We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Amsterdam”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We had a very pleasing stay at the Toren Hotel, staff friendly and very helpful, and a what a great decor, beautiful furnishings. The location is great for business or for seeing the sights.
We are looking forward to our next stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,803 - 1,809 of 2,702 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

I chose The Toren based on Trip Advisor reviews, and I was extremely pleased with this choice. The Toren is indeed romantic, with plush decor and cosy rooms. The staff is supremely friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious. The hotel is located on a quiet canal street that is within walking distance of many historical sites and attractions. My husband and I did the bed & breakfast deal for our 3 night stay, and we believe we totally got our money's worth. I highly recommend The Toren.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Toren for three nights last week. Overall we were very pleased with the experience. The hotel is very grand with the most elaborate traditional Dutch decor and furnishings. In our room, which was small, the elaborate furnishings reduced our living space even further and we felt that we were cramped. Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and professional. Breakfast was good and was served in very ornate surroundings next to the amazing bar. The location is great - right on the edge of the trendy Jordaan area and only a ten minute walk into the city centre. On the downside, it is expensive, our air conditioning was ineffective due to the position of the unit, an A/C duct grill in the bathroom was hanging out of its frame, the A/C control panel was hanging by a wire and the room was gloomy because the lights were not very bright.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesMulvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A Very clean hotel, good location and attentive staff. Rather on the expensive side compared with other local hotels of the same standard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The Toren seems to have just the perfect amount of all the elements that make Amsterdam the best city in the world. As if the  historic canal house and its opulent romantic rooms were not enough, the location is a great place to enjoy this exciting city.  It seems the friendly staff is always there with an easy smile. The front desk was extremely helpful with any request including exploration advice. Our favorite guest services person, michael was always there with our favorite  bottle of champagne or anything else your heart desired. Be sure to try the "sebastian" cocktail made by Sebastian in the Toren's luxurious bar.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bridal suite and the standard deluxe room. Both had enormous tubs and perfect beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baconbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed two nights at the Toren. Beautiful dark wood bar area, excellent breakfast offerings. Our room was three doors down from the main building, and it included an ensuite jacuzzi, separate shower, and wc. The heavy drapes helped keep the early morning and late night light out. The experience was wonderful.

Room Tip: A room not directly on the canal street might be good. Ours was towards the back and therefore quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bismallw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Very nice spot and fitting decor for Amsterdam. Fun atmosphere. Great hidden garden for cocktails. Great bar for such a small hotel. Would stay there again. Best beds in Eu this vacation.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms the higher the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,219 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,426 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#21 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,074 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £114 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing