We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way above expectations! Above 4 stars!”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I spent few days selecting nice and well located hotel at a good price and I liked what was said about The Toren, my husband and I had no idea that in reality it is such a discovery! I was staying in different hotels in Amsterdam before but this one is way above 4 stars!

The room was prepayed, but I was glad to know they don't take any extra deposits upon arrival. My last visits another hotels were blocking second full price of staying which was usually unblocked within a month.

I booked the smallest room and immediately received a letter from the staff describing the room and checking if I'm fine with the choice because it is important for them to meet expectations. I have requested for available options and I was offered a bigger room which was great so I confirmed. I must say it was the nicest communication with the hotel ever.

The hotel is located in quite area close to the station and attractions. You can see the hotel is new and fresh. And it's so beautiful inside - soft lights, warm colors, rich details - my best regards to decorator, I took some ideas for my own apartment. I'd call it a boutique hotel.

When we got to our room we were surprised by unexpected upgrade! The room size didn't look small at all, the bed was much bigger than expected. The bathroom was all new with soft towels, bathrobes and slippers.
The room had everything you needed and more! I really didn't expect to have nespresso capsule machine from 4 stars hotel! It was exactly what was needed after long trip and shopping the next day.
The breakfast was another great surprise: everything you can get in 5 stars hotel + much better cheeses, fresh strawberry and variety of fresh juices. We've been even more surprised when at check-out we've been told that it was complimentary as well as waters from the minibar.
The room cleaning was great, the staff was really nice and always ready to help.

Thanks for the stay!

After coming back I received a personal warm letter from Eric and Petra Toren. They really work with passion and you feel it during the stay.

I'm definitely recommending The Toren for romantic couples such as we are.

Room Tip: Book it directly from their web page.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuliaMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 2,653 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Pampered and welcome was the felling of staying in a "Double with Canal View" and I enjoyed every minute of my 3 nights at The Toren. From the soft, generous and beautiful bed to the amazing cocktails in the gorgeous bar...never a dull moment!

Room Tip: ...just around the corner from Anne Frank's house and not far from the wonderful organic market...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Having visited Amsterdam many times, I can't think of a hotel that comes close to The Toren. It's perfect for a romantic getaway - All expectations were met. The staff we impeccable. Our room (Bridal suite) was something out of the Palace of Versailles and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Bridal Suite AKA Palace of Versailles :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Amsterdan was cold but everything about the Toren was warm. The rooms are first rate. We stayed in the Executive Garden Suite - a great value considering the sumptuous accommodations. When you get both Garden Suites (as we did) they'll even open the wall between the living rooms to create one large living room (with two separate bedrooms). HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. The service was perfect. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I cannot recommend this beautiful boutique hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights. Nice place, close to city center. Very friendly and helpful personnel. Rooms are nice and clean and of cause great breakfasts. What else is expected from hotel. I was satisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in Amsterdam and you are in walking distance of all the sights. The staff and owners are very focused on their guests ensuring that any issue (small or big) is addressed immediately. We were in their bar and the server overheard one couple talk about a faulty jacuzzi and they immediately alerted the front desk who then addressed the issue to the surprise of the guests. The staff always demonstrated that they care about their guests whether it was conversing with their guests on their day or through providing recommendations. Amsterdam is a very beautiful city and the Toren is the perfect host.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms as they are close to the passageway to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilks S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A fantastic privately owned hotel in a great location. Great location for a romantic break. Sumptuous bedding and decor in the rooms. Recommend room with spa bath for that little bit extra. Would definitely go back when next in Amsterdam. Great restaurants just around the corner as well

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigRucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,159 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,380 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,822 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,008 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 374 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £162 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing