We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Best hotel we have ever stayed in, lovely decor, room was amazing, great location, Anne Frank house just around the corner 5 mins. The staff are so helpful and friendly, if you are going to Amsterdam this is the place to stay.
The breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,396 - 1,402 of 2,672 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Toren is a boutique hotel located along one of Amsterdam's main canals. It is three blocks away from Dam Square, the city's heart, but thankfully light years away from the hectic and controversial Red Light District. It is also around the corner from Anne Frank's House. The upscale Jordaan area is here, with some of the nicest bars and restaurants of the city. The rooms are smallish but well equipped, as is the norm in Amsterdam. Its decor is flamboyant and profuse: there is no way it will go unnoticed. Once you arrive you are given a tour of the property, which consists of two adjoining buildings and a patio. Its staff is simply excellent and provide out-of-this-world service. They always greet you with a smile no matter how busy they may be. That is the best welcome a tired guest coming in can receive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main building are slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stated 2 nights at the Toren, helpful front desk staff especially the young man that took up our bags. We have a lovely canal view room, very spacious and comfortable. It is located in the old part of town near vane Frank museum. The only criticism is lack of a Restuarant for evening dining, they do serve breakfast and light lunch. There are restaurants 5-10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Room 119 canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had an amazing stay at The Toren in October 2012! The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the Executive Suite with the steam cabin and jacuzzi. The room was fabulous! The hotel was in the perfect location! We look forward to staying at The Toren again on our next trip!

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in was very private (nobody was in the only neighboring suite). It was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureSkrVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had an amazing stay at The Toren back in the middle of August for three nights with my girlfriend.

The hotel is in a great location in the Jordaan district which is a lovely part of Amsterdam. Having stayed right in the centre of Amsterdam and on the outskirts, I found this area the perfect place to be.

I was immediately struck by the charming beauty of this boutique hotel upon arriving . I loved the decor and general feel of the place which I always think is important.

Checking in was a breeze and the staff that showed us to our room were great. Infact, every member of staff we met were warm and friendly, which was another thing that made this hotel so special.

We stayed in a deluxe canal view room in their second building which is just a few doors down from the main hotel.
The room was huge, tastefully decorated, just absolutely gorgeous. Nespresso machine that had more than enough capsules which isn't always the case with hotels. The bed was huge which is always a plus. The bathroom was also lovely, clean with plenty of towels.
Stunning views from the huge windows in the room which overlook the canal. These windows also open as the room was a smoking room.

If you are a smoker then you should definitely have a look at their smoking room in the main building, as it's the nicest one I've ever been in.

Breakfast in the morning was perfect. Great choice and quality of food and the room it's served in is just beautiful.


Overall I found this hotel to be simply amazing, and something quite special. The Toren has consistently been the top hotel in Amsterdam and I can see why. We will definitely be returning very soon.

Thanks again to all the great staff we met!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great service at conveniently located small hotel. We chose based on reviews and price as we were headed to safari in Africa next. We got a good deal on hotels.com booking early, but were placed in room in the annex building that had a step up to the bathroom that proved challenging in the dark. Luckily we were fit and could stand a fall! Otherwise really liked the place and the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckuveke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just joking but nicest little hotel great place great people should be kept as a secret . super breakfast wonderful staff. located in the heart of town close to great restaurants on a lovely canal front desk very helpful with suggestion, directions .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kushon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,179 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,402 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,029 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £135 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing