We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite and nice”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #43 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a good choice for whom prefer quite mor than attraction. Large room compare to Amsterdam hotels. Looks like great. Friendly and helpful staff. Executive lounge nice but very small. The area very quite. Far from tourist activities. I believe this hotel good for relax and business. I really enjoyed so much. Thank you

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Mohamed-Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Mr. Mohammed-S,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your last stay with us. Your positive comments regarding the service and facilities have been shared with the team and they were delighted to hear that they were acknowledged.

I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 3,115 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here Fri, 07/09/10 - Sun, 07/11/10 for a bachelor party, the hotel is a solid 20 minute walk to downtown Amsterdam but u can hop on the tram to get there in a couple of minutes, we had two rooms one was just a standard room with two double beds and then we had another room with one king bed and a wrapping balcony and just a king bed and a pull out. The service at the hotel is better then most Hiltons Ive stayed in north America, we had a bowl of fresh fruits in our rooms every morning, also the maids never expected a tip but we left one anyway every morning. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a bit of luxury on a euro trip that is trying to stay as close to downtown Amsterdam but without the crazy busy hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: Higher floors with wrapping balconies allow for a great view of the city of amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Maseeh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Maseeh S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay so much. Your detailed feedback about how you have experienced you stay have been forwarded to the team.

Thank you for your comments about the quality of the room, as it is one of our top priorities.
We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is not overrun by tourists, probably because it's a pretty good hike the nearest tourist attractions--and that, to me, is a good thing. Even though we were there as tourists ourselves, it's nice to come back to a first-class hotel that's not crowded with people frantically trying to squeeze in all of Amsterdam's tourist spots. The staff was universally friendly and helpful, particularly the young woman who ran the lobby coffee shop. The concierge helped to arrange tram tickets. provided maps and good advice, except for one restaurant recommendation, which was disastrously bad. The room was up to date and very well maintained. As others have noted, in-room Wi-Fi is expensive, but we had no problem using the free lobby Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TBearden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear TBearden,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay so much. Your detailed feedback about how you have experienced you stay helps us to keep improving our services. Especially your comment about the hotel recommendation is something I discussed with our concierge department.

Furthermore, I have personally shared your comments with our Team Members.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellency guaranteed...I needed a place to chill out for a moment, it was just like coming home in my guestland. Magnificent location, heart of the history of Amsterdam, near fine restaurants, nightclubs and banks. Don't need to go out of the way to find something to do and ease the time out. Next time I would love to bring my kids, should have local people find out what there is around to do for kids, boattrips are ok but don't let them run around in museums, might be a bore...kids need to play, what to do for them...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Anuradha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Anuradha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay so much. Your detailed feedback about how you have experienced you stay helps us to keep improving our services. The location of the hotel is indeed one of the strong points. Just a 10 minute walk to the Museum District with all cultural activities you would need and a stone throw away from several nice restaurants and shops. I have personally shared your comments with our Team Members.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel and the rooms are okay, but not like a 5-star hotel. I've stayed in much better 4-star or even 3-star hotels before. Location is not convenient at all, remote from the city center. The most ridiculous thing is that internet is extremely expensive. I remember that WIFI was said to be free of charge in the lobby area, but we were never able to connect. We're living in the 21st century and one of the largest hotel chains worldwide should be aware of this.
Moreover, I'm used to very friendly people in the Netherlands. However, the staff here appeared a little arrogant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DenDen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear DenDen123,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

The location of our hotel is indeed not in the centre of Amsterdam, but in a more quiet and upscale residential area of the city. Whenever you would stay with us next time, our concierges would be happy to assist you in finding suitable transport options. For example, tram 5 and 24 stop just around the corner and can take you to the historical city centre within 10 minutes. A nice walk could also be an option since a route to the centre can be found trough the Vondelpark.

I would like to offer our apologies about the Wi-Fi inconvenience. I discussed your comments on this with our technological department for further development. Furthermore, we are sorry to read that you have experienced our Team Members this way. Usually our outgoing Team Members are praised for their friendly service.

I truly hope to have a chance to meet you personally during your next visit.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed on short trip to Amsterdam with family. The hotel was conveniently situated in a quiet residential area away from the hustle and bustle of central Amsterdam. Lots of places to eat and drink in the nearby streets and just a short walk to the trams or to Zuid station for airport. Our booking included access to Executive Lounge on roof which offered complimentary drinks, snacks and breakfast. This saved us a few bob during stay as we got this on a good rate. However, the hotel bars and restaurants are very expensive so beware when buying drinks in the other bars. Free internet access was provided in public areas, but 25 euros a day if you wanted this in your room. You would expect this to be included nowadays. On the whole a comfortable three nights stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Roger C,

Thank you for your great review of Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay so much. The location of our hotel is indeed one of our strong points. Did you know that you can buy public transport tickets at our concierges? Furthermore, they would also be happy to assist you with up-to-date time schedules of this public transport.

When taking a walk to the city centre we also recommend a route through the Vondel parc, it offers you a great natural experience within 5 minutes from the hotel.

Your detailed feedback about how you have experienced you stay have been forwarded to the team.

We hope to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

1st the great aspects. We loved the location, lovely neighbourhood quiet and great views of the canal. 1 block to the tram and 2 stops to museumplein. Executive lounge is superb, great rooftop views of the city, lovely nibbles available from 6pm along with refreshments and alcohol. Beds are comfortable with choice of pillows so a great nights sleep really quiet on the canal side.
Now the less great aspects, leaky shower head in our executive room, holes in the bedding which really could do with replacing and breakfast was not the usual hilton standard. No "live cooking" and no menu to show that you can ask for food to order. We only realised on our last day that you could get omelettes, eggs to order, smoked salmon, waffles and maybe other stuff but they keep it quiet. Items weren't often replaced so there were frequently no yoghurts. Service was patchy and the tea was never hot enough or strong enough. Probably better for coffee drinkers as they seemed to have a better choice.
Shame these few things let down what could be an excellent hotel, we thought it was overpriced at 279 euros a night.

Room Tip: Canal side would be my choice, all floors are quiet, we were in 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bootooyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Bootooyoo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

The neighbourhood is indeed lovely: nice and quiet and still close to the city centre. The view over the area is best to be enjoyed from within our Executive Lounge.

I have shared your comments about your bathroom with the Engineering department, as this is not how we wish to deliver our rooms. In addition, I communicated your comments about the breakfast to our culinary team. It is very unfortunate that you haven’t been informed earlier about our great breakfast possibilities.

I hope to get a chance to meet you personally during your next stay in our hotel.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#51 of 376 in Amsterdam
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#30 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,654 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
579 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £133 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing