We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The room was a good size and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I did not think that the location was excellent but the hotel was still fairly easily accessible via tram. I knew that it wasn't smack bang in the city center so I could not really complain. If you are in Amsterdam for a few days and have enough time then this is a good hotel but if you are here for a weekend, I would not recommend due to the location. Wi-fi is at a cost which I didn't think was great considering almost all hotels I had been to in Europe do not charge for it.

There was a pizza box left in our minibar (must have been from a previous guest). This was not a big deal to us as these things happen. We mentioned it to the staff at Reception and when we returned to our room later that day, the box had been removed and we had received a lovely gift from the Hotel to apologize.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looch00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. Looch00,

Thank you for leaving a review of Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

It is delightful to read that you experienced the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Reading that our Team Members at Reception took excellent care of the situation with your mini-bar is wonderful. It are those small gestures that can make your stay worth remembering.

The hotel is indeed easily accessible by public transport and conveniently located from nearby tram stops and a train station with a direct line to Schiphol Airport. The lovely upscale neighbourhood gives direct access to main tourist attractions like Museum Square and Vondelpark, within walking distance. Did you know that you could also explore Amsterdam ‘the Dutch way’ by renting a bicycle from our concierges?

I would like to inform you that we offer complimentary Wi-Fi access in our public areas, including Roberto’s Restaurant and the Half Moon Lounge.

We hope that we will be your first choice again for your future visit to Amsterdam and will be ready to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,399 - 1,405 of 3,015 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hilton Amsterdam on Apollolaan - July 2014

Spectacular: July 2014

I am a Hilton diamond member. I have been fortunate enough to experience many interesting Hilton properties. The Hilton Amsterdam is one of the best Hilton Hotels that I have ever experienced.

We arrived at the Hilton Amsterdam on Apololaan at approximately 9:30AM, which was earlier than we expected. Upon checking-in at the reception desk, we were offered free breakfast in the hotel's Roberto restaurant.

Breakfast:
We enjoyed a terrific buffet breakfast on the restaurant's terrace. The quality of the food is superb. The restaurant staff was extremely cheerful, and helpful. They made us feel welcomed, and feel as valued guests in their hotel.

Restaurant:
The hotel restaurant is beautifully laid out. The staff is welcoming, attentive and most importantly friendly. The quality of the food is wonderful!

Lobby:
The hotel lobby is open, and bright, and beautiful, and spacious.

Every time we walked by the reception desk the staff greeted us cheerfully, by name. This was greatly appreciated.

Guest room:
The hotel room itself was fabulous, exceptionally clean and comfortable. The bathroom was fully appointed with fluffy robes and slippers, and large thick towels.

Terrace and Canal:
The back of the hotel is as beautiful, or more beautiful than the front of the hotel. The back of the hotel is on a scenic canal. The stepped terrace has beautiful seating for dining, or enjoying the serene environment with drinks, while watching canal boats glide along. The hotel has a private marina where various vessels docked.

Executive Lounge:
The rooftop executive lounge is wonderful. Everything is complimentary. Delicious Dutch specialities are hot, and the beer/wine is chilled on ice. Spirits are also available complimentary, I prefer Belgian or Dutch beer over hard-drinks. The sofa seating is very comfortable.

Tram:
The Amsterdam tram is a short two-block walk from the hotel to the Apollolaan tram stop. Tram tickets are conveniently available in the hotel's gift shop. The museums are only two stops away from the hotel. The world famous Van Gogh Museum, and other museums, are very walkable from the hotel. You can reach the Anne Frank House via tram.

Best Experience:
Chef Paul walked through the restaurant greeting everyone at breakfast. He took the time to sit with us and explain the offerings and the preparations. The Chef is from Los Angeles, and has been in The Netherlands for 30+ years with Hilton. The experience with Chef Paul was wonderful! I will try to include our photo with Chef Paul.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeffery E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mr. Jeffery E,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this extensive review of our hotel and uploading your photos to support the description of your experience with us.

I cannot describe enough how proud and grateful we are with these kind words of a valued guest like yourself. Especially all praise of our Team Members are of true significance to me. They are the ones who help our guests to create stories and everlasting memories. Being recognized is their greatest reward and having read your review fills them with the warmth of hospitality. Breakfast chef Johnny (not Paul) is one of the gems who is very precious to us.

Mr. Jeffery, we all hope to be able to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Warm regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great hotel in the heart of Amsterdam and topped with great set of team helping you in any way possible. Highly recommended. Set on a river with beautiful surroundings and Short distance to good restaurants and close to a park for activities and a good walk to heart of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Aziz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mr. Aziz Z,

Thank you kindly for reviewing our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and delights us. The kind words about the team are well received by our Team Members. They take great pride in delivering exceptional service.

Did you know that the Vondelpark, which is indeed steps away, is already 150 years old?

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Away from the bustle of central Amsterdam, right on a canal, with lovely views, the hotel was a perfect choice for a quick stay in the city. It's located close to a tram stop, so very easy to get around the city. The staff was very pleasant, and Roberto's restaurant in the hotel was excellent - both for breakfast and for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Erika439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Ms. Erika439,

It is great to read that you discovered Hilton Amsterdam and we would like to thank you for writing a review about your stay.

Our hotel is indeed situated in a charming neighbourhood away from the busy city centre and close to exciting tourist attractions.

Our Team Members are honoured to craft the stage so that our Guests can write their stories and create everlasting memories, they are truly outstanding.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was a great hotel. The rooms are large and quiet and comfortable. We really enjoyed the hotel bar and being on the end of the canal. The setting was beautiful and tranquil. We booked an upgrade so that breakfast was included. This saved money in the long run. Gio was very very helpful in advising us of how to get into town. It was an easy trip on the tram into the center of town. Amsterdam is an easy and beautiful city to explore. Don't fear the Red Light district. It is a great place to explore and there are nice places for dinner. Chinatown is also nearby. The Hilton is located in a quiet neighborhood and it was a nice place to return to after sightseeing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brendainoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Ms. brendainoh,

What a wonderful review of Hilton Amsterdam!

We are truly delighted that you have found our hotel to be an excellent choice for your visit to Amsterdam.

Gio takes great pride in showing you the most beautiful sites to visit in Amsterdam and how to get there. It is indeed really easy and it takes you through the lovely neighbourhood that we are situated in.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for a weekend and the hotel is wonderful. The staff are charming and the location of the hotel is perfect if you don’t want to be in the heart of a city centre but away from the hustle and bustle. Located on a canal the hotel is perfect for a quiet weekend away but is close enough (a short tram ride) into the heart of Amsterdam. The room, overlooking the canal was wonderful, the bed comfortable and the room spotless. The only downside was that the drinks were very expensive in the hotel, the cheapest bottle of red was 50 Euros, soft drinks were very expensive as well. Apart from that I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Go for a Canal facing room if you can. It is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JameskKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mr. JameskKent,

What a nice review of Hilton Amsterdam!

It is wonderful to read how you have enjoyed our services and facilities. The location of our hotel is indeed perfect. It is, as you mentioned, in a quiet residential neighbourhood with all attractions easy accessible. Renting a bicycle from our concierge is a fun, Dutch way to explore the city.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a short but very pleasant stay. Although the weather was uncooperative, the hotel staff were cheery and very helpful. Room was large and comfortable. Had comfortable time in bar with attentive staff. Restaurant had excellent menu and was great fun. Very good value

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Dennis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mr. Dennis I,

Thank you for your kind words about Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that our Team Members were cheery and helpful. Did you know that we change our menu in Roberto’s Restaurant every quarter?

We hope that the weather will be good on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#28 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,573 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#205 of 374 in Amsterdam
43 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,939 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £131 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing