We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive But Worth It”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive But Worth It”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is truly a business travellers hotel and for us is not in the best location in Amsterdam if you need to get to the city center; taxi round trip will cost about $90 USD. The staff couldn't have been nicer and many thanks to Paul who checked us in for his recommendations were second to none. The room was our introduction to US style accommodations after spending 2.5 weeks in European style rooms, and frankly we missed the European style rooms minus the badey. The other draw back to this location is that you are almost forced to eat on site which is very expensive, but when the weather is bad and you have to walk 10-15 minutes in the rain, well it was worth the cost.

Room Tip: Room 619 has a great canal & city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvintm009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Marvintm009,

Thank you for letting us know how we are meeting your expectations.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the services and facilities at Hilton Amsterdam. I have personally thanked Paul for his excellent service. The hotel is located in the most upscale area of the city and provides all the facilities you might need. The museum district, restaurants and bars are within walking distance. You can easily take tram line 16, which departs right behind the hotel, to take you into the city centre for only €2.80. Our concierge will be more than happy to support you with any requests you may have during your next visit.

I hope this reply find you well and we may welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,502
    855
    268
    97
    43
See reviews for
384
1,108
143
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here on a romantic trip. Our room was large,clean with everything included. A pleasant outlook over tree lined avenue with a lovely walk to Dam Square. I would recommend a stay here at any time.

Room Tip: Any room would suit as very clean and spacious just what you would expect from the Hilton Chain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Gwen M,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

I glad to hear that our services and facilities met your approval. I have shared you positive comment regarding your stay with the team and they were delighted to hear that they are acknowledged. Thank you for your recommendation.

I hope we can welcome you again with us soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very much a 60's style hotel in architecture but modernised and upgraded. Rooms are quite small but functional. The club lounge on the roof is a nice escape for cocktails or breakfast - although the menu has never changed in 3 years. The Italian restaurant is highly rated and very good. Food in the bar is also very good. Attached health club is excellent, and there is a park (Vongel) very close where you can run/walk/bike.

Neighbourhood is very chic with nice houses and cute restaurants.

Easy walk to business district at World Trade Centre or the station there.

Service is very professional and efficient - staff are nice and friendly.

Prices are high - but this is Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaudi993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Jaudi993

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and letting us know how we are meeting you expectations.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Amsterdam. The hotel opened in 1962 by Conrad Hilton. It is also rated as young monument since 2013.

Hilton Amsterdam is only on 10 minutes walking distance from the Museum square, ‘Vondelpark’ and many other attractions.

I have personally shared your positive comments regarding the service with the team and I hope to welcome you again soon with us.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
490 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here when on business in Amsterdam. The room was quite large and very nice. Although a King bed consists of 2 smaller beds pushed together. The location was nice, as well. It was a very pretty walk through the adorable streets and homes to get to the convention center. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel7723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear RovingAVP,

Thank you for leaving a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have King size beds consisting of two smaller beds, but most of our rooms have one big bed. For your next visit we can make sure you will get a King size bed. The location in the most upscale region of Amsterdam ‘ Oud-Zuid’ provides you with all facilities you might need and it is good to hear you also experienced it that way.

I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

CK in - smooth and professional - Arrived 10:00am; room not ready but they checked us in and gave us several options on nearby stores, restaurants. We decided to stay put at the hotel lounge and was given a couple of complimentary coupons.
Check out - Went smooth and all was in order.
Room – spacious and comfortable.
Bed - very comfortable.
Bath – Steamy hot water and great water pressure.
Lounge – Very comfortable and the staff was wonderful. A special shout out to Khalil and Laura for their outstanding customer service, they went out of their way to anticipate our needs. (We hope you enjoyed the tulips)
Most visitors seemed to be business and conference attendees.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice - we had a canal view room but truth is we were not in there long enough to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuzzyBee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear BuzzyBee_9,

Many thanks for your detailed review of Hilton Amsterdam!

I have personally thanked the team and they were honoured to hear that their efforts are acknowledged. Every feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we provide to our guests.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just back from Amsterdam! Hilton was great! Very friendly for pets! With really nice patio with the canal view, you can take a boat ride right from this place. Very nice bar on the first floor. What a surprise was when I found Hillinger's wine in mini bar! You have to taste it - Small Hill! Austrian product- really good. Staff is absolutely welcome!
Close to the park, shopping street & Van Gogh museum. Huge parking is a plus for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Hilton Amsterdam

It is great to hear to you had such a pleasant stay with us. The theatre view from the Garden Terrace over the marina and garden is one of our most beautiful views. Did you know that, if the weather permits it, we also have a special River Dining experience right at the canal?
I hope we can welcome you soon again and show you what more the city of Amsterdam has to offer.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,772 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was in Amsterdam for a convention. I stayed at the Amsterdam Hilton. The hotel was very nice. The staff was very nice. It was a nice walk through the neighborhood to the convention center. I also walked back through a large park to the museum district and across all the canals. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostALot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear RovingCOO,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Hilton Amsterdam.

I am happy to hear to you enjoyed you stay with us. I have personally thanked the staff for their efforts to deliver the best service possible. The Vondelpark and the Museum District are within walking distance and give you a great impression of Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing