We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little way out of the way”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
1,400 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“A little way out of the way”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Boy what a great hotel this is. There is a canal right behind hotel which makes it feel very Amsterdam. the hotel feels new and is extremely clean. The lobby is big and airy. The staff is absolutely the very best

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Emil,

Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Amsterdam!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. The view on the canal is beautiful especially with the view of the old town just behind it, definitely worth a picture. I have shared you positive comments with the Team and they were delighted to hear that their efforts are acknowledged.

I would like to inform you that on the intersection just behind the hotel tram 16 departs and takes you into the city centre within 10 minutes.

I truly hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,502
    855
    268
    97
    43
See reviews for
384
1,108
143
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Up North
Level Contributor
220 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Firstly the good stuff - the lobby of the hotel and all of the corporate facilities were great, as was the food and also the staff - no complaints here at all. The room was okay and nice enough in terms of space, facilities and so on. It had everything you needed which is good.

There is a gym but apparently it's not owned by the Hilton so you have to pay for it....fair enough but it's €17 for 24 hours! I have stayed in hotels where you pay for a gym but it's usually a token gesture €5 or something as you'll only really be using it the once...€17 is ridiculous. Also, the wifi is not free either which is should be...in ALL hotels.

The location of the hotel is lovely but having said that a few locals said that for tourists it was potentially a little far out of town. I was here on a conference so didn't notice but maybe I would think twice if I were visiting the city on holiday. I think I would want to be more central.

Overall it's a nice hotel but I think it's overpriced for what you get. If the Trumps and Sheratons of the world can offer decent fitness facilities, free internet and good quality rooms why can't the Hilton. They need to stop charging for their name and start to consider what's important to all travellers, business and tourists alike.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are quiet so you shouldn't have a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheesecake0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Cheesecake,

Thank you for your detailed review regarding you last stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

I am taking you comments regarding the pricing very seriously and have immediately discussed them with the Team for future developments.

The location of the hotel is suiting both leisure and business guests, as the hotel lies exactly between the business district and old city centre. By tram it is only a 10 minute drive to the old city centre and all major museums are within walking distance.

I have personally shared your positive comments with the team and hope to welcome you again with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I returned from Amsterdam yesterday after a 4 day break, on our last day we wanted to cool off on the terrace bar of this fine hotel, we then ordered 2 tonic waters with ice and lemon, the service was excellent, however we were shocked to see that our bill for these bog standard drinks was €16.
By any standards that is excessive unless you are on expenses of course.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mr Jacksand,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us. I am taking your comments regarding the pricing into account and have shared them with the management team for future developments. Your positive comments regarding the service have been shared with the Half Moon Lounge team and they were delighted to hear that they were acknowledged.

I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

this hotel was our first stay in amsterdam ,lovely situation green belt in front of us .the service rooms breakfast were of a very high standard ,and the prices excellent ,cannot rate the hotel highly enough.as we were part of a tour group we opted for the hilton instead of the tour groups choice ,and were really very happy.easy walking distance of the centre of town.recommended highly.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to overlook the park,in front,lovely outside patio for a drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Micheal Hilton,

Many thanks for your positive review of Hilton Amsterdam.

Your positive words and recommendation finds me well. Sharing such a great review with our Team gives me great joy. It works as motivation for us to hear that we are doing well and that our hard work is appreciated.

Might I recommend to try the Garden Terrace upon your next visit? Here you can enjoy a theatre view over our beautiful garden and it is an excellent place to enjoy the afternoon sun.

I hope to get the chance to personally meet you during your next visit.

Wishing you all the best,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Amsterdam is expensive but a Hilton away from the city center was great. Easy tram and bus transportation to major sites & downtown, close walks to great local restaurants. Buy daily tram pass in gift shop. Concierge's local restaurant recommendations were great.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Larry,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that our services and facilities met your approval. I have personally shared you recommendations with our concierge team. We place great value on your opinion and hope we may look forward to welcoming you again the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for a few days on business and enjoyed my stay.
Pros: Great location on a canal with nice gardens . Room overlooked Amsterdam and location was convenient to walk into town without being in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. Rooms were well appointed. Gym was attached to hotel and looked like it has a lot of decent workout facilities although I never had the chance to use them. Food served at conferences was good

Cons: Beds were very hard surprising given the trend to softer 'heavenly' type beds by the major chains. Front desk was overwhelmed at times and did not answer the phone when I rang down.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors with a view facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Chriw,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Amsterdam!

It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your last stay with us. We are proud of the hotel's location, located just between the business district and the old town it provides our guests with everything they need.

Your comment regarding the beds and the Front Desk are taken into account and shared within the team. All our beds have super toppers to increase comfort and to find the right balance between support and softness. I hope we can make your next stay more comfortable.

Wishing you all the best from Amsterdam,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there two nights a week or so ago. Very nice. Service was outstanding. Beautiful views of the canal. Room was clean and pretty good. Location is a little far from the nightlife but taxis or the tram is easily available. The tram can easily take you to the museum area and central Amsterdam. More of a business hotel but I had a great experience. However be prepared to drop some Euros if you want food or drink.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jman4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jman,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our services and facilities. I have immediately shared your positive comments with the Team and they were happy to hear that their efforts paid off. Our gift shop sells 24H public transport access tickets, which are very convenient for city exploration.

I hope we may welcome you again with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing