We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Romantic, & Elegant!!!”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Amazing!!!!! 4 star, more like 5 star!!! Thank you! It truely was like heaven! My husband and i went for our 10 year annivesary and it felt like another honeymoon. Sooo Romantic and Elegant. It was like a someplace from a movie that you would look at and say you wish you could go there, and we did. Amsterdam was By far our favorite on our European trip. We loved it so much we extended our stay an extra day! You first walk up to this luxurious hotel full of antiques, beautiful red & black wall paper, and baroque like furniture! Then, we were greeted by nothing but smiles by the front desk! The room was like paradise, the bed was soft and fluffy like a cloud, there was also choc and strawberries waiting for us in the room. Also, a beautiful tuch was our names on the tv welcoming us, so waming! This staff by far were the best, not only with help around beautiful Amsterdam, but all around People! Good and true! Hard to find in a hotel in home town. Words can not thank them enough! Thank you to all; Wendy,Rule, Thomas, Sirella, Danielle, and all the otter amazing staff, bar tenders and security. You made our trip one we will always talk about in years to come! We will be back and will never stay anywhere else but the Toren!! Thank you for such an wonderful experience!!!

Room Tip: This hotel is where you want to stay in Amsterdam
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Coupleflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,003 - 2,009 of 2,672 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

we enjoyed our stay very much.nice location.price/quality of breakfast very well.excellent service.clean room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel after reading the trip advisor reviews and talking with a friend who had spent a month in Amsterdam. He was right; this is the best neighborhood in Amsterdam and I don't think we would have enjoyed the city as much if we had stayed in a different location. The hotel staff was terrific, helpful and fun to talk to. Also on the plus side, great bed and bath linens. We had dinner a couple of nights at the Seasons restaurant which I would strongly recommend which is just a few blocks from the hotel. The common areas at the hotel are nicely done and the breakfast is goo.
On the not so great side, the room was quite small so that you did not want to hang out there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhentschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

It was really remarkable from the minute we arrived and entered the doors.Despite images, it isnt until you arrive that you really get a feel for the style+atmosphere of the hotel.Its both cozy and edgy with its decor and personality.It is truly an escape from your normal hotel which is what a vacation is all about!Great attention to detail, fantastic staff who help you with anything you need and you cant beat the location.Hotels call themselves hip+boutique and as avid travelers we can honestly say that this hotel puts those to shame.If you can, stay in the Royal Suite and enjoy the outdoor patio and the jacuzzi downstairs!There is nowhere else we will stay when we return to AMS and have recommended it to everyone I know.Congrats to the owners+their staff.What a gem!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moremimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This hotel is in a perfect spot, opposite a canal and really near all the major attractions without being in the heart of the tourist area. It's setting was tranquil, but it had loads of great bars and cafes behind it...all full of locals too so it was definitely a great spot to be in! The rooms were very small and a touch dated, but the comfort factor of the bed more than made up for that, and the bathroom was modern and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the bar area was nice and sumptuous. All in all this hotel had a great feel to it and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulugaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We took the Royal bridal suite which was georgeous!!!
The service provided by the receptionist is very very kind ,pleasent,welcoming and patient.
The area of the hotel is great , very nice to be in a hotel which is in a residential area.You feel less as a tourist and more as a local.
We were each time impressed to see the canal in front of the exit (and entrance) of the hotel.Great view &feeling.
The only 2 little drawbacks are that the bathroom is in a lower level of the room with narrow stairs in between, and the lack of bottles of water provided to the guests especially for making coffee.
We did not try the breakfast but it looked awesome.
Thank you very very much for your great hospitality.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
Thank DafneJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Thank you for a wonderful stay at your marvellous hotel – I will like to give you the very best recommendations.

Room not at all as small as I had expected/feared – and very nice deco.

Arrived rather early, and was able to get the room early – very nice.

We were out shopping, sightseeing, dining all day and returned to the hotel 10 pm. Even thought my daughter just turned 7 she uses a diaper at night – and yes I forgot to bring them… Called the front desk around 10:30 pm to ask where we might be able to buy some at the late hour. 5 minutes later a charming young man knocked our door with 5 diapers – excellent service. I was just so very relived and happy about the excellent service.

Breakfast was VERY nice, warm delicious bread, fresh baked croissants, eggs lot’s of cheese – all we could want and more – especially taking into consideration this is a small hotel – it sure didn’t show in the large selection of breakfast.

Excellent location, easy and very charming walk to all of central.

ALL staff was very sweet, helpful and very effective and fast.

Charming little garden, where we enjoyed something cold to drink, before we left for the airport.

Suggestion of improvement: Clearly state if a room booked is not in the main building (even though the other building is just as charming) I personally did not like there were no staff on duty at night in the building our room was in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love-2-travel_2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,180 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,402 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,029 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £135 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing