We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A six star experience!”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The Toren offered a luxurious experience, in a beautiful part of the city, within easy walking distance to all tourist attraction. We stayed at the Toren for two nights from 16th – 18th July 2012.

From the moment we checked in our experience was wonderful. The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are immaculately kept and sumptuous; bar staff Gerrard and Sebastian are professional, fun and friendly and provide not only advice on cocktails but entertainment value too!
We opted for breakfast and would suggest that this is excellent value, unlike some other breakfast buffets food was hot and fresh and the environment in which it was served was relaxing and opulant.

We met some wonderful people and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the extra's that only a hotel of this caliber offers such as strawberries an chocolates in the roon on arrival...luxury bathing products and complimentary bathrobes and slippers.

We would suggest that if you are considering a trip to Amsterdam then you simply must consider staying at this hotel, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Due to the location of the hotel all rooms offer a peaceful nights rest in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,767 - 1,773 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

We travelled as a couple with a newborn girl, and were received in a fantastic way. The staff were warm and extremley welcoming in a professional way. The atmosphere of the hotel captured us right away. It´s a little mystical and exciting with a sense of luxury. The room was small but cosy and almost a little erotic ;-)

We were quite beat after a long carride so we ordered roomservice which was catered by a restaurant called Christophe that the hotel had a cooperation agreement with. Evidently it´s a starred guide michelin restaurant and yes, the food was excellent!

The location is perfect, close to everything. We strolled around the city with a baby carriage and reached pretty much everything we wanted to see.

This a small hotel in an old building but with class and personality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Toren Amsterdam is hosted by Eric and Petra Toren, a forward thinking customer orientated business that puts people first. A rare find in the hotel industry is this hotel that puts its customers first before profit. The Toren provided me and my partner a magical time, top class service, a stunning room with all the features i expect in first class travel. I celebrated my 30th birthday in Amsterdam staying at the Toren and they gave me memories to cherish for the rest of my life.... I highly recommend this hotel, located in the city center and with canal views there is no other place to be. If your going to Amsterdam, there is no where else to stay but the Toren. 5* Service, 5* memories for life.

Room Tip: Canal views / Superior rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coldoggspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

A little expensive , but a very nice place to stay. block an a half from tram stop and Ann frank house easy to get to train station Nice area with many places to eat. Walk to dam square 4 blocks . Room had a jacuzzi tub for two very nice , but made the room a little small. Still a great place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esnewton2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Close but far enough away from the Dam, we had 4 nights here all the staff are great, if you don't stay here you need to have a drink here & meet Sebastian & Gerard, they run the bar, make up bar meals look after luggage etc etc, decor think Moulen Rouge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel deserves its high rank on tripadvisor. Hotel staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming. The hotel itself is spotless clean and well-furnished. Hotel is a short walk from everything including central train station and several sight-seeing places. I spent one night at the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahg83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This boutique hotel is centrally located but on a quiet street facing a canal. It was charmingly decorated and you felt like you we in private club rather than a chain hotel. The staff was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leo1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,176 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,400 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,027 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,844 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £137 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing