We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL, GOOD STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #243 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Lovely hotel, upgrade to superior, lot of room and quiet. Hotel desk staff were very cooperative. Included breakfast was in a beautiful dining room, better than average for Europe, not as good as in the Orient.. Well located next to the flower marked. Short walking distance to just about everything. This was our second stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biglindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,487)
There are newer reviews for NH Carlton Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

This hotel is situated in a great position right by the flower market and probably almost in the middle of the city that you want to walk around, couldnt have been better. Stayed on the 5th floor and had a lovely room, beds comfy and clean, bathroom was a good size too. We didnt have much of a view as over looked an area in the middle and a multi storey carpark but I didnt go to Amsterdam to sit and look out of the window !! I have stayed in many a hotel in Amsterdam and this was the best I felt but was a little more expensive. I would definately stay here again. We didnt have the breakfast as was expensive and you can get more choice just a few places away for much less and have the choice you wish for. There is an additional tax to pay when leaving the hotel which I think was 5 Euros a night although I cant remember and it was only a few days ago, I didnt take much notice so it wasnt a great deal anyway. The hotel does have a bar but didnt use that either, all in all its worth going to if you want to wander around the city and the staff at reception were very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Higher floor as streets are busy
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelseabeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The location of this hotel in the centre of Amsterdam is great. Everything within walking distance. The hotel itself is OK. Standard rooms are small but clean. The breakfast is very good but expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I stayed at the hotel from a training course, fortunately I found out before hand that breakfast would cost me E20 so I opted not to have the breakfast. You can get just an hour a day free wifi in the lobby anywhere else will cost you. and don't forget the tourist tax too.
The room was good although the grey decor and the grey hallways make it a little dark, the conference facilities good also but sometimes the service was lacking - forgetting to bring refreshments to the training room on several occassions and they seemed a little unsure what the plan was for lunch each day!!
For those who paid for breakfast apparantly I didn't miss anything.
By the way parking is E40 a day too.
Its in a great place to explore the city although I didn't have much time for that.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Definitely need renovations, but rooms were clean, and the one I got was good size (Deluxe Room, last floor with nice balcony).
I would recommend this hotel if you book a Deluxe room.
Staff was very friendly and useful.

Room Tip: 7th Floor, Deluxe Rooms
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotteurmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I stayed at the NH Carlton Amsterdam for a week and it was a pleasant experience. Great hotel, clean room, nice view - and best of all - central location. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel or stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deboralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Nicely located hotel next to the Flower Market and shopping. The hotel bridges a street and our rooms were directly on top so any conversations on the street carried straight up. The fan/air conditioning system in both rooms did not work. Would not recommend getting the breakfast there are two nice restaurants next to the flower market where you can eat for 7 euros vs the 15 euros at the hotel - granted the hotel is an all-you-can-eat buffet.

There was free wireless in the lobby.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
Thank RSNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,583 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#119 of 371 in Amsterdam
984 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#97 of 371 in Amsterdam
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#150 of 371 in Amsterdam
85 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#133 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,628 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £105 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing