We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in January and cannot fault this hotel and everything about it. The room was comfortable and sumptious, the staff pleasant, friendly and eager to help. Breakfast was delicious and it's in a perfect location for exploring Amsterdam. I stayed in a small double but it had a decent sized bathroom with a mega sized bath which was perfect.
My only small grip was the noise in the mornings! They seemed to be having work done and it started far too early for me! ...... 9am, which is a time I wish not to be woken when I'm on a break.
Highly recommended though.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vitakix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Toren in January 2012 for 3 days in a standard room. Location was fantastic, in the middle of the lovely canals of Amsterdam and a short walk to Anne Frank Huis, Dam Square and the Red Light District. The museums were a short tram ride away. Lots of lovely restaurants in nearby Joordan. The staff were all exceedingly polite and helpful, which we really appreciated! My only caution is that the decor in the room was dark opulence, a lot of reds and deep purples, which might not be for everyone. Other than that, we thought the hotel was near perfect and we wouldn't hesitate to book it the next time we return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FindingNismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in....very central location. Staff were friendly and accommodating. We were situated in an annex building a few doors up and while there was no much view to speak of there was a little patio area outside the room which was nice. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Located on one of the more scenic streets of Amsterdam and a short distance from the Central Station and/or passenger terminal. The hotel is just round the corner of Anne Frank's, Jordaan area and the delightful boutique streets of DE NEGEN STRAATJES. We were delighted with our find from the time we stepped outside the taxi and into reception. The service was excellent, the room was stunning, the jacuzzi bath in spa like products were divine, I loved the walk in cupboard and of course the decor was gorgeous. At the back of the hotel there is a garden area which is great for an afternoon cafe (Nespresso machine in the room) or sundowners. We only spent one night here, as we were onroute home, however were very tempted to forget exploring and stay in and enjoy the comforts of this stunning hotel. We had to be at the airport early the next morning so we were a little worried that the hotel wouldn't be able to assist us with breakfast, however their breakfast setup was ready and we had one of the nicest breakfast selections on our trip. Well worth a visit and a highlight for us. Treat yourself

Room Tip: We had the room downstairs closest to the garden, it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Royal Suite, The room and bath were incredible. I am certain you cannot do better for the price in Amsterdam. The space and amenities are excellent, but the staff is even better. They satisfied our every need, Made restaurant reservations after making excellent recommendations and cheerfully cancelled one of them when requested. The breakfast for 14 euro was a bargain. The location is the best. Close to Central Station, Dam Square, Canal Tour as well as located in the Jordaan, one of the best neighborhoods in the city. Our taxi to the airport came in 4 minutes and the price was just as the hotel said.. We are in Amsterdam once a year and this is the place we will stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, take the Royal Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Everything!! I will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Amsterdam. It was a convenient location and we could easily walk to dam square and Amsterdam central station. We were welcomed warmly by the staff who led us to our room and gave us a mini tour of the room. The hotel prepared a little surprise as we stated in our booking that we were on our honeymoon. Our room had a coffee machine and the capsules were complimentary. No wonder the Toren was listed as the top five hotels in the book, "a guide to Amsterdam" that we borrowed prior to the trip. We stayed for four days and it was hard to leave on the last day!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8vita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The besr experience ever. Great location, excellent service and pleasant room. Museums and great restaurants nearby. Warm and welcoming athmosfere

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rydkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,173 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,398 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,023 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £136 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing