing