We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay.”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #43 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic place to stay.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Hilton was a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The rooms were lovely and a canal view was a real bonus.
This hotel is easy to access from the airport cups train and tram, and valise enough to the city centre, without being located right at the heart. Thank you to everyone who made our stay special.

Room Tip: A canal view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Katie L,

Thank you for your review about Hilton Amsterdam.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your recommendation means a lot to us and for that I want to thank you. The easy accessibility of our hotel is one of the strong points. Tram line 5, 24, and 16 depart just behind the hotel and take you directly in to the city centre. I have personally thanked the team for their efforts!

I hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,534
    866
    272
    99
    45
See reviews for
395
1,132
145
752
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Was completely blown away by this hotel, its grounds and the staff and service during my stay!

The hotel is absolutely beautiful on the inside, there are beautiful bars that look out onto the canals, and it is very grande. We got upgraded into deluxe rooms with views which were spacious and had a beautiful view. i loved waking up every morning and just staring out the window.

What really made this trip special was the staff. The lovely man at the concierge desk helped my friends and i plan our whole stay while in Amsterdam and gave us so many tips and tricks to help with all the museums and transport. Everyday he would greet us as we came back and asked us how our day was and how the museums were that we planned to go to that day, i loved that he took the time to remember us and our plans.

The lovely host at breakfast was also very lovely! the whole breakfast experience was excellent! it is a beautiful restaurant with a fireplace which was so nice to sit by in the early morning. Every day she would sit us at the same table right near the fire place and even remembered my coffee order which she created special for me. I wanted to have a mocha, not sure if they actually make these in Europe as not many people knew what they were. I think they created this delicious drink that had nutella in it. it was fantastic!
The waffles on the buffet were even better than the waffles i got in belgium!

Overall i was just can't possibly describe in words how happy i was with this Hilton. Definitely the best hilton i have ever stayed in throughout Europe.
I hope that i can stay here again in the future

Room Tip: Room with a view, will just make your day
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parismeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Parismeow,

Thank you for your very detail and wonderful review about Hilton Amsterdam!

It fills me with pride to hear how you have experienced your stay. I have personally informed the team about your lovely comments and they were more than happy to hear that their hard work is recognized. At Hilton Amsterdam we create a home away from home and I am glad that our hotel satisfied you. The view and location of our hotel are one of our unique points. You are able to see the whole city of Amsterdam and visit many attractions within walking distance. Thank you once again for your amazing review!

I hope to welcome you again in the near future and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed in the Amsterdam Hilton for 3 nights and had a fabulous experience. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful but Sofia and her team in the bar and outdoor patio deserve a special commendation. They provided us with consistently good service and food and made our stay at the Hilton a memorable and happy one. Well done Sophia and thank you for sharing you beautiful city with us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side look out on the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Jewel S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

I have personally thanked Sofia and her team for the special comments regarding their service. They are very happy to hear that their hard work is acknowledged. Indeed our Garden Terrace provides stunning view over the canal and the garden. I hope that you will return soon and see all that the City of Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge is more than happy to provide you with all the information you would require.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I suggest you to visit this hotel and have a drink in the executive lounge at 10th floor where you have a 360 degree panoramic view of Amsterdam. Located on the south of the city very close to Vondelpark where the runners have 3,3 km jogging route.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Fabio F,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your last stay.

I am glad to hear that you liked the amazing 360⁰ panoramic view from our Executive Lounge. The location of the hotel is very central indeed and you can reach the Museum District and the Vondelpark within 10 minutes walking distance. I would also recommend the Garden Terrace on which you have a more close up view of the canal and our beautiful garden.
I hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

3rd time I stayed in this hotel durig the last 4 months. Every time true excellence! And even more. Looking forward to the next stay in your hotel and I promiss this will be soon! This hotel inlc beautiful garden, its perfect location and its wonderful crew is worth visiting!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nicolle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Nicolle V,

Thank you again for your great reply about Hilton Amsterdam!

I feel honoured that you are so loyal to our hotel and that you again have taken the time to write a review! I have shared your positive comments with the whole team. They were glad to hear their efforts are acknowledged. Indeed our garden is beautiful and it is the perfect location to enjoy, relax and have a cold drink at the canal.

I hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed in Hilton Amsterdam 3 days for a conference. The overall feeling I have is that they try to suck the last euro from your pocket. And I was glad that my company paid for my stay otherwise I would be really disappointed.
Apart from the expensive price of the room you have to pay extra for breakfast (19 Euros per person a day) and internet access in your room (25 Euros a day). Others said that there was also an extra fee for hotel guests to use the gym (about 20 Euros I think).These are usually included in the room charge in other hotels.
Staff at the reception was not very kind and did not give us proper and complete information (e.g. about Hilton voucher for taxi that would ensure us regular price, free internet access in a room for conference guests).
Hotel is in a quiet location but there are no restaurants or bars nearby. You have to walk approx 10 minutes to reach one. Hotel is relatively close to Museumsplein - about 20 minutes walk, or 2 stations by tram.
Room was clean and comfortable with nice view of the canal. Complimentary tea and coffee in the room.
I will not come again to this hotel. I would rather stay in a hotel where you can enjoy same comfortable stay without the impression of being ripped off.

Room Tip: room with view over canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeg15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Geeg15,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your last stay with us!

We would like to offer our sincere apology for the way you have experienced your stay. Our range of different breakfast offers are available as of €20,-. ISSIMO coffee bar, open on weekdays as of 7 AM, offers a variety of breakfast items but also a breakfast menu which includes coffee, croissant and fresh fruit juice or fruit salad for only €8,-.

Internet is complimentary in all of our public areas including Roberto’s restaurant and Half Moon Lounge. Our apologies if the information was not properly communicated. I have immediately shared your feedback regarding the way you have experienced the service from our front desk team. Our hotel is indeed located in the upscale residential area of Amsterdam. The main advantage is that we are easily accessible by public transport and car and only 10 minutes walking distance from the museum district. Tram lines 16, 24, and 5 take you in to the city centre within 10 minutes and are located just behind the hotel. Our concierge is more than happy to provide you with all the information regarding restaurants and bars located nearby.

We truly hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Feel free to contact me directly for all of the questions you may have.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmar, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Lovely hotel with a beutiful garden along one of Amsterdams channels. Parking just outside the hotel was a plus for us arriving by car. We tried both the resturant and bar. The breakfast could have had a little larger selection.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Hans Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Hans Z,

Many thanks your kind words about you last stay with the Hilton Amsterdam!

The hotel is indeed located in the upscale residential area “Oud-Zuid” of only 10 minutes walking distance of the Museum District, House of Rembrandt and Van Gogh Arts museum. Also very reachable by tram lines 16, 24, and 5 who depart right behind the hotel. Did you know that during the summer months we open our ‘River Dining’ restaurant located just 1 meter from the water? Where you can enjoy: Iberico Pata Negra, Iced crab legs and Beef fillet with Rockefeller oysters all day from 11 am until 11:30 pm.

I hope to get the chance to welcome you again in the near future

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#28 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,419 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#77 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,803 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing