We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service ever! Exceptional!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best service ever! Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The staff at The Toren were exceptional. They were very friendly, and very helpful. Every request for a reservation, for travel around the city, for locating specific stores, giving out museum/train/tram times and ticket information, helping us plan day trips from Amsterdam - they were great! We stayed for 1 week at the hotel, and had a wonderful time.
The décor is what I labeled 'bordello chic' - lots of maroon and red velvets, purple lighting, plumes. It's a bit strange at first, but may appeal to the more design-conscious, and doesn't detract at all from the comfort. The beds are great and roomy, the pillows and duvet fluffy and warm. The bathtubs are large and fill up quickly. The bathrobes and slippers are plush.
Breakfast is delicious, with fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, croissants, fresh bread, cold cuts, cheeses, eggs, bacons, and other hot options you can order a la carte. Beautiful freshly squeezed orange and grapefruit juice every morning.
The location is fantastic, close to everything, but also on a quieter canal, so you don't get too much noise.
We have only great things to say about this hotel. Having traveled to over 30 countries and stayed at numerous luxury hotels, this place had some of the best, most personalized service we've ever experienced! Free wi-fi in the rooms as well.
Definitely would stay here again and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The suites in the main building overlooking the canal are very luxurious, with in-built jacuzzis and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,065
    351
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
245
1,529
165
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The Toren has one room that is a little smaller than the others for single travellers that they only book through their website, "The Small Single Room." I was travelling by myself and never stay in my room for long on vacation and the price was great, so I decided to book it. It is definitely only for one person, but has all the bells and whistles. I have stayed in a smaller room (at a hotel in New York, and it wasn't an en suite). The room did seem a little noisy - I could hear other guests and floors creaking, but nothing to keep me awake at night. The hotel location was great. I only had breakfast one morning there, as there are a ton of cafe's in the surrounding area there were worth a look. The staff seemed friendly.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank 1travlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I simply loved this hotel. After booking staff informed me that the 1-person room would be small and offered a discounted upgrade. But I loved my little room. Everything was there.
Simply perfect, well decorated, wonderful bed ( slept like crazy) and no noise.
To get there and find fresh strawberries and chocolates waiting is simply splendid!
Staff was superbly friendly!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisfromlakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 nights stay at The Toren. What a hotel! The staff are very helpful and polite and the room was fantastic. Don't let the idea that your room may be a few doors down the street - it is just as well decorated and integrated as the main hotel. Lovely bed with sumptious pillows, nice view over the back of the gardens. Although we heard the church bells at night it was somewhat comforting and didn't disturd us at all. I had noticed one night that the room nextdoor was a little loud in the corridor however not a peep could be heard once in our room. The bathroom was well stocked every day and spotless. (We came across the cleaners a few times and they were very polite too!) A very short walk back to the main hotel gave us an excellent breakfast - the staff even remembered our preference for tea or coffee this morning! BBC 1& 2 was available on the TV so something to watch if you need and the iPod dock was also used. Great location, just around the corner for Anne Franks Museum and walking distance of much else if you care to admire the views. My wife had commented that the 'plastic decorations' in the breakfast/bar area looked a little odd but this was an extremely minor part of the stay. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 67pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My wife booked us for a 2 night stay for my 30th birthday. She chose The Toren based on Tripadvisor reviews.

The good lady had notified the hotel of the special occasion & on arrival i was congratulated by the friendly reception staff who then took some time to help us with some info on Amsterdam. The hotel had kindly upgraded our room (no. 404) which was in a seperate building, just 50 metres (approx) down the street. This wasn't the inconvenience we thought it may be.

The room was lovely. Beautiful decor, extremely clean, lovely open plan spa bathroom & access to a patio (shared with another room). To top it all off we were welcomed by a bottle of champagne, chocolates & strawberries. In addition a personal letter from the hotel owners congratulating me on my birthday. My wife & i felt that the efforts made by The Toren were genuine rather than token gestures u may get elsewhere.

All staff were very, very friendly & helpful in terms of booking taxis/restaurants, etc.

The restaurant/bar is very nice. Great choice for the breakfast including cooked & continental.

Wonderful location, 3min walk from Anne Frank house, facing onto one of the many scenic canals. Amsterdam is a lovely & good sized city for wandering about in.

Would genuinly recommend this hotel. Have stayed in some lovely, large hotels (Wynn - Las Vegas, Waldorf Astoria - NY, Peninsula - Hong Kong) but really enjoyed staying in a small yet beautiful hotel like this, which matches the atmosphere of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CactusBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful, great location, clean hotel and room, great location in Amsterdam - I would definitely stay again, but would like to go for longer and with a top room (loved the bath!) this could prove to be quite costly for Amsterdam so probably best just for a special night or two - otherwise very pleased!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missylepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just come back from a couple of days at The Toren. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We had one of the recently refurbished standard rooms which was fantastic: large and very well equipped. Breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing