We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This was our first trip to Amsterdam but when (not if) we return, we will again stay at The Toren. They had the most pleasant and accommodating staff ever. The location was perfect. My husband and I were close enough to all of the great attractions while feeling somewhat secluded on our quiet street. The design of the hotel was beautiful and luxurious. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank jthoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,702 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed 3 days. Very good central location, very comfortable and atmospheric, love the old canal houses(even though the stairs are vertical !). Excellent bathrooms, good breakfast and great, friendly and knowledgeable staff - ideal for a short break weekend.

Room Tip: Room 412 is small so if you like space try another
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 191266Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Toren and wished we had booked for longer. It is a beautiful smaller hotel on a pretty canal in the centre of Amsterdam. Our room was lovely, beautifully decorated, the bar was fabulous and there were many friendly staff always available to help in any way. It was our final two nights in Europe to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, we were upgraded and a bottle of champagne (Moet) on ice was waiting in our room. We have travelled extensively and found this attention to detail and generosity remarkable. We highly recommend this special hotel and look forward to returning when we are next in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We emailed the hotel regarding room size and location before booking. I think all rooms would be lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed for 4 days in the Toren after reading some reviews by others. I found the hotel in a quiet area but still within a walking distance to the dam square. Which is just perfect for me as I joined the local tours along the damrak street. The staff were helpful and friendly with information touring the city. Other than including free breakfasts for the 4 days, what surprises me most in all my travels, that when I asked to purchase their luxurious towel with the nice toren logo, the hotel gave me one without charging me. Wow! this is one hotel which knows how to value their customers. I will definitely come back to this hotel if I am in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank kristal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My wife and I stayed there in September. The place is amazing. The staff is very friendly and efficient. The hotel has two buildings and we stayed in the second one, after I read Tripadvisor tips saying that the rooms there were more spacious and renewed.
Really, the room was spacious, renewed and very beautiful. The canal view was fantastic.
Wifi was free of charge and worked very well.
The location is very good, quiet, near Anne Franke House and a short walking distance to the main touristic attractions. There is many good restaurants around.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Second building (more spacious and renewed rooms); Ask for canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo_Ilha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I have seldom met such friendly staff! And the hotel itself is unique with a family feeling all over it!

When I arrived I could see that the staff really love working there, and they took really good care of me. I have been travelling quite a lot, and the rooms are unique compared to many other hotels in the surrounding. I felt very much at home! Will not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swe_Scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is an extraordinary boutique hotel. We enjoyed a canal view room. It was intimate, tasteful and romantic. The service was among the very best that we have received in any hotel. All of the staff is friendly, efficient, professional and ready to address any need. We had a drink in the intimate bar every night and ordered in dinner one night from a nearby Italian restaurant. The staff handled every request we had. They even introduced me to a Dutch single malt whiskey that is outstanding.

The location is 2 blocks from the Anne Frank Huis, 10-15 minute walk from the train station, Dam Square and near many nice restaurants.

We could not be more pleased with our stay at The Toren.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXtraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,402 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,029 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £136 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing