We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,195)
Filter reviews
3,195 results
Traveller rating
1,768
966
303
109
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,768
966
303
109
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungejohn lennonhalf moon loungediamond memberonocanal viewcity centreresidential areaminute walkquiet locationjunior suitetop floorwonderful hotelvan gogh museumtram stopmuseum quarterpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
1,598 - 1,603 of 3,195 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our first visit to the Hilton, and our overall impression was that all the employees, no matter whether they were the Hotel Manager or Housekeeping staff, Restaurant team or Concierge, couldn’t do enough to ensure that our time in the hotel met the exacting standards for which this particular chain is so proud.

We realise that every company, whether a hotel or other commercial organisation, will make mistakes from time to time, but what is vitally important is how those mistakes are recognised and then rectified. It was reassuring to see that despite the corporate branding, that when we brought some issues to the attention of Alessio Colavecchio (Hotel Manager) and Sara Facheris (Front Desk Manager), that they did not lose sight of the fact that the personal touch is still crucial to the operation and that a very satisfactory resolution was found.

The icing on the cake was when they discovered that it was our Wedding Anniversary, and then went the extra mile which was a total and very pleasant surprise to us.

Although the hotel is located about a 20 minute tram ride away (route 16 on the Emmastraat stop) from the station, it felt more relaxing to be away from the relative bustle of the city centre (although we feel that Amsterdam could never be described as bustling when compared with Paris or London!).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrelcoConsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear PrelcoConsulting,

It was a pleasure to have the chance to talk to you both personally on your second day. A huge thank you for providing us the chance to make it right at first occasion. Once again our congratulations with your anniversary.

I hope to have the chance of meeting you soon during your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warm greetings,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I never actually stayed here but wanted to visit as it's were John and Yoko had their famous bed-in back in 1969, as the Vietnam War raged. It's an amazing hotel - at the rear there is an outside bar that overlooks beautiful manicured grounds that run down to the edge of a canal. It's a sublime location for an afternoon aperitif and far far from the madding crowds of downtown Amsterdam. Even if you're not staying in the hotel it's a must visit for rock history fans and a wonderful place to just relax and chill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Patrick C,

Thank you for your fantastic review of Hilton Amsterdam!

The world famous John & Yoko Suite is one of our most spectacular suites; it has a great story behind it. Based on availability our concierge is more than happy to go give you a tour of this magnificent suite. The theatre view of the Garden Terrace is one of the best places in Amsterdam to enjoy afternoon drinks and relax in the sun.

I hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Hilton Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location of this hotel is about a 45-60 walk from the Dam, which is a bit of a hike. However, the tram is close by and gets you into the city quickly. The location is otherwise great, with restaurants not too far away near the museumplein. The staff are absolutely the top, as is the breakfast - a super hotel. The downfall is the price of drinks at the bar, horribly expensive - better to get a bottle of wine at the nearby Albert Heijn and have a drink in your room. Wi-Fi is free in the lobby/lounge areas so no need to pay for wi-fi in your room. A great hotel for groups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side, overlooking the canal.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCMCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear JCMCannon,

Thank you for your review regarding Hilton Amsterdam!

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. As you mentioned the old city centre can be easily reached by tram 16 which departs right behind hotel. The museum district is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel, where you can enjoy beautiful art pieces in the Rijksmuseum or Van Gogh museum. I have personally thanked the team for their success to make you stay more comfortable.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a great stay here - the property had the layout of a 1970s hotel but it has been updated throughout. You can just see it in things like the elevators which are a bit slow. The rooms are good and we had a good view of the canal and marina at the back. The executive lounge on the top floor is worth a visit as it has great views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear TravelAddictUK

Thank you for your great review of Hilton Amsterdam.

I am happy to hear that you had a great stay with our hotel. The architectural structure of the building is iconic for that time. It is also officially listed as a young monument by the Dutch national monuments organisation. This hotel had the pleasure to host the world-famous bed-in for peace in 1969. The John & Yoko suits is truly an oasis of peace, based upon availability you can always get a tour by our concierge.

I hope to get the chance to personally meet you during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a very poor experience here, mainly driven by high expectations I had for the price of the stay. Wifi was an extra cost at €25 a night, though free in the atrium this is of no use for business customers. If you are looking for a hotel in the area I would suggest looking close by at some of the less familiar named hotel for a third of the price you will get wifi, free bike hire and breakfast - and I'm talking €100 vs the late two hundreds charged at the Hilton.
The receptionists were average at best and my highlight of the stay was the bar staff - good humoured and great service. Perhaps the rest of the hotel team could learn a thing or two from them. Maybe clear...but I won't be back and if I visit the RAI again I will know to look at the other options in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal at the back of the hotel...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Mark R,

Thank you for your detailed review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

My apologies that your expectations were not met during your last stay with us. As you mentioned the Wi-Fi is complimentary in the public areas including Roberto’s restaurant and Half Moon Lounge. Might we have the opportunity to welcome you again then I would like to inform you about our business centre, where you have the possibility to use one of the computers or find a quiet working area. I have personally shared your positive comments with the bar team and they were honoured that they were specially mentioned in your review.

I wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again with us.

Greetings,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews