We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Toren
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$500
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,774)
Filter reviews
2,774 results
Traveller rating
2,333
382
39
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,333
382
39
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne frank houseannex buildingthe main hotelgarden suitejacuzzi tubbottle of champagnecanal viewdinner reservationswonderful hotelnespresso machineperfect locationbeautiful roomhotel barthree nightscanal housedam squarewalked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
2,043 - 2,048 of 2,774 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2011

What a little gem in the middle of the city. Now I finally have a hotel to recommend in AMS. My friend stayed here for a few nights, got an excellent deal, was treated like a queen by the management. We even got free cocktails (pssst). And the room was lovely and cosy, including Rituals products. A feel good place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were staying in other hotel (Park Hotel) but wanted to know this hotel due to the excellent reviews read in Tripadvisor. So we went riding our bikes around Amsterdam and stop to see The Toren. We just loved it and made reservation to stay 3 nights!
It’s an amazing old house on the canal with elegant decorated rooms and an outstanding staff.
Our room was in the next building but was exactly decorated as the ones in the main one. Bathroom was big, clean and new. Although I must recognice that being in the second building is not the same as being in the main one, we loved the room and the hotel.
The buffet breakfast has a small but has an excellent selection, and a very good attention. Excellent value for the price!
The best of the hotel is the staff. The service they provide is absolutely sublime! They have recommendations for everything, restaurants, shops, tours, and they even rent bikes from MacBike at the same price!
We loved the coffee machine in the room, the free wifi, the breakfast, the location, the canal, the bikes, the recommendations, everything was perfect!
We recommend it and will surely return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The best hotel we ever stayed in. Most hotels are more of the same, just a bed in a room. This boutique hotel has a beautiful warm old style decor, yet modern, with Jacuzzi bath and large shower in the room. The staff were friendly but not intrusive and gave good advice on restaurants, etc. After our meal out we arrived back to the small bar lounge (again tastefully decorated) , and had a few drinks in a warm atmosphere, the word warm describes most things in this hotel. We confirmed our dates early and got a very good rate - I think we were bumped up to a superior room.. Great location, easy walking distance to centre or tram to other areas. First visit to Amsterdam...will return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Beautiful old hotel with a fabulous decor. Very romantic for couples. Arrived after 11 p.m. & Robby was waiting for us to take our bags to our room. He then said if we wanted a drink in the lounge he was prepared to serve us for as long as we liked. The breakfast was outstanding. The best part is the staff who make you feel at home and are very efficient at their jobs. We did have a misunderstanding over the breakfast charge (in hindsight I'm sure it was my fault due to menopause memory problems) and the owner took care of it immediately. The owners of the hotel definitely make you feel like you are important. We stayed 3 nights and had a room overlooking the canal. As the blossoms were just coming out, it was beautiful. The hotel also has an inner courtyard to sit in - which is quite private. We're from westcoast of Canada and this was our first visit to Amsterdam. We felt quite safe and if we make it back again, we'll only be staying at The Toren Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I booked the Toren in Amsterdam after reading the glowing reviews on tripadvisor and it was worth every penny. We got upgraded because it was our honeymoon and we had the most beautiful room with a huge comfy bed, a whirlpool, it may not have been a huge room but it was so romantic and plush, it was just perfect. The service from the front desk to the porter to the guys in the breakfast room was top notch, the bar is absolutely gorgeous, breakfast was yummy and nothing was too much trouble. The location is fantastic, just a stroll to Dam Square and there's lots of lovely bars for people watching just around the corner. It's a stunning little boutique hotel and if you're dithering over whether to book or not, book now!! We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Let them know if it's a special occasion, we did and got upgraded
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuluLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews