We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb.”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Wonderful experience. Lovely rooms that are luxurious, warm and trendy. The beds are so good you won't want to get up in the morning!

Location is central and close to many great bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetasanut_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,103
    360
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
253
1,555
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

A very nice hotel with a unique decor and a great atmosphere. An especially great place for a couples, but I can recommend it on business trips as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller123345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I planned a last minute getaway to Amsterdam this past Thanksgiving. Based on a number of reviews we had read, we decided to stay at The Toren. As it turned out, The Toren was everything we expected...and more. When we first arrived, we were greeted by a very friendly staff at the front desk. One of the young ladies at the desk (her name was Lisa) made sure that we were aware of the all the major attractions in the city. Throughout our stay Lisa continued to offer assistance in arranging the tours we wanted to see.

We stayed in one of the Deluxe Suites overlooking the courtyard in the main house. The housekeeping staff made sure the room was cleaned every day. We'll probabaly stay in the garden cottage suite next time.

At the end of the day, we'd look forward to meeting other guests in the lounge they have on the first floor. One of the bartenders (his name is Michiel) would ask about what we saw that day and would then provide us with a brief history of each attraction we visited. He even told us about a brewery that is located inside of a windmill and is located on the east side of Amsterdam. My wife and I went there on our last night with some friends we made while in Amsterdam. In fact, we still keep in touch with them.

If you're planning a trip to Amsterdam, my recommendation would be to stay at The Toren. Between the quality of the rooms, the wonderful people they have hired to run the hotel and the location in the city, we would not consider staying anywhere else.

B & C (Fairfax, VA, USA)

PS - Askfor the Rick Steves discount when making the reservation and you will receive a 10% discount at check-out.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

our stay here was absolutely amazing. we always choose the best room of the hotel we stay in so here we stayed in the 'garden cottage' which is a seperate room to the whole hotel that is situated in the hotel garden. it is an open plan room so the bedroom is incoporated with the bathroom. very romantic feel! great for couples.... but don't worry the actual toilet isn't in view, that is still in private! when walking into the hotel we were amazed at the decor and presentation. it was so lovely. totally different to any other hotels we have been in. no boring cream and beige decor, no standard themes, everything was totally unique. they have really gone out of their way to make the hotel look so inviting. the staff were faultless, so helpful, so polite, and went out of their way to help us. we ordered room service every night, which was also very impressive. hot food arrived so quickly! if anyone is looking for a luxury stay in amsterdam... stay here! get away from the seedy red light district and weed cafes and treat yourself to this place. A short and easy walk from the shops. About 20-30 minute taxi ride from airport. high standard of cleanliness and hygiene. our room was cleaned every day, it was like walking into pure bliss every day when we returned to our room. mini bar was restocked everyday. free internet both on wifi on your mobile and also there is a computer in the room and a television which both have free internet access.

Room Tip: garden cottage is an excellent choice for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky13AP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodacre,CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed at The Toren for 4 nights in June 2011. Very happy with our stay. Loved the romantic bar/breakfast room downstairs decorated in wonderful deep purples and low lights. Our room was good, no view but quiet and a good bathroom. The staff was endlessly helpful suggesting sites, restaurants, transportation routes... convenient big umbrellas available by the door which we used everyday! Short walk to Anne Frank's house and transportation and many wonderful small restaurants. Enjoyed just wondering the streets and looking at the canals and bridges. Have to say the people of Amsterdam are incredibly nice. People would stop and ask if they could help us when we were looking at a map, tram driver yelled out our stop when we got there and we never even asked him. Can't wait to return. Good breakfast too with many options.

Room Tip: Like most Scandinavian countries... be prepared for lots of stairs. Not an issue for us but could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in January and cannot fault this hotel and everything about it. The room was comfortable and sumptious, the staff pleasant, friendly and eager to help. Breakfast was delicious and it's in a perfect location for exploring Amsterdam. I stayed in a small double but it had a decent sized bathroom with a mega sized bath which was perfect.
My only small grip was the noise in the mornings! They seemed to be having work done and it started far too early for me! ...... 9am, which is a time I wish not to be woken when I'm on a break.
Highly recommended though.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vitakix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at the Toren in January 2012 for 3 days in a standard room. Location was fantastic, in the middle of the lovely canals of Amsterdam and a short walk to Anne Frank Huis, Dam Square and the Red Light District. The museums were a short tram ride away. Lots of lovely restaurants in nearby Joordan. The staff were all exceedingly polite and helpful, which we really appreciated! My only caution is that the decor in the room was dark opulence, a lot of reds and deep purples, which might not be for everyone. Other than that, we thought the hotel was near perfect and we wouldn't hesitate to book it the next time we return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FindingNismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing