We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Toren

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We recently stayed at The Toren for 4 nights before we had to head to Veldhoven for a business meeting. Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we selected this boutique hotel, and they exceeded our expectations. Excellent garden room amenities including comfortable bed/pillows, coffee machine in room, jacuzzi tub, robes and slippers. Helpful, responsive, and exceptional service by every member of the staff. They assisted us in getting tickets for museums, train schedules, and guidance on where to eat and what to see. Great location for walking around Amsterdam. Highly recommend The Toren...our stay was actually perfect. Thank you!

Room Tip: Garden room view into courtyard was a nice touch, quiet. Worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VG_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,075
    353
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
248
1,534
165
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have been staying at the Toren often when I visit Amsterdam. Like the city, the hotel is beautiful. It has a very stylish and comfortable décor and great personalized service. My favorite are the Jacuzzi rooms which are always elegantly furnished and the Jacuzzi is one of the best anywhere.

I am writing this now because we had a very unique experience which the hotel handled very well and with great heart and urgency. We had hired through the hotel, a taxi for a round trip to a place a bit far way. However, due to various misunderstandings and poor explanation on the part of the driver, we had a few inconveniences and also they asked us to pay an extra waiting charge. When I protested about this to the hotel they immediately took action: first they absorbed the extra charges, then have gone further to discuss the matter with the taxi service to ensure that such mishaps won't happen in the future. This is the kind of service that makes a hotel very special.

Keep up the great hospitality Mr. and Mrs. Toren and I will be there regularly!

Room Tip: Go for the great Jacuzzi rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padmanabhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Toren and enjoyed the service and ambiance. We were in the annex, which was just as nice as the main building. The bar, appetizers and breakfast were superb. Everyone spoke perfect English and staff were very helpful to provide best restaurants and places to see. Most were within walking distance. We did have a car, which was parked by valet. This is a pricey lodging, but well worth it, especially for romantics. The Toren family did provide a letter of explanation as to why the prices were high. We needed to leave early for our flight out of Schiphol and they accommodated a full breakfast for us at 6:30 versus the regular 7am. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building versus the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47woodenshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

A stunning hotel in a beautiful location. Took my husband for his 40th birthday...we were so pleased with our choice of room..deluxe room, with a jacuzzi and a courtyard off the room. The hotel is so clean, service was excellent and the rooms were spotless...definitely go back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Mrs E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very nice hotel , very nice decorated , great jaccuzi in the room,and very friendly staff.
The breakfast was very good
The hotel is near trams and very close to the center.

We will return for our next visite to Amsterdam

Room Tip: the luxury room is great with a jaccuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Toren is located on the kaizergracht in a building dating from around 1600, and the restored wall decorations are reputedly by students of rembrandt's atelier. This nugget of information communicates something of the quality of this place, the interiors beautifully restored and redolent of the lifestyle enjoyed by the wealthy of Amsterdam in the golden age of holland. The staff are friendly and unfailingly helpful, the beds were comfortable and everything scrupulously clean and well appointed. We had a room in the annex, which is another magnificent terraced house fifty yards down the street. The canal location, quiet garden at the back, and excellent breakfast and choice of wines added to the whole effect. With wine and coffee and plenty of drinks we escaped with a bill of £250 per night for two. A wonderful spot.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one overlooking the garden at the back ... Wonderfully quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing