We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great Location, Great Staff”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I have been fortunate enough to stay at the the Toren many times over the last few months. The hotel decour is amazing in a a perfect location with many excellent restaurants and bars nearby. The Staff can make or break a hotel, the staff at the Toren are a real asset to the hotel and seem genuinely pleased to greet you and very helpful. The coffe machine in the room is absolutely top quality, great coffee and great selection.
Every room is a delight, some of the more expensive ones simply amazing!
Go ahead, treat yourself to an upgrade - you won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: They are all good, though the garden rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,704 - 1,710 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

I decided to spurge and book The Garden Cottage at The Toren for our last 3 nights of a 3 week holiday in Europe. As others have said, the location is great. I will say that I think they had a very good photographer. My initial impression was that the room was not as large, regal or luxurious as the pictures on the website. But it is a very nice room and the bed was very comfortable. The room has a great steam shower except we could never figure out how to get the steam working. The room has all of the other amenities as advertised.

While we were there they were building two new suites on the opposite side of the garden from the main building and I really hope that the hotel doesn't lose the small, intimate feel of staying in someone's (funky) home.

The exceptional staff is what sets this hotel apart from others. The reception personnel smile warmly every day, remember details about you and your trip and they could not possibly be more helpful. The bar staff were very fun and outgoing and loved to experiment with new and different drinks. I was so impressed with how well the employees seemed to get along. They laughed a lot and were respectful of each other and I think that speaks volumes about how well the hotel is managed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malibufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

WOW what can we say, booked The Toren for a 4 night stay for our honeymoon/bday. Once shown to our room we were greeted with a bottle of Moet and Strawberries and Chocs, a lovley touch. Both me and my husband were impressed from the word go with this hotel, we have stayed alot of nice expensive hotels and the service and treatment from this hotel is 5 star well worth the price! We had a slight issue with our room not the hotel fault I am a light sleeper and they sorted this out immediately for us! All the staff are a pleasure and so nice and helpful. We would definitely stay at The Toren again for sure the location is spot on also. The owner certainly knows what he is doing here with his hotel and is advised of everything going on which is prob why this place is so successful, keep up the good work and we will be back when we are next in Amsterdam which we hope is not too long away :) Oh and breakfast is great too !!! Thanks again for a great stay, see you soon :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiec77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed at The Toren for 3 nights and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff were excellent, very friendly & efficient, especially the reception staff and also the bar staff Gerard and Tomas. Lovely cocktails and a nice bit of banter! You are made to feel welcome as soon as you step through the door, the decor is plush and the whole setting is very romantic. The room we stayed in was compact but it had everything we needed including a great coffee machine. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraDSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We loved staying at The Toren . Perfect location, beatiful spacios room, perfect beds, and excellent friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Ok arrived on the 28th September at around 10.30, although check in is not until 12 the ladies on reception were extremely helpful and Lexus wait with a complimentary cup of tea, and the room was ready for us in 10minutes which is excellent after the travel, on top of that we was greeted with a bottle of Moët Chandon strawberries and chocolate as it was my girlfriends birthday! Was a brilliant touch, the room was immaculate, even had a little welcome message on the tv. After our first nights stay as I requested a jacuzzi room, prior to the visit as they were previously fully booked,the receptionist which were extremely friendly asked if we would like to upgrade,which we took them up on the offer, and I thought the first room was good the second was wicked! Brilliantly decorated and immaculate. The hotel is brilliant value for money, also the price of the drinks here are a lot cheaper in comparison to neighbouring bars and also the actual decor of the hotels bar is a much nicer atmosphere than other bars/pubs. I have been to amsterdam around 10 times over the years and stayed in around 7 different hotels, I'm happy to say that I no longer need to stay in so many different locations as the toren is by far the best! Best value,best location, best decor, best staff. Get involved people. Can't fault them in anyway.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank James Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked this hotel based on it's excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately there was a mix up with our booking, not at the fault of the Toren hotel but of the booking agent, which meant there was no room at the hotel for us for one of our two nights stay there. The hotel staff were genuinly concerned that they were unable to accommodate us and did everything they could to resolve the situation. In fact it was service beyond anything else we have experienced in all of our travels across the world! They were simply amazing. The hotel contacted the booking agent to investigate what had happened with the original booking, which involved several phone calls and emails to address the issues of concern. They then rang around all of the nearby hotels and arranged our booking for the night they could not accommodate us themesleves. When we arrived at the hotel for our second night's stay in Amsterdam, the excellent service continued when they offered us a free upgrade to a luxury suite with a free cocktail each in the beautiful bar, and free breakfast on the house! We simply couldn't believe how we had been treated by the staff here; they were truly commendable and we can't wait to return here again. The staff were kind, empathetic, and extreemly efficient in resolving our problems. They made our stay here such a special one. Thank you!.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevenSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,400 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,025 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £136 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing