We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position good close to markets and museums”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #240 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cooroy, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Position good close to markets and museums”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Our room was ready when we arrived, earlier than check in time. Even though the hotel is dated its in a good position easy walking to city centre and museums. Have to mention the staff at the bar, friendly and happy. The room was larger than I expected. Will recomend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolLC_4563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    835
    627
    355
    201
See reviews for
258
1,006
128
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Our first visit to Amsterdam for my wife's birthday, we wanted a hotel within walking distance of the major attractions and this hotel certainly delivered, being situated next to the flower market. Our room was clean,situated at the rear of the hotel and had a decent bathroom,tv,mini bar and we also found a trouser press.The room was quiet, the facilities were good and the staff were all courteous and pleasant although there was a rather unpleasant smell in the downstairs lobby area.....
However...the beds were 2 singles pushed together and were hard.I think the previous owner was Fred Flintstone. My wife who suffers with her back, had to put the spare blankets on top of the mattress to soften it.
We stayed for 2 nights at a cost of 307 euros room only plus the local tax. This is expensive for what is being offered in my opinion and I do not put the quality of the hotel in a 4 star catagory. A £19 a night Travelodge would be better. Some new and comfortable beds would help bring this hotel up to standard and a general re-fit but as Amsterdam has such a large tourist population, most Hotels can fill up and charge what they like so I think the likelyhood of any improvements being made in the near future are remote whilst the money is pouring in.
I have stayed in much nicer b&b's at much cheaper rates so it was a dissapointment.
On the plus side, the location is good. We were able to visit all major attractions like Anne Frank house, Dam Sq.,Red Light District, Heineken Brewery and all within a short walk. Our overall experience of Amsterdam was good.
Would we return again? To Amsterdam, most certainly and we plan to return again at some point but would try to find a nicer place to stay.

Room Tip: Previous reviews have mentioned noise from outside. I can only say that our room looking out over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshiremanBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Teesside
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Very expensive at 170 euros / night. Hotel showing signs of its age and in need of refurbishment. Staff very friendly but always a queue at reception, 15 min wait to check out Sunday morning is in acceptable. Not worthy of 4 stars.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_UK_Comments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

not the first time around in amsterdam, but first time in carlton

could not have picked a better spot to stay, it is just located at the flower market and minutes away from center and the museums. with the tram right at the door step it makes it easy to get around in the city

we had a view on the street and though it is a busy street there was no noise in the room and we where able to get a good rest
the staff is extremaly professional and very friendly

we will be back for sure on the next city break

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMaxx_jps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Old and neglected building, stained carpets, minimal service and amenities...
Even if it is well positioned, it degrades your experience if you are discuisted of your room it hotel.
Staff is well meaning and tries however the building needs a major remodelling ASAP!
Overall, you can find better places for that price - avoid if you can.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudsuckerproxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hotel is well located, about a ten to fifteen minute walk from Amsterdam central station and the main attractions in the city.

The staff in the hotel were all helpful, polite and would smile as you passed them.

Our room was a fairly large double, with a huge balcony that over looked central Amsterdam and this really added to our experience. Everything was clean and tidy, the minibar was well stocked and our Tea/Coffee was restocked daily.

The breakfast was comprehensive and the breakfast room was pretty nice too.

We paid £200 for 3 nights in early January, I would have happily paid double for the hotels location and the standard of our room.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This hotel is well located and the rooms are spacious and good.
However, you are required to move your own luggage to your room and back.
There is no help on this count. Otherwise the staff is helpful and smiling.
It is advisable to book in advance as the walk in rates are very high depending on the demand.
We had a change of room though as the air conditioner was not ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNIL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,526 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 367 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#95 of 367 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#124 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,546 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#208 of 367 in Amsterdam
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing