We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like an Ice Cream Sunday”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After trying all the 5 star hotels in Amsterdam my husband was attracted to all the positive reviews trip advisor gave this charming, warm, boutique hotel. I'm here to add to the chorus! We were warmly welcome by two young attractive ladies behind the desk who then handed our keys and luggage to a very nice young man who turned out to be the bartender. He took us to a small but lovey room that was a bit unusual. After staying in 3 different rooms during our stay because we took several excursions from Amsterdam, we found that the rooms were all unusual in the same way. They all had bathrooms that were divided from the room with a heavy curtain so it could be completely opened or closed. On the bathroom side of the curtain there was a jacuzzi tube and full bathroom with an enclosed water closet. In addition, each room had a vanity and a mirror so that I could sit and dry my hair.
They serve a nice breakfast and while they don't have a full restaurant they can make a few salads, soup and cheese plates that can be a light dinner or they can order from the local restaurants which can be sushi (which we loved) pizza or the Michelin starred restaurant around the corner.
Probably the best part though is the staff. Everyone is cheery and warm. Every morning we were asked how we slept and if the room was ok.
So after you have a very cool room and a lovely, warm staff the cherry on top is the car service! Parking is always a problem in Amsterdam but they have a fix. If you call before you arrive there is someone there to take it to an off site garage. Then give them one hours notice and they will have it at the front door. All for less than half the cost of parking in hard to find, crowded local garages.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 2,653 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

we stayed 9 nights here and had a wonderful time. Beautifully decorated and designed; absolutely the friendliest and best staff of any hotel; great location; delicious breakfast buffet; and great bar. We would stay here again, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: request a room in the original older part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Toren is a Beautiful Boutique Hotel on the canal in the perfect location. The Staff was amazing at arranging our pick up from the airport and once we arrived to The Toren they were extremely kind and helpful. They made our dinner reservations and told us the best places to go shopping, museums even for amazing Apple Pie. Our room was Beautiful! When we walked into our room we were so happy and delighted. It faced the canal and was quite large. Beautiful furnishings and a Nespresso machine in the room. Breakfast was also great. The service in this hotel is five stars. I highly recommend The Toren. Also, it was our 10th wedding anniversary and they sent Champagne, Chocolate and Strawberries to our room with a lovely card from the owners. Very Classy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMekelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Good location near Ann Frank huis, 5 streets, funky shops in Jordaan, dam square and central station. Short walk to nice restaurants (try de luwte round the corner) and cosy bar where we enjoyed cocktails. Would rather have paid less and not had drinks/ champagne and spared our livers.
The annex was a bit noisy with door banging from cleaners/ guests in the morning and I do wish they would get rid of the 80's dried flowers!
The canal house next door looked more modern when we peeked through the window.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A fantastic little design hotel - with a bit of a burlesque twist to it! Friendly, helpful staff and a nicely furnished room. The breakfast was great and, later on, the strawberry mojitos in the hotel bar were something we won't forget – especailly in that atmospheric setting. Highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohannesNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our first trip to Amsterdam so I don't have much reference to make comparisons. We chose this place based on other ratings. The place is small and charming. It is in a great location. The view from the window was beautiful. It is definitely a romantic hotel and area. The only thing we had difficulty with was the coffee maker. So make sure you pay attention to them when they are explaining how to use it. Other than that we loved it and would choose to stay here if we ever return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We chose a room with Jacuzzi tub. It was an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyNazzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

An amazing place for a romantic get-away. I can only say the best about the garden cottage and the whole experience. The interior speaks for itself: beautiful indulgent décor with perfect finishing touches, great lighting, comfortable bed, bathtub with jacuzzi, shower, a nespresso machine, and soft gowns.
Breakfast is much recommended: for app 15 Euros you get a selection of fresh and cooked foods which would be hard to match at a normal café.
The staff is highly attentive yet without subservience, and we much enjoyed our late night chat with the barman.
Much recommended and definitely would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,159 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,380 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,822 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,008 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 374 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £162 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing