We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Richlandtown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The service was an unexpected pleasure! We arrived with champagne and chocolates in our room and a beautiful view of the canal. Our room was close to the elevator, which my partner despises because of the noise and we heard not a peep. Great sleeping!
The concierge was extremely helpful giving us great pointers on what to see during our short stay. We had drinks in the lounge with a fireplace and view of the canal and the friendliest staff! It was hard to leave the hotel! The restaurant was also top-notch Italian food!
The location is a bit of a hike from the center of Amsterdam, but the tram is very user friendly and saved us a bunch in taxi fares. It made us feel like the locals.
The neighborhood was safe and very beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richlandtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,552
    873
    275
    101
    45
See reviews for
399
1,148
145
758
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was the usual high Hilton standard and was apacious and elegant. Fittings in the bathroom were immaculately clean. We had a canal view room which had beautiful views from the huge window. A nice touch was having a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities which not all 5 star hotels have. Service throughout the hotel was good and the concierge's recommendation of nearby restaurants was spot on. We found the location absolutely fine and enjoyed being in a quieter area. The two different tram lines servicing the area enabled us to get anywhere we wanted quickly and easily. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank propmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The room was just beautiful- spacy, huge window with lovely sight on the canal. Location central enough and bikes are given for the Amsterdam feeling, which is really woth it because its anice way of sightseeing.Vondelpark is close by for jogging
What could have been better was the friendliness at the reception desk. And internet access was far too expensive- not unusual in hotels of this category.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotrotter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

As others have noted, this hotel is not "downtown" but it is a 10 minute walk to the major museums and a 10 min tram to the Damm. Since we had been traveling for two weeks and this was our last stop, we enjoyed the peace and quiet. It is in a real neighborhood with young families and neighborhood shopping. Gave me a feel for how the natives live. Also, a good selection of restaurants in the area including Pulpo and De Knijp (just be aware that the latter is popular on concert nights), both of which I would recommend.

The room we had was canal (and city) view. Very nice. Standard Hilton room, well appointed. My only complaint would be that there was no air conditioning and the room (with the standard European duvee) was hot. As noted by others, daily internet access fee was SUCH a rip off (E27). The concierge was very helpful - sold us tram and museum tickets (get the tickets before you go and you get to skip the lines!!) and arranged for a car to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We only spent 4 days at this hotel. The weather didn't help much - grey clouds and lots of rain. But the Hilton was, as one would expect of any Hilton, of a high standard, superlative service, constant stream of smiling faces. The Italian restaurant on the ground floor (sorry can't remember the name) got booked very quickly but we managed to get a table on the final night of our stay. We also used the hotel to obtain tickets for the two main museums and dinner on one of the canal cruises (which to me, was the highlight our trip!!). The only downside is that as we went with our teenage kids, of course, they found the whole thing too boring and both seemed to come alive when we went into town, so if we were to come here again, we would not come with them or choose a hotel that is not so conservative. Overall, my husband and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Reading Amsterdam hotel reviews gave me the chills (many near the canals, even 5-star ones, seemed to have cleanliness issues!) and after much deliberation, settled on bidding blindly on Priceline.

Pros:
- Very reasonable rates compared to other 5 and even 4 star hotels in AMS. 5-stars in the city center will run you about $300-400/night while this place only cost about $175/night.
- Not as charming as the hotels near the canals but you do get the comforts of a big hotel such as elevators (some in the canals don't and with having huge luggage, that would be an issue), larger rooms, etc.
- Clean throughout though decor a bit dated
- Nice, quiet neighborhood (surrounded by consulates and diplomat housing)

Cons:
- Quite far from the city center. You'll need a taxi or the tram to get you there. The tram is only a few blocks away so it's easy to navigate. If you're up for some walking, the Museum area is only about a 10-15 minute walk.
- No wifi! Absurd daily charge.
- Not very charming; again, the trade-off for getting the comforts of a big hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh and Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I loved the Hotel! It was not in the middle of everything but Amsterdam is small and a qucik jump on a tram and your in the middle of the best shopping and food i less the 5 mins so don't worry about that. After being around tons of people all day its nice to go back to the Hilton thats very clean and quite. Around the Hilton is some of the best views in Amsterdam at sunset walking around the canals!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmonster85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#25 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,443 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#75 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,837 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing