We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Gardens”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Gardens”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I never actually stayed here but wanted to visit as it's were John and Yoko had their famous bed-in back in 1969, as the Vietnam War raged. It's an amazing hotel - at the rear there is an outside bar that overlooks beautiful manicured grounds that run down to the edge of a canal. It's a sublime location for an afternoon aperitif and far far from the madding crowds of downtown Amsterdam. Even if you're not staying in the hotel it's a must visit for rock history fans and a wonderful place to just relax and chill.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Patrick C,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Hilton Amsterdam!

The world famous John & Yoko Suite is one of our most spectacular suites; it has a great story behind it. Based on availability our concierge is more than happy to go give you a tour of this magnificent suite. The theatre view of the Garden Terrace is one of the best places in Amsterdam to enjoy afternoon drinks and relax in the sun.

I hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,504
    855
    268
    97
    43
See reviews for
384
1,109
143
740
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location of this hotel is about a 45-60 walk from the Dam, which is a bit of a hike. However, the tram is close by and gets you into the city quickly. The location is otherwise great, with restaurants not too far away near the museumplein. The staff are absolutely the top, as is the breakfast - a super hotel. The downfall is the price of drinks at the bar, horribly expensive - better to get a bottle of wine at the nearby Albert Heijn and have a drink in your room. Wi-Fi is free in the lobby/lounge areas so no need to pay for wi-fi in your room. A great hotel for groups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side, overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCMCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear JCMCannon,

Thank you for your review regarding Hilton Amsterdam!

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. As you mentioned the old city centre can be easily reached by tram 16 which departs right behind hotel. The museum district is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel, where you can enjoy beautiful art pieces in the Rijksmuseum or Van Gogh museum. I have personally thanked the team for their success to make you stay more comfortable.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a great stay here - the property had the layout of a 1970s hotel but it has been updated throughout. You can just see it in things like the elevators which are a bit slow. The rooms are good and we had a good view of the canal and marina at the back. The executive lounge on the top floor is worth a visit as it has great views.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear TravelAddictUK

Thank you for your great review of Hilton Amsterdam.

I am happy to hear that you had a great stay with our hotel. The architectural structure of the building is iconic for that time. It is also officially listed as a young monument by the Dutch national monuments organisation. This hotel had the pleasure to host the world-famous bed-in for peace in 1969. The John & Yoko suits is truly an oasis of peace, based upon availability you can always get a tour by our concierge.

I hope to get the chance to personally meet you during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a very poor experience here, mainly driven by high expectations I had for the price of the stay. Wifi was an extra cost at €25 a night, though free in the atrium this is of no use for business customers. If you are looking for a hotel in the area I would suggest looking close by at some of the less familiar named hotel for a third of the price you will get wifi, free bike hire and breakfast - and I'm talking €100 vs the late two hundreds charged at the Hilton.
The receptionists were average at best and my highlight of the stay was the bar staff - good humoured and great service. Perhaps the rest of the hotel team could learn a thing or two from them. Maybe clear...but I won't be back and if I visit the RAI again I will know to look at the other options in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal at the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Mark R,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

My apologies that your expectations were not met during your last stay with us. As you mentioned the Wi-Fi is complimentary in the public areas including Roberto’s restaurant and Half Moon Lounge. Might we have the opportunity to welcome you again then I would like to inform you about our business centre, where you have the possibility to use one of the computers or find a quiet working area. I have personally shared your positive comments with the bar team and they were honoured that they were specially mentioned in your review.

I wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again with us.

Greetings,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Amsterdam Hilton at the end of our vacation. The hotel is located in a nice quite neighborhood a short walk form the cit center and museum (the Rijks and Van Gogh). There are also several nice restaurants and cafes nearby. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear WJ_cox

What a great review about the Hilton Amsterdam, thank you!

I am happy that you took the time to acknowledge our team members and their efforts to deliver personal and attentive service. The museum district is on only 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel. In addition to that Hilton Amsterdam is surrounded by several bars and restaurants as you mention. Did you know that in addition to the world famous John & Yoko suite we also have a themed Van Gogh room inspired by the ‘Sterrenacht’ (The Starry Night). We are very proud and would like to show it to you during your next visit.

I hope to get the opportunity to meet you again in the near future.

Greetings,
Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our family stayed here over the Easter weekend and left with very mixed feelings about this hotel.

It is nice to stay somewhere a bit out of the Centre but close enough to walk where you want to go or jump on a tram. It is certainly a quieter location with some pretty views. The staff were lovely to the kids and they enjoyed their chocolate eggs!

But our adjoining rooms felt a bit tired and the beds were possibly the most uncomfortable we have ever had the misfortune to sleep on. They were like camp beds. Breakfast was always a bit manic and there was never enough fresh fruit. We ate in the restaurant one evening and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and wine.

So a bit of a mixed bag for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Lisa S,

Thank you for your nice words and fantastic feedback about Hilton Amsterdam.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is located near all facilities you might need. Tram line 16, which departs behind the hotel, takes you right into the City centre. Tickets can be purchased in the tram. Please ensure you carry some change. If you plan to travel for more than an hour I would advise to purchase a 24H ticket at our concierge desk. I have thanked the team personally for the effort they have taken to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Your feedback regarding the bed and the breakfast helps us to constantly improve our services and facilities. The team of Roberto’s restaurant was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our “Pura Cucina Italiana”.

I hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of my relocation package to the Netherlands, prior to moving into my apartment. I chose the Hilton as it was in the area I wanted to live in as an expat (South) and I had visited once before.

This time the hotel disappointed me. It was very noisy the first night with drunk people arriving back at 1am and shouting. The walls seemed paper thin. The hotel charges 25 euros per day for wifi, which did not work well and certainly not well enough to stream anything.

On the second morning I decided to use the gym. There is an additional charge of 15 euros for each visit. The running machine kept cutting out after 1 minute, so I asked the staff to verify I was using it correctly (which I was). I tried a second machine, which also didn't work properly. At that point I gave up.

After two days I asked my company to move me to a different hotel as I was fed up and felt it was not good value. I had a great time at the Movenpick for the remainder of my time staying in hotels, prior to moving into my own place.

I can't comment on the food / beverages as I did not eat there (and breakfast was not included in my rate).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woganmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Woganmog,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not fully met during your stay. I have followed up with the Personal Health Club; please accept my sincere apologies. Thanks to your feedback we have been able to identify and solve the issue. I have personally made note of your comments regarding the Wi-Fi. Internet is complimentary in all of our public areas including the restaurant and bar. Please feel free to contact me personally for any questions you may have.

I hope to get the chance to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing