We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We booked The Toren based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we loved it. From the great location to the fabulous service we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate recommending The Toren to anyone staying in Amsterdam. Located on one of the picturesque canals it is located close to most of the major attractions. Not many hotel rooms (when you actually get there) look like the photo's. Not so The Toren. The rooms are gorgeous, they have a traditional feel with all the modern luxuries. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: For added luxury during your stay book a room with a jacuzzi. Great after a long day walking around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1cam30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,082
    359
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
251
1,542
167
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

This hotel is fantastic, great quality of service great rooms, the interior design is fantastic and Sebastian the Bar manager kept the guests entertained and well looked after all night . The attention to detail is excellent complimentary chocolates, strawberries and good Coffee.
Great food great service and great rooms, unique for Amsterdam and special on the Global stage. A real home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms are great just do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gobbsmak_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Toren was really special. The location of the hotel is perfect, close to the Jordan area. The room had a jacuzzi that was a real stress buster. Special mention must go to the receptionists who helpfully spent time pointing out the places worth visiting in the immediate area. Both the receptionist on arrival and on departure were , in my experience the best I have seen in 40 years of travelling around the World. - it's no coincidence that this hotel is consistently highly rated. If you're looking for a great hotel in Amsterdam look no further.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveCollins-1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We had reserved the garden suite for a 3 night stay and loved it so much we came back after a few days in Paris to stay for the remainder of our vacation. The staff was excellent, the location perfect and the room was incredible! We couldn't have asked for a better experience and highly recommend this hotel. We hope we can visit again soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

In minus degrees The Toren is located overlooking the lovely canals, so close to all the sites we couldnt have picked a more perfect hotel with its location. The reception/concierge girls were amazing - recommended and booked great restaurants for us (one especially called Max) we will fly back to eat there and stay again at the Toren. Some of the best service I have ever recieved in europe! and I use to work at the Ritz-Carlton as a quality leader.... service is my one big must! Thank you Hotel Toren we will be back! Another tip are the Sandeman free tours - so informative and fun! Lee was especially fantastic - you cant miss her she has Red hair. Have fun x

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed here at the end of November when attending a conference in Amsterdam. Rather than accept the (significantly more expensive) choice made for me by our admin, I chose the Toren after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. I also persuaded another conference attendee to stay here so was a bit nervous about how well it would work out. In fact, we were extremely happy to have chosen to stay at the Toren. Not only were the rooms very comfortable and nicely appointed, and the location perfect for everything we wanted to do, but all aspects of the service were excellent and we were made to feel very comfortable at all times during our stay. Everyone was so helpful that it is a little unfair to single one person out, but I have to say that when I left very early in the morning for the airport I was extremely grateful for the lovely cup of take away coffee that I was provided with before climbing into the cab on a wintry morning. I so enjoyed my trip that after telling my sister about it on my return, she decided to spend a few days there after Christmas. Her experience was similarly excellent. This is a cosy, comfortable, well-run hotel that provides excellent service in what I think is pretty much the best location in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronny129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Really nice hotel! Great service, great bed, great bath. The location was just perfect! We walked everywhere, even though the winter temps were cold. We had the included breakfast, which was fresh and included a nice variety. The decor is very elegant, yet contemporary. Staff was well trained and friendly. I loved Amsterdam, and I'll return to The Toren when I come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennyox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow this award wining hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing