We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel to go back to”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great welcome and reception was well informed. Nothing was too much trouble by any of the staff. Rooms were clean and well presented. Decor interesting!
Hotel very central,not noisy . Easy to get to all the main sites and walking distance from the railway station..Even the taxi driver told us it was one of the best hotels in Amsterdam on the way there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 2,635 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

From the moment we stepped into the hotel until the moment we left, we were treated well by all staff members. The hospitality we experienced was warm and genuine and we never felt that we were imposing on the front desk or dining staff with questions or requests. What I noticed was the fact that the staff felt at ease in taking time to chat with us. In some hotels, the workers are reluctant to stop work to be personable. It is clear that the owners allow their staff to feel comfortable during their working hours. All points of interest were within walking distance and we were very centrally located. I walked very early each morning and felt extremely safe. The Ann Frank House was just around the corner, all museums were easy to walk to and Central Station is just 10 minutes away. Although there is no full dinner restaurant service, the lunch and bar menu were more than adequate. There is a nice courtyard in the back and the lounge is quite cozy and comfortable. All in all a great experience. Just a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLOTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

First of all, the staff is so helpful and welcoming. They can provide you with such helpful information and assistance. They sell tickets to the museums too. We bought our tickets to the Heinken Experience at the hotel and we were able to skip the line. It's literally right behind Anne Frank's house.
The breakfast was very good and had a wide variety of choices.
The hotel is in such a nice part of Amsterdam. It's near tons of cute boutiques and antique shops. We felt really safe in the location. We were able to walk to the red light district, Heinken experience and the Van Gogh museum. We enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed at The Toren towards the end of march for the weekend after getting a good deal last minute. On arrival and throughout the stay the staff were extremely attentive making me feel very welcome and relaxed. The hotels design and style is really unique. The location is perfect, very nice part of Amsterdam and you are a short walk from all the main parts like central station and dam square. Coffee machine in the room is bonus. I really could not fault anything and would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Visited drum Liverpool ! Birthday night away, had fun! Great hotel & staff! Thank you for being so understanding to my drunk friend! Excellent location and as say first class service! Hotel is what expected and would certainly return ! If they'd have us again lol

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SunLoverMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at Toren last weekend with my boyfriend and we both loved the peace and quiet room with a beautiful view to canal. Decoration was gothic style. Breakfast was perfect with fresh juices and local cheeses. Staff was helpful. Housekeeper kept our room perfectly clean. Location was only few canals from center. Bottle of champagne with strawberries and chocolate was lovely surprise.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe room if you want some space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 3 nights and where very impressed. The location is perfect 10 min walk to dam square and the bars/nightlife ( which is where we spent most of our time ) . The room we had was perfect , bed was comfy and tea coffee was replaced daily , cleaners came in everyday and had a tidy up. The only downside was that when we went to check out we was billed for the tax on moneys already paid for our accommodation through the company we booked with. However the toren is fab hotel and i would defiantly return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kira013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,131 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £169 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing