We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton in Amsterdam”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very nice hotel with excellent staff and a very helpful concierge. Buffet breakfast was very good. Lovely quite area with great restaurants, a very delicious chocolate store and a supermarket that everything we needed. We also enjoyed eating at an organic cafe, 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Jumping on a tram was easy to take you into the museums and sites of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna8587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Donna8587

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam!

I enjoyed that you find our hotel comfortable and nice. The way you explained the location is exactly how we experience it as well. The convenience of having everything within walking distance is a unique factor of Hilton Amsterdam.

I hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 3,017 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We started our tour of Holland by staying at this very nice hotel. My room looked out on a park and we were in a suburban setting. We could walk to restaurants and a small supermarket to buy food.
This hotel definitely gets my highest marks for being a fine place to stay. It looked out over a canal and a train station was about a block away that could take you right to the downtown. Breakfast was a good buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear PeonyRose,

Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Amsterdam!

What a wonderful reply you wrote, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. From the canal side of our hotel you have a stunning view over the old town of Amsterdam. I have personally thanked all staff for their efforts.

I hope to get the chance to welcome you during your next visit.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great hotel and wonderful staff. We had a canal view that was delightful. Located in a quiet neighborhood but with easy access to transportation and museums. Dining experience was delicious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank ConstantTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear ConstantTraveller,

Thank you for your kind words in your review about Hilton Amsterdam!

The view over the canal is stunning not only from your room but also from the Garden Terrace, where you can have canapés or drinks in the afternoon sun. Your positive recommendation as result of your experience is very much appreciated and has been shared with the entire culinary team.

I hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Without any research I selected this hotel because of my experiences with Hilton in the past. It was a delightful surprise to take in the wonderful park just a few blocks away and also the museum district and canal tours. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Paul H,

Thank you for writing a review about your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us. The location is convenient due to the fact that it provides you with several bars, restaurants, museums and parks within walking distance. I am happy that you have experienced it exactly that way.

Hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our first visit to the Hilton, and our overall impression was that all the employees, no matter whether they were the Hotel Manager or Housekeeping staff, Restaurant team or Concierge, couldn’t do enough to ensure that our time in the hotel met the exacting standards for which this particular chain is so proud.

We realise that every company, whether a hotel or other commercial organisation, will make mistakes from time to time, but what is vitally important is how those mistakes are recognised and then rectified. It was reassuring to see that despite the corporate branding, that when we brought some issues to the attention of Alessio Colavecchio (Hotel Manager) and Sara Facheris (Front Desk Manager), that they did not lose sight of the fact that the personal touch is still crucial to the operation and that a very satisfactory resolution was found.

The icing on the cake was when they discovered that it was our Wedding Anniversary, and then went the extra mile which was a total and very pleasant surprise to us.

Although the hotel is located about a 20 minute tram ride away (route 16 on the Emmastraat stop) from the station, it felt more relaxing to be away from the relative bustle of the city centre (although we feel that Amsterdam could never be described as bustling when compared with Paris or London!).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrelcoConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear PrelcoConsulting,

It was a pleasure to have the chance to talk to you both personally on your second day. A huge thank you for providing us the chance to make it right at first occasion. Once again our congratulations with your anniversary.

I hope to have the chance of meeting you soon during your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warm greetings,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I never actually stayed here but wanted to visit as it's were John and Yoko had their famous bed-in back in 1969, as the Vietnam War raged. It's an amazing hotel - at the rear there is an outside bar that overlooks beautiful manicured grounds that run down to the edge of a canal. It's a sublime location for an afternoon aperitif and far far from the madding crowds of downtown Amsterdam. Even if you're not staying in the hotel it's a must visit for rock history fans and a wonderful place to just relax and chill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Patrick C,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Hilton Amsterdam!

The world famous John & Yoko Suite is one of our most spectacular suites; it has a great story behind it. Based on availability our concierge is more than happy to go give you a tour of this magnificent suite. The theatre view of the Garden Terrace is one of the best places in Amsterdam to enjoy afternoon drinks and relax in the sun.

I hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location of this hotel is about a 45-60 walk from the Dam, which is a bit of a hike. However, the tram is close by and gets you into the city quickly. The location is otherwise great, with restaurants not too far away near the museumplein. The staff are absolutely the top, as is the breakfast - a super hotel. The downfall is the price of drinks at the bar, horribly expensive - better to get a bottle of wine at the nearby Albert Heijn and have a drink in your room. Wi-Fi is free in the lobby/lounge areas so no need to pay for wi-fi in your room. A great hotel for groups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side, overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCMCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear JCMCannon,

Thank you for your review regarding Hilton Amsterdam!

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. As you mentioned the old city centre can be easily reached by tram 16 which departs right behind hotel. The museum district is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel, where you can enjoy beautiful art pieces in the Rijksmuseum or Van Gogh museum. I have personally thanked the team for their success to make you stay more comfortable.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#28 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,575 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#197 of 374 in Amsterdam
44 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,940 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £150 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing