We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm on a canal”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This boutique hotel is centrally located but on a quiet street facing a canal. It was charmingly decorated and you felt like you we in private club rather than a chain hotel. The staff was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leo1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,739 - 1,745 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

The customer service was excellent! The girls at the fron were very friendly and spoke english very well. The room was delux and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. Great high tech coffee maker in the room and great safe there. I would definetly stay there again and recommend to many friends and family

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I booked The Toren based on Trip Advisor reviews and a recommendation from Rick Steves. We were not disappointed! The Toren was easily our favorite hotel during our two week stay in Europe.

The rooms were very comfortable and our room had a jacuzzi tub which I loved to soak in before going out for the evening. The Toren is located in a lovely section of Amsterdam, right on the canals, so it was quiet and calm at night. We slept like babies! They also had a very cool bar, I suggest that you order a glass of wine and cheese plate, sit back and enjoy the ambience.

In addition, the owners went out of their way to make us feel special on our one year anniversary. The staff was uber helpful and friendly, and gave us great recommendations on where to dine. This is what hospitality is all about! Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer! We can't wait to visit The Toren again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestChesterLady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Toren is a lovely hotel in a great canal side location. Like others we booked it on the basis of the reviews on Trip advisor and were not disappointed. The rooms are plushly decorated and generous in size for Amsterdam. The hotel is an easy walk from the Centraal Station, Dam Square, the Jordaan and the Musuemplien. Its also an easy walk to a number of hotels and the hotel will provide you with a list of recommended ones in the local area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TR_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We had a very pleasing stay at the Toren Hotel, staff friendly and very helpful, and a what a great decor, beautiful furnishings. The location is great for business or for seeing the sights.
We are looking forward to our next stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I chose The Toren based on Trip Advisor reviews, and I was extremely pleased with this choice. The Toren is indeed romantic, with plush decor and cosy rooms. The staff is supremely friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious. The hotel is located on a quiet canal street that is within walking distance of many historical sites and attractions. My husband and I did the bed & breakfast deal for our 3 night stay, and we believe we totally got our money's worth. I highly recommend The Toren.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the Toren for three nights last week. Overall we were very pleased with the experience. The hotel is very grand with the most elaborate traditional Dutch decor and furnishings. In our room, which was small, the elaborate furnishings reduced our living space even further and we felt that we were cramped. Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and professional. Breakfast was good and was served in very ornate surroundings next to the amazing bar. The location is great - right on the edge of the trendy Jordaan area and only a ten minute walk into the city centre. On the downside, it is expensive, our air conditioning was ineffective due to the position of the unit, an A/C duct grill in the bathroom was hanging out of its frame, the A/C control panel was hanging by a wire and the room was gloomy because the lights were not very bright.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlesMulvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,129 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
791 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £169 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing