We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerizing! We will definitely be back!”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Spent our wedding night in one of the special suites of this hotel (just a few houses down from the building with the reception). Larger rooms there, same vibe, just brilliant. Service in advance, during and after the stay there was sublime. The best hotel service we have received so far in hotel stays in general.

Kind enthusiastic staff making suggestions for things we had not thought of or were unaware of. Spectacular reception area and bar, all rich Rococo style. We got suite 406, with an equally spectacular Rococo style finish of the room: gold ornaments on the ceiling, a beautiful chandelier, fire place area, sitting area by the windows, antique desk next to the entrance. Lot of 'walking around' space. Wonderful king size bed which has the matrass as it should be: ONE large matrass rather than 2 x 1 pers matrasses with the break in the middle (don't understand why other hotels still do that). So Great!

Then downstairs... yes, split level. A bathroom beyond imagination. Upon entrance, against the right side 2 beautiful spacious sinks, to the left first a walk in shower with multiple showers, next to it a large jacuzzi and behind the back wall of the jacuzzi the toilet. The bathroom alone is just as big as some of the hotel rooms we stayed in in the past, excellent!

Concluding: the experience at Hotel the Toren really finished off an already magical day in style, actually extended 'Our Day' to the day after as well.

Extra compliments for the breakfast with champagne and all the dishes prepared for us, brought by room service. We spent an hour on the breakfast and still only finished half ;-)

A big thank you to everyone involved at The Toren, you really made the stay unforgettable for us and we cannot wait to return!

Recommended to everyone who would like to stay in Amsterdam in a luxurious environment. Located at the canal De Keizersgracht, in the Jordaan (one of the hot spots in Amsterdam), with everything right around the corner (the Dam, Anne Frank House, Flower Market etc) in the shadow of the Westerkerk.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msvoboda1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,969 - 1,975 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

gorgeous hotel, very helpful staff..wonderful bed. staff were very helpful with all questions and recommendations

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The Toren was OK. Although the room did overlook the canal, it was small, uncomfortable (beds, pillows), and overpriced. The staff was nice. They gave us directions to the police station after my wallet, cash and passport were pick pocketed on the #14 tram. They assisted me with some replacement cash becasuse most of Amsterdam does not accept American Visa cerdit cards. They recommended an over priced restaurant that refused to serve tap water with an $80 meal (example see Tempoe DoeLoe - as recommended by Toren staff). Once again, the Toren is OK - Amsterdam is not.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheZinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed in this hotel recently (16-20th july 2011) with my fiance. The hotel was absolutley stunning. I couldn't get over the size of the room plus we had a hot-tub which had lights that changed colours and a shower room with a power shower and a shower with a big head.The decore in the room was beautiful and there was everything in the room that we needed ie hair dryer,coffee machine tea etc. The lighting in the room was vey nice they had spot lights on the celling over the bathroom area and a chandiler above the bed. The veiw from the room was gorgeous as it over looked the canal. The hotel staff very extremly nice and friendly and would have done anything to make your stay more comfortable. They made us feel very welcomed in the hotel and helped us out with information when we needed it.The hotel also has a bar with gorgeous decore in it also. I could not fault this hotel at all apart from a little outside noise which was not from inside the hotel itself and it was def not a problem as we both enjoyed our stay here and were very sad to leave and we would def recommend anyone to stay there if they were travelling to Amsterdam. Fantastic hotel. :) :) :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittykat1984_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The Toren is a fin de siècle boutique hotel that provides a level of comfort and service rarely encountered since Edwardian days. It is in a prime location making it easy to wander in to the Dam or the Jordaan. Service was very friendly and extremely helpful. I had sketched a full-on programme for our five day visit, and reception facilitated everything I wanted to do perfectly, from pick-up at the airport, bikes, boats, tickets, restaurants, bars, taxis etc. A wonderful long weekend celebrating our Pearl Wedding Anniversary made extra special by the attentiveness of the Toren. Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: Take a deluxe or luxury room. Very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuckyBroSnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed at the Toren for 2 nights in early July. I was excited to check in and see the rooms, because from the pictures the rooms seemed pretty unique. In actuality, seeing the rooms first hand was much better. Everything was very well decorated and the big fluffy bed was extremely comfortable. My favorite part was the bathroom with all the marble and a lot of space for a small building. All of the staff were very friendly and gave us some good tips on nearby restaurants. Although I did not have breakfast in the hotel, we did get some drinks at the bar at night. The bar area was also one of my favorite rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marketmiami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Having read other reviews, I can agree that the uncollected rubbish around the canals was a bit surprising and disappointing, as we have never encountered the situation in Amsterdam previously. Perhaps there is some industrial action?
However, this in no way affected the sultry fun of the Toren. Better to stay in luxury when there is rubbish in the streets than in a hovel, I'd say.
The rooms are small- no doubt. We were upgraded to a canal deluxe and although we had to shuffle around the room with suitcases, it in no way affected the magic of the giilts, crimsons and blacks of the room. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and served in a simply gorgeous room which owes more to Moulin Rouge than Van Gough. Sumptuous, splendid and a lot of fun. Reception staff were smiling, fun, helpful and a good introduction to the experience. A great place for a little fantasy for the real world.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fresiandaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,179 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,402 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,029 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £136 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing