We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam... is a must”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #240 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 November 2012

NH Carlton, Amsterdam is a hotel in a centre of Amsterdam, with a great location overlooking a floral market, very close to Rembrandtplein, good walking connection with famous Leidsepleine, Dam... The rooms are small, not so clean, but we were out all days, so , it was not so important... You have coffee/tea kettler in the room, wi-fi in the lobby area, cafeteria in the Hotel. I have stayed in much more exclusive and expensive hotels, yet, I fell in love with AMSTERDAM, so the hotel was the last thing on my mind... I have comfy mattresses at home, I don't have Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum, I don't have happy, shiny people all over the place (it was the Queen's Day and celebration all over), I don't have canal with little coffee shops... We have room without meal, and it was great decision, because all around the hotel you have so many options.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sladge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,488)
There are newer reviews for NH Carlton Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 2,489 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

Simply put one of the worst room I've have experienced. The marble basin had a big frontal piece broken and the brilliant solution was...putting some glue on it and attaching it back!
The heater near the shower leaked and was completely rusted, the door dirty, room furniture old and decaying. That said my room was priced at nearly 150 euros per night.

The last morning, as a farewell gift, I asked for a taxi at the reception and was told "Please stay inside we will tell you when it arrives". It was cold outside, what a nice thought...until, after 20 minutes and being late for my appointment, I discovered my taxi had not been reserved to me but could be freely highjacked (as it eventually happened) by other customers outside.

Shame on them.

Room Tip: Avoid room 512
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyBItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Hotel has a great location, but service and standard does not match the price we had to pay for a hotel room that was nothing but ok.

WLAN didn’t work and breakfast turned out to be twice the price we signed up for when we checked in – still the front desk staff at check-out didn’t budge and claimed that the misunderstanding was on us. That’s just too unprofessional…

We had a tired double room with a back yard view. If you’re staying here – ac. If you have a choice however – spend your money on a hotel that appreciates its guests more that the NH Carlton in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We had a tired double room with a back yard view, quiet but boring. If you’re staying here – ask for...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larsvedoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank TANJA P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed in NH carlton when its name was Jolly Carlton Hotel in 1997.
Now again, I Stayed in NH Carlton Amsterdam to get close to flower market as its location is attached to the flower market. No Bell boy helped me take our luggages to my room on the 6th floor, I brought 4 big luggages. I has an executive room, The bed (mattres) was not comfortable at all, after spending 3 nights in NH carlton, every morning I woke up with the backache. they might have been using the old mattres. The air conditioner was not working well, it was hot in the room. The location is perfect, surrounded by restaurant, cafe, supermarket, tram stop, kalverstraat etc. The wifi was free, the acces code was provided freely on the desk in the lobby are, everyone can easily take one, but the speed was slow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brahmana_Askandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carlajmandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 October 2012

On the plus side, the hotel is very centrally located next to the famous flower market and to the main shopping street and just a couple of minutes' walk to Rembrandt Square. My room was on the 7th floor so I had a nice view and was not disturbed by the street noise. Free wi-fi is now available in the hotel rooms as well as in the lobby - a password is valid for 24 hours. It was a bit slow but that could have been due to many people using it at night and in the morning.

The downside was that the furnishings were a bit dated. The white curtains looked dusty. The cleaning service emptied the rubbish bins and made the beds daily but left the bathtub and sink uncleaned some of the days.

I did not try their breakfast - there are lots of cafes in the area where you can have breakfast for less than 15 euros, which is what the hotel charges for it.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room on the top floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,584 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#118 of 371 in Amsterdam
986 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#97 of 371 in Amsterdam
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#152 of 371 in Amsterdam
85 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#134 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,631 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £105 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing