We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in excellent location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in excellent location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This hotel is gorgeous. It is in a great location for exploring the city, just around the corner from the Anne Frank House. I stayed in the main building. Our room was on the first floor at the back of the building. The room was beautiful. Rich colors and fabrics. Typical in size to European rooms but absolutely beautiful.
The staff is excellent. I had accidentally booked the wrong date and they were incredibly accommodating when they didn't have to be. We had a fantastic stay and would stay there again in a second.
It is a little pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,082
    359
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
251
1,542
167
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed at the Toren in November. I was a single female, travelling meeting friends. When the staff knew this they said they would have moved me to be next to them. I stayed in the main hotel building, this is where the reception and dinning area is. The bedroom was fabulous and way over my expectations because when I booked said it was small. There was no noise, my room was at the back, I slept very well, bed was large and extremely comfortable. Bathroom was large, quality fittings and beautiful toiletries were left for me. The breakfast room and food in the morning were excellent, fresh fruit, cereals, bread, pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon. The staff heard me mention toast and they made me some plus a latte, thank you ! The reception staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful, booking me a cab to the airport, giving me a map and directions. All in all, good value, a quieter place to stay near the Anne Frank museum. Everything close by. Can't wait to return. Thank you.

Room Tip: I didn't have a canal view room, I had a room at the back which was very quiet, so I can recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife is half Dutch, born in Amsterdam, and I lived there for 6 months
many years ago so we both have great affinity with this beautiful city which
we have visited regularly over the last 20 years.

We have stayed in many good quality hotels, all the usual suspects in fact
including The Pulitzer until we stumbled across Hotel Toren and since then
we would rather not stay anyway else. In many hotels, once inside, you could
be anywhere in the world but not so at Hotel Toren! Perfectly situated
overlooking one of Amsterdam's many canals - Kaisersgracht - close to
Westerkerk, in what we consider to be the most attractive part of Amsterdam,
Hotel Toren is brimming with character, the staff are especially friendly
and the receptionists ever helpful. We would recommend one of the rooms
overlooking the canal.

Glad to share this with anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Simon and Mary Anne Waite

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon555London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed here for a weekend, it's actaully split into 2 buildings one where the main reception was and another a couple of doors down. We had a canal facing room in the top floor of the second building. Bathroom was a little tired, but the bed was very big and exceptionally comfy. The breakfast buffet is in a pretty small room so it's very intimate with the other guests and not much room to move but can't complain about the standard of the food or service.

If you are looking to stay in a period building it's a very safe bet with a desinger twist to the rooms, would recommend to my friends if visiting Amsterdam as it's not in the heaving tourist trap area, but ideally located to be a hub to explore from.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thfc1afc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Chose the Toren after reading TripAdvisor reviews. Have stayed at the Pullitzer on the Prinsengracht many times before but it's just a bit too pricey these days, so the Toren seemed like a good alternative - so glad we chose it! As good a location on a canal just round the corner from Anne Franks House - easy access to Central Station on trams from the nearby Westerkerk church, and easy walking access to the nicest parts of Amsterdam (Jordaan and Western Canal Belt).

Friendly receptionists, very helpful hotel staff who took luggage to the room and showed us the hotel. It's quite small but beautifully decorated in dark, rich colours - quite quirky but stylish. We got upgraded to a canal view room which was compact but big enough for one night. Spotless bathroom with a good shower and Rituals amenities (very good quality), Nespresso coffee machine, and welcome chocs (nice touch). A few scuffs and marks on the walls and furniture but they get away with it due to the dark colours - wear and tear could be an issue in the next few years though. Free wi-fi (so why do so many hotels charge for it?). Great bar with a cool barman. Really nice breakfast the next morning in the same bar which is transformed into a breakfast room, and at only €6 (we had an offer) it was great value.

The whole vibe of the hotel is friendly and relaxed but at the same time the staff are unfailingly helpful and attentive - nothing was too much for them. Overall a great stay and we'll definitely return - get a good price and this is a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Toren for three nights just before Christmas. Even before arriving, I had been impressed with the level of customer service we were recieving; the concierge having secured for us tickets to a nearly sold-out performance of Handel's Messiah at the Concertgebouw for the night we arrived. They also happily accommodated us with an early check-in and a late check-out despite their being fully booked. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent and they were more than happy to call for reservations. I would enthusiastically recommend The Toren to anyone visiting Amsterdam for location, ambiance, and service. I do however agree with a previous reviewer who noted that the hotel may not be the most appropriate for children. Though, when enjoying a romantic stay in the Venice of the North as we were, this may be one of the features that most recommends The Toren to you.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dytrsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My partner booked this hotel as a surprise for my birthday in December and it was everything I would ask for a short city break.
The location was excellent about 15 minute walk from the train station and close to Anne Frank House and the 9 streets boutique shopping. The service was outstanding, all staff were very attentive but also respected privacy being there in the background when needed but without being overbearing.
The room was lovely we stayed in room 101, it was spotlessly clean, a very large bed, jacuzzi bath and separate shower, espresso machine with coffee included in room price and a chargable mini bar.
The bar in the hotel was very cosy and stylish, a nice place to start or end the night.
Overall the hotel was beautifully decorated, clean and cosy, I was very pleased with my stay in this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow this award wining hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing