We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Amazing stay in the best non-touristy part of Amsterdam. We had a canal from view which was gorgeous, rooms are small but very comfortable with a real king not two twins pushed together. Great staff recommendations for dinners too!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank striebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,269 - 1,275 of 2,702 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Like so many hotels I booked The Toren based on reviews on different sites, Tripadvisor included. And it was yet again a success. The hotel is relatively central, about 10 to 15 minutes walk from Centraal (Main station in Amsterdam). The exterior is already very elegant and the interior no less. We arrived about thirty minutes before our room was ready. As it was raining cats and dogs, they suggested we wait in the bar to have a drink - what was offered by the hotel. The bar has a beautiful luxurious flair and sort of Victorian feel to it. With dark purple walls, old wooden floors, large chandeliers and a huge wooden sort of cupboard that found its use during breakfast. We took our lunch - mini burgers - in the bar which was really very good.
Our room was in the building about 50m away on the same side as the main building. I admit, I took the luxury room with the spa and open bathroom. The room was elegant, well furnished and really left nothing to ask. The huge spa jacuzzi for two was a very nice feature and combined with a bottle of champagne delivered to the room a bit of a highlight.
The hotel staff is very friendly and polite. They immediately gave us a list of recommended restaurants and offered to organize the booking as well as reserving tickets for museums and other trips. We ate every evening in one of the recommended restaurants and they were superb. The breakfast is served in the bar from 7am to 11am which I think is very good timing. And after eating out the first morning we decided to eat at the hotel the other two as frankly 14 € per person are easily paid in a restaurant where you cannot get up and serve yourself another helping of scrambled eggs. All together the choice was excellent, from full English, small crepes, fresh fruit, cereal to a good choice of bread and toppings it was perfect breakfast with attentive staff that kept replenishing the small but rich buffet regularly.
The Toren's location is ideal as it is not bang in the middle of everything but in a nice and calm parallel road to the main road. From here you are at Anne Frank house within minutes (right behind The Toren) and at the Dome and the shopping roads within 5 minutes. We also walked to the Rijks and Van Gogh museum in the morning which took us roughly 30 minutes. All together this hotel is suitable for couples and romantic get aways with a city trip. We enjoyed our stay a lot and will certainly come back there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tatjana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This was an AMAZING hotel. We stayed here for three nights. I had the double room for single use, and the other travelling party had a twin room with a door to the courtyard, Jacuzzi bath. We have never met staff so friendly and eager to help us. On arrival, the owners of the hotel presented us with a bottle of Moet, strawberries and chocolates, as one of us had a milestone birthday. The rooms were so beautifully decorated, very comfortable beds, fluffy towels, hot water in the bath you could swim in... coffee machine, gorgeous bathroom, no noise at all. The hotel is perfectly located, literally 3 minutes from the Anne Frank House. The staff at reception were so helpful with directions, recommending and booking restaurants for us, calling taxis, and always so friendly. The breakfast was lovely. I could go on and on. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Best service I have ever had in a hotel. I arrived before my room was ready and they gave me a different room to sleep in for a few hours (which they would then have to clean) at no charge. Breakfast was yummy and the coffee was amazing. Without exception, every staff member was lovely and eager to help. Super comfortable bed. I really can't say enough good things about this hotel. My only negative is the usual European shower thing - no matter what you do, water gets all over the place.

Room Tip: I stayed in the small room in the main hotel (very small but fine for one person not staying too man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMRye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We absolutely loved our 4 nights at the Toren, centrally located on a quiet canal. The architecture and design is magnificient in a classic Dutch Canal building; the rooms have both comfort and elegance (and an amazingly comfortable bed) and the hotel staff was exceptionally helpful and warm. Breakfast is excellent and the dining room and bar are just charming.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nerockJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our room (a deluxe room with canal view) was excellent. Two French windows looking down on the canal. Huge comfortable bed. Jacuzzi bath almost as big! Separate shower area with rain shower and adjustable shower head. Endless hot water. Plenty of big towels. Mood lighting to the room (and the jacuzzi) and reading lights for the bed and desk. Heating and separate air con.

Superb breakfast, buffet style served from 07.00 to 11.00. Snacks available all day.

But most of all the service was impeccable. All the staff seemed dedicated to making our stay as good as it could be. Reception, housekeeping and the breakfast/bar servers all went the full 100% to do what was right and to check that we were happy.

Hotel is well located; quiet area but within walking distance of all major tourist attractions. On the edge of the Jordan area so near to "local" cafe/bar/restaurants used by local people.

Possibly the nicest hotel we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill_and_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a terrific visit at this beautiful boutique hotel. Our spacious room was exquisitely decorated with high end finishes and modern conveniences. The staff is top notch and they went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawsonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,219 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,426 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#21 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,074 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,352 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £114 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing