We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
north
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 26 September 2008

The hotel Toren is ideally located within walking distance of the central area, red light, etc.., yet Toren maintains a dignified distance from the humbuggery of downtown Amsterdam. Just around the corner from the Pankake Bakery and the Anne Frank house, mere blocks from the red light, old church, several great pubs and 'cafes' ( specifically 'grey matter').

Rooms are small ( welcome to Europe) but clean, staff is friendly and helpful. Coffee machines in the rooms. The only draw back is the price, which seems a bit hefty for such a small room. Internet available in rooms,tv (english), etc. I have stayed in Amsterdam twice and both times at Toren simply because I love the location. Next time I might try another hotel only for the benefit of diversity.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — price/room size
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkmcquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,106
    361
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
253
1,560
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2008

This is a wonderful little hotel in a great part of Amsterdam. Our room was in the "annex", and so was a few doors down from the lounge and front desk. The room was large with a great view of the canal. We never heard noises from other guests, and the neighborhood is quiet as well. Wonderfully situated near many points of interest in this most walkable (and bikeable) city.

The staff was universally friendly and accommodating. They helped us on several occasions with restaurant choices and did extensive research for us on good bicycle shops in town. Their English was flawless, and their friendly attitude put us at ease.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Small lift
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Wanderer050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

I have been going to Amsterdam for many years. It is a lovely city and as I have got older I just appreciate its diversity and interest more and more. This hotel is by far the best place I have stayed in the city. It has real charm....its is boutique and well designed without being pretentious and intimidating. Intimate and romantic in a perfect location!

I go back over and over again.....and in fact I almost don't want to recommend it in case I cant get a room next time I go!

  • Liked — Style and design but relaxed and informal
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wuffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Amsterdam. The Netherlands The Toren Hotel.
September 8th to 12th.2008.
I arranged this trip as a surprise birthday present for my wife's 60th birthday. After searching the websites I chose The Toren because it had all the special features I was looking for. Ann's birthday was 6th September but I told her the news the day before! That was a good move because Ann was able to share it with her father who was ill in hospital. Sid was so keen for Ann to enjoy the trip. Tragically Sid died on Sunday morning the 7th. It was a tough call but with the family's support we set off via Eurostar from London through Bruxelles. Feeling tired and emotionally drained we arrived to find The Toren Hotel in an ideal quiet and peaceful location. The staff, on hearing our news were absolutely magnificent. They could not have been kinder or more compassionate. To our surprise and delight there was champagne awaiting us to celebrate Ann's birthday. The room was delightful - the jacuzzi such a wonderful aid to alleviate the stress and strain we both felt. The whole ambience of the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was truly great and exactly what was required. The Toren was in just the right location for us to enjoy the canals, the museums, the park and the local restaurants. In addition to the champagne on our arrival the staff arranged for food to be delivered to save us having to go out to find a restaurant. Later in our stay we were delighted again with the gift of strawberries and chocolates. The fire in Eurotunnel on 11/12 September made us feel marooned! Yet again the staff were so helpful and considerate. What might have been a difficult and stressful experience was made so pleasant and memorable because The Toren Hotel is such a beautiful relaxing place and everyone there took such excellent care of us throughout. Nothing was too much trouble. We thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your warmth, your care and your professionalism. We hope to return as soon as we can.

  • Liked — The warm and friendly ambience, the quality, and the excellent service from the staff
  • Disliked — There is absolutely nothing negative to say
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2008

A marvellous experience. The place is great. Located in the very heart of Amsterdam. The building, real canal houses, have been very well furnished and the atmosphere is really amsterdamer.

Breakfast is really delicious. The buffet is very well assorted and much better than others in five stars hotels...

But the best is people. They are really kind and very helpful. The take care of the minimum details.

We enjoyed our stay and come back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank josefinaMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

I've had the privilege of staying at the Hotel Toren a few times over recent years and have always been thoroughly impressed with both the property itself and the staff.

The hotel is in an excellent location within the heart of Amsterdam, which makes it convenient for sightseeing, especially if you plan to tour much of the city by foot.

The accommodations are excellent, with nicely furnished rooms and an overall elegant charm and very comfortable atmosphere. The staff at the Toren are some of the best I've encountered in all my years of extensive travel. The clearly go out of their way to ensure your experience at their hotel is the best possible from the time you book your room, until you checkout and everything in between.

I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. The rooms and the staff, coupled with their location and very fair prices should make the Toren the #1 choice for accommodations when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Location, Value and Staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHTravlinMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK, Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Excellent. Lovely clean room with everything you need. The double Jacuzzi in the bedroom was fantastic. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Check-in time is 1pm. We arrived at noon and our room was ready. Our bags were taken to the room and we were immediately impressed.

The room had a separate wc and shower room which was clean and spacious. The bedroom was very ornate and spotless. I have to say the bed was the most comfortable we have ever experienced in a hotel. Facilities included a coffee making machine with various complimentary coffees, mini bar, broadband access (via your own laptop or via the TV), air conditioning, great lighting with dimmer controls and the lovely double Jacuzzi with various settings and coloured lighting.

I thought we had experienced a brief lapse in the otherwise excellent service one evening when we waited about 10 minutes to be served a drink in the bar. We realised that the bar tender was showing some newly arrived guests to their room. When he returned he apologised for the delay, took our order and then said they were complimentary drinks as an apology for the delay (we had not mentioned that we had been waiting). It is this sort of attention to detail and service mentality which sets the Toren apart!

An excellent location too. Just a short stroll from the '9 streets' shopping area, Dam Square and the shopping main areas. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates good service and convenience.

  • Liked — the service, facilities and clanliness
  • Disliked — no restaurant - but the staff will order food in from Pizza to top quality restaurant food.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank northantsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing