We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #252 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The location of this hotel in the centre of Amsterdam is great. Everything within walking distance. The hotel itself is OK. Standard rooms are small but clean. The breakfast is very good but expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,165 - 1,171 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2011

I stayed at the hotel from a training course, fortunately I found out before hand that breakfast would cost me E20 so I opted not to have the breakfast. You can get just an hour a day free wifi in the lobby anywhere else will cost you. and don't forget the tourist tax too.
The room was good although the grey decor and the grey hallways make it a little dark, the conference facilities good also but sometimes the service was lacking - forgetting to bring refreshments to the training room on several occassions and they seemed a little unsure what the plan was for lunch each day!!
For those who paid for breakfast apparantly I didn't miss anything.
By the way parking is E40 a day too.
Its in a great place to explore the city although I didn't have much time for that.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Definitely need renovations, but rooms were clean, and the one I got was good size (Deluxe Room, last floor with nice balcony).
I would recommend this hotel if you book a Deluxe room.
Staff was very friendly and useful.

Room Tip: 7th Floor, Deluxe Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotteurmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I stayed at the NH Carlton Amsterdam for a week and it was a pleasant experience. Great hotel, clean room, nice view - and best of all - central location. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel or stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deboralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Nicely located hotel next to the Flower Market and shopping. The hotel bridges a street and our rooms were directly on top so any conversations on the street carried straight up. The fan/air conditioning system in both rooms did not work. Would not recommend getting the breakfast there are two nice restaurants next to the flower market where you can eat for 7 euros vs the 15 euros at the hotel - granted the hotel is an all-you-can-eat buffet.

There was free wireless in the lobby.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
Thank RSNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Hotel was in a very good location, you almost don't need to use the tram if your staying here, most things are in walking distance. The reception and housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was ok, but could do with a refit, shabby decor and fittings, especially in the shower room. Noise wasn't an issue as im use to city centre living. There are some great mini supermarkets and cafes near by which we went to for breakfast so would reccommend going to these- a lot cheaper than the breakfast in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robrobLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I spent a lot of time trying to find a hotel with a central location, bathtub and a buffet breakfast as this were the kids requirements for the trip. As Amsterdam hotels are very expensive we also tried to find hotel for less than 200 euro pr night including breakfast and and extra bed for children, and this was not easy. However we got a de luxe room at NH Carlton for this price at the net, and the room was large (36 sq m), with a huge bed, huge bathroom with spa bath and separate shower and fantastic view. The decor was quite dull, but it was clean, and a worked great for a family. The kids loved the breakfast, but I thought the bacon was a bit cold and the cheese somewhat dry for a 4 star hotels breakfast. The location is fantastic with walking distance to all sites in Amsterdam. The smaller rooms looked a bit small, so I am not sure if I would recommend them (just looked inside when passing by), but the de luxe rooms are great for families.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hufsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#122 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,631 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#95 of 373 in Amsterdam
146 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,721 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#86 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £94 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing