We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very dated and grubby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #252 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We booked this hotel as a 'Secret Hotel' on lastminute.com - which is meant to guarantee a 4 star hotel. 4 star hotel this is not!

It's very dated, only two smaller than average pillows on the bed (odd!), the mattresses were old and uncomfortable. Although we were in a non-smoking room, the shower curtain stank of stale cigarettes and the room itself was grubby and tired.

On a positive note, the staff were absolutely excellent, very friendly and couldn't do enough to help/advise us about our trip. The location is also really good, so all of the main sights and attractions are within walking distance.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LVT1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are aware of the fact that the hotel is a little dated, therefor we have renewed all matrasses in our rooms and we are planning a renovation for the whole hotel.

I am sorry to hear about the smoking smell in the bathroom, this is unacceptable since we are a non smoking hotel.

It is good to hear that the service we have provided was excellent, this is our main goal and we are doing everyday our utmost best to ket you experience the best service.

We hope to welcome you once again in our beautiful city Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 2,536 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived very early morning in Amsterdam and went to the Carlton expecting to check our bags. Instead, within 15 minutes, we were given a wonderful, large room in the front of the hotel, overlooking the street. Room had a terrific view, was clean and bathroom was large. Bathroom marble floor in huge shower can get slick, so needed to place towel on tiles while showering. Exceptional value, especially since we got this hotel by bidding on Priceline.

Staff in the hotel was absolutely exceptional. Young man who checked us in, also took us to our room and made sure that our luggage was secure. Other young female staff members were also warm and friendly and couldn't have been more helpful giving suggestions and directions. In reading some other reviews I feel like we must have been in different universes together.

Surely there were things that could be improved. More comfortable seating in lobby, a nice flat screen tv etc. However, we were in Amsterdam, a wonderful and vibrant city and we neither spent time sitting nor watching tv. Moot point for our needs. We also have and never would pay huge fees for breakfast.

The location of this hotel is terrific. Few steps left out the front door discovers the flower market. A street across from the hotel leads to Rembrandtplein within a block or two. Tons of cafes and bars there within a short walk. If fast food is your option, there's a McDonalds across the street and around the corner there's a Burger King and a grocery store. Large, multi story movie theater across the street. As specified, many dining options, but Amsterdam isn't cheap!

Yes, we stayed on a weekend and there were crowds of young students and professionals in town having a great time. The noise didn't keep us up, but light sleepers shouldn't opt for a front room. We loved opening the window and watching al the sights and evening sounds!

Could not have asked for better service and location. Would surely return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaycentralNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are happy to read that you have had a good experience with our hotel and our staff. Our main goal is to satisfy our guests during their stay, and make it a memorable stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our NH Carlton hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel was in a great location but very dated. Buy a 72 hour pass that will cover most museums and transportation from the bureau of tourism located by the train station.. NH Carlton is the 4th stop on the 4, 16, 24 tram line. Staff was very friendly and hotel provided coffee and tea bags in the room. We could have breakfast without using their 20 Euro breakfast in their dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
1  Thank cath48photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Overall Not a 4 Star Hotel
I stayed at NH Carlton May 2014, Room 611

4 Star Qualities
The room was very large and felt like more like a Studio Apartment. The Balcony was very small but nice. The view was spectacular; but I think Balconies only come with Superior rooms. The Bed was very comfortable; bath towels and bath sponges were definitely 4 Star quality. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. The Location could not be beat. You could walk to Dam Square and the Central Station in no time and at least 4 Trams stop 3 minutes from the hotel; but that’s where the 4 Star ends.

2 ½ - 3 Star
The Reception area and hallway leading up to the rooms were very dark, dated and depressing. The elevators were extremely dirty. The furniture in the room was chipped and broken as was some of the light fixtures. There were holes in the wall above the TV and exposed screws. The carpet in the room was stained and had an aura of not being entirely clean.

The bathroom was dark and had an overall feeling of old. The water temperature would go from normal to extremely hot so you have to be careful when taking a warm shower.

My feeling about this hotel is that it was quite beautiful when it was built but has not been updated in quite some time. It felt neglected and more like an updated Super 8 Motel with excellent linen. This hotel was the worse 4 Star hotel I’ve ever stayed at.

The staff was not particularly friendly with one exception, Kimberly! she provided exceptionalI service. I could be tempted to stay at this hotel again because of the location and the great service by Kimberly but I don’t think I would because of the overall condition of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank jesslind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences in our hotel. Only by receiving these comments, we are able to improve our facilities and service.

First of all my apologies for the discomfort you have experienced during your stay.

We are aware of the fact that the hotel is a little dated, therefor we have renewed all matrasses, TV's and minibars in our rooms and we are planning a renovation for the whole hotel. The elevators are being renovated at this moment, so in the future we will not have this particular problem.

I am happy to read that the service provided by Kimberly was excellent, this is our main goal and we are doing everyday our utmost best to let you experience the best service.

We sincerly hope that you would give us a new opportunity in the nearby future to show you that we do take our reviews very serious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

OK rooms in an older hotel. Two of the three elevators were out of service when we were there the first week in May. Signs posted apologized but the situation but we were there two days and saw no service work in progress. I call it average and not poor only due to the central location. Perhaps the elevator situation was unusual. We found the breakfast to be very good. Some times the location makes up for other inconveniences. Hotel owners know this and act accordingly?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are aware of the fact that the elevators were not working properly at the moment you stayed with us. I sincerely apologize for this matter.

From the 1st of June we started to renovate our elevators, so in the future we will not have this particular problem.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful city Amsterdam, and we are looking forward to welcome you in the nearby future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great central location, below average service and absolutely overpriced breakfast. 20euro for barely warm average food is not acceptable. Housekeeping service was missed one day and toilet was falling apart. The location is what really makes up for this hotel. Stay here only if you get a really cheap rate.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved the location of the hotel which was right beside one of the busiest junctions yet with the window closed at night we couldn't here any noise. Contrary to other reviews we arrived around 1.30pm and got into our room as did the couple before us. Our room was a good size but we did pay a little extra for a superior room. The bathroom however was very old and in need of a makeover. We had tea and coffee facilities in our room but the coffee and milk were never replenished after the first day.

The cleaning of the bedroom was not carried out to a good standard. There was a hair grip lying at the side of our bed when we arrived and it was still there when we left 4 days later and one day we returned to our room around 3pm to find our room had not been serviced. We had passed the chambermaid in the corridor and she acknowledged us but when we went back out about 40 minutes later she was not to be seen. There was however a bag hanging on our door handle containing fresh towels and a toilet roll. There were similar bags on a number of other door handles.

We didn't eat in the hotel as there was such a selection of restaurants around us. We would be happy to stay here again should we be back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,003 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,624 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#115 of 374 in Amsterdam
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#92 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,088 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#89 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,929 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £104 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, NHHotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing